We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely the best place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lonsdale Quay Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in North Vancouver
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2011

I love staying at the Lonsdale Quay Hotel because of their warm, friendly and professional service. I always get a great room, and I'm made to feel at home.

I spent this past Christmas and New Year's in Vancouver, and staying on the North Shore is always beautiful this time of year, so the Lonsdale Quay Hotel is the perfect choice and ultimate luxury in terms of location when you want to head up to the mountains for some snow-packed fun, and head back to town in time for dinner.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lqhmanager, General Manager at Lonsdale Quay Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2011
Dear Guest,

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and took the time to share your experience. Our property has so many unique features, and I appreciate your noting them here.
We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    231
    94
    40
    36
See reviews for
119
229
55
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tofino, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2011

We booked one of the less expensive rooms in the "boutique" high end hotel through a travel website. The lobby looked great, and the hotel is wonderfully located on the Lonsdale Quay in North Van.
However, when we got to our room we found a large window which took up an entire wall which had to be curtained the entire length if our stay. Why? Outside that window was a public walkway - people passed by regularly within six inches of the glass. In addition the window looked straight into a busy office space across the way. Therefore we were unable to have any natural daylight in the room our entire stay. We did ask to switch rooms but the hotel staff were unable/ unwilling - it seemed obvious as lower room rate guests we were 2nd to their normal clientele. I asked twice with two different hotel staff and they both said no to a room switch, but gave me different reasons as to why - it was not a weekend and the hotel did not seem at all busy.
At the time my boyfriend was ill and was relegated to spending the two days were there in a dark room with no natural light (you really couldn't open that window unless you wanted people walking by your bedroom).

Other issues included:

- the room was not properly cleaned & restocked - a full coffee cup was left in addition there was a lack of toiletries. (housekeeping remembered the next day to restock shampoo at least.)

- generally the room was dingy & dirty looking and had no furniture other than a desk and bed. Not even a chair!

- the coffee and tea and coffee maker were on the bathroom counter - weird! I guess because there was no other surface to put them on. Cheap coffee, complete with "coffee mate" packets - not very classy, motel material.

Had we known what we were in for we would not have paid this for this room - a 1-star room in a 3-4 star hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fhough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lqhmanager, General Manager at Lonsdale Quay Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments. We often find that guests booking a "ECO" package with no view guarantee and limited housekeeping to be difficult once they arrive. The package clearly indicates no view, and limited service. The room you where given was a "city" view, and does not have the water view that most guests expect when staying at our hotel. If you are budget conscious, then the "ECO" pkg is suitable. The room is renovated with a comfortable bed, new tv, and has a desk chair. We did check your room, and that was present.
I'm sorry for your experience, we find that most of our guests that book "ECO", are not expecting a waterfront view as it is clearly indicated.

We hope if you do decide to book next time, that you contact us directly for the options that include views and more services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2011

The room was lovely. Requested a Executive King on the Romance Package, got to our room and it had a Double. When called the desk, they asked that we come down to the desk, get key for King room and move our own stuff, including our bottle of wine and chocolates. We did, and the room was nice. WE struggled with where to park, they insisted that we must park in the lot by the hotel that cost $10 instead of where we parked which was free, threatening that we might get towed or fined. (Weekends are free parking in the Insurance co lot adjacent).
Package came with free breakfast for 2. (room service or at the Mix) We called desk for room service menu (none was in the room. Weekend breakfast till 11 AM. Called desk at 10, Menu delivered at 10:30. Breakfast ordered at 10:35. Desk said, "Free breakfast is set item" (They could have told us that when we called for the menu) All items are about $12 each and the itemized bill shows $40 credit for breakfast. But in reality your only choice is Bacon or Sausage. No choice of how eggs are prepared or choice of toast. No preserves or jam either. Breakfast arrived at 11 AM, cold with coffee half spilled out of cups from the cart crossing threshold into the room. I think that they could have delivered the coffee in a carafe.
Then at 11:10 the housekeeper knocks to come clean our room. I asked "don't we have a late check out with the Romance Pkg?" She replied that the hotel has NO Late check out option and we should call the front desk. When we did , they said there is no Late check out available and we could have till 11:30. I said we were still having breakfast as we had to warm it up in the microwave and were still in PJ's and had not showered, they said... be out by Noon or be charged $25 per hour for late check out!
This is a boutique style hotel, really? REALLY????
We won't stay again. When I checked out and complained, they went on about the breakfast is no charge and they did not have to provide it. REALLY?
Like I said, nice room, but Hospitality...Not so much!
Enjoyed greek restaurant for dinner a block away...Anatoli's Souvlaki or something like that!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandJ18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lqhmanager, General Manager at Lonsdale Quay Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for feedback. We are very happy that you enjoyed your Executive King Room and found it pleasant and to your needs. I'm sorry your request for a King was not met, and you where assigned a Queen bed. We do not have double beds at our hotel. However, we normally would have accommodated your move, but we happened to have a staff member away that night, and where unable to help you at that time. The clerk at check in should have clarified the breakfsat voucher as a limited breakfast, we apologize for that. Also, we very much liked your suggestion for a extended check out on Romance Pkg's, and we will now be implementing this as part of the offer.
The parking in the building next door is free on the weekends, only during the day. If you parked overnight, you could have been subject to towing. The hotel does not own the lot below, and does not benefit from the sale of tickets. This suggestion was only for your own protection.
Once again, I am happy that your room suited your needs and that you found it comfortable and the nice.
I hope we can welcome you back next time with a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2011

Thankfully I got a prety good deal otherwise I'd be a lot more bitter about this hotel.

The good: Location, especially for tourists, I think this is a great alternative to downtown as the seabus is literally a 2 min walk. You can visit the city and then escape within 15 minutes to the quieter North Shore. Staff were not super helpful, but did help us when asked.

The bad: Room is small, old tv with a barely functioning and very dirty remote and only got 12 or so channels. 'Water view' is more like' dirty marina view ' as most of the rooms overlook a ship yard. Room was not clean at all - still hair in sink etc...

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XTPXTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lqhmanager, General Manager at Lonsdale Quay Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. The Lonsdale Quay Market is a vibrant place to visit, and most of our guests enjoy stayign at a working port. The tug boats are part of the experience, and most guests tell us that the rooms on the east side give them the "cruise ship" feel.
I'm sorry that you didn't find the room up to your standards. We have reviewed your comments with our head housekeeper, and will hope that your experience does not repeat itself. It is not often where we get review in regards to lack of cleanliness.
I appreciate you taking the time, and hope your next experience is more comfortable. You may want to request a west side balcony room that does not face the water on another occassion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington State
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2011

The Lonsdale Quay was a great and convenient place to stay on my recent trip to North Vancouver. Located on the water and right above a bustling marketplace with fun shops and a variety of restaurants. The boat across to downtown Vancouver is just steps away from the hotel. Short distance to the mountains for hiking and a view of 3 ski areas up the mountain. Would definitely stay at the Quay again.

The only thing that was a little off was service. Seemed more concerned about hotel rules than customer service, i.e. requested a late check out and was granted 1/2 hour.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ailsa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2010

Chose the Quay hotel for it's location - close to business. Lovely appointed rooms - not a bad view - comfortable bed and that is where this fairytale ends! Room 417 was a sound nightmare - all night long it was like you were living in a ship's engine room - constant noise-quite loud - no sleep the first night - so I went to get ear plugs at the local drug store.
When we complained the girl did offer to move us but I would have to wait around till 11 am and then shuffle the luggage, etc. and oh by the way no one else who checked out complained. A moot point - every customer complaint should be valued. So we fortunately only had one more night. Here are two customers who will not recommend this hotel or stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NanaimoRainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lqhmanager, General Manager at Lonsdale Quay Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2010
I'm so sorry that you experienced such noise. We hoped that you would have taken our offer to move you to another room. We reported the noise issue to the owners of the market below, as there was some maintenance done during the day, and the sound started in the middle of the night. We did not receive any other complaints, and are very sorry for your experience. A separate letter was sent to you via mail, as we where very concerned about your stay. We hope your future stay with us will be more suitable. Please contact me directly if you wish to give our hotel another opportunity. I'm sure we can redeem ourselves!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2010

A well decorated hotel across the water from busy downtown. Stayed twice on our vacation to Vancouver. Our first room had a balcony which overlooked the Saturday Flea Market along with a small coffee shop. Within walking distance to restaurants. Safe area. Parking was $10/ night for underground. Would stay again!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jencifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Vancouver
Pinnacle Hotel At The Pier
#1 of 10 in North Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites North...
#2 of 10 in North Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
North Vancouver Hotel
#5 of 10 in North Vancouver
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Capilano Inn & Suit...
#3 of 10 in North Vancouver
3.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Travelodge Vancouver Lions Gate
#9 of 10 in North Vancouver
3.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lonsdale Quay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lonsdale Quay Hotel

Property: Lonsdale Quay Hotel
Address: 123 Carrie Cates Court, North Vancouver, British Columbia V7M 3K7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > North Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in North Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lonsdale Quay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come for the Experience! Located on the spectacular North Vancouver waterfront! The Lonsdale Quay Hotel is a gateway to Vancouver's attractions, Whistler and major North Vancouver businesses. Whether for business or pleasure, our hotel is your best choice on the north shore of Vancouver! Explore our new Executive Rooms, Junior Suites and Standard rooms! Our Waterfront Boutique property will leave you with lasting memories. Fantastic Vancouver waterfront boutique hotel located in a vibrant market and shops. Your best North Vancouver Hotel choice. Accessible to all attractions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lonsdale Quay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lonsdale Quay North Vancouver
Hotel Lonsdale Quay
Lonsdale Quay Hotel North Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing