We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lonsdale Quay Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in North Vancouver
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“This place is perfect”
Reviewed 3 August 2010

Stayed here end of July 2010. Overall this hotel is great. Here are the pros/cons:

The location can't be beat. It is literally steps to the seabus, so you can just hop on and take you to DT Vancouver - no driving! It's also the hub for all the bus routes, so if you want to take in any sights (e.g. Grouse Mtn, Capilano bridge) you can hop on a bus for $2.50
The restaurant/lounge for breakfast was truly extraordinary. For $12 we each got a magnificent meal! The view of Vancouver is truly amazing.
Very quiet the entire time we were there! not a peep anywhere
It's right abover lonsdale quay market - great if you love looking at that kind of stuff, not so great if you're on the 3rd floor facing the market (we were on 4th facing water.)
Now the cons:
There is $10 parking per day. Not that big of a deal I guess considering parking overall is very expensive in metro Vancouver no matter where you are.
No spa/massage yet. I know, its a luxury, but for some of us, it's nice to have a place in the hotel that we can go to and come back. not that big of a deal anyways.
The "water view" is a view of the tugboat yard/repair shop next door. Again, not that big of a deal, but you don't want to see that - you want something prettier. We had the junior suite which was a $40 upgrade, I suppose it's even more money to get something facing west.

Overall it's wonderful - it's only 2 floors so there aren't that many people around. I would probably not stay there again, just because there are SO many options in Vancouver! but definitely top 3 for sure!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToAFarOffLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lqhmanager, General Manager at Lonsdale Quay Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you for making an effort on Trip Advisor, and positing such a positive review! Being in your top "3" in Vancouver is such an honor. We realize that their are great options in Vancouver, and we look forward to being a part of your future stays! My staff and I are very appreciative of your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    237
    98
    41
    36
See reviews for
124
237
56
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Casper, Wyoming
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2010

This place was mediocre at best and might have warranted a second stay had my car not been broken into during the night. We stayed one night at the Lonsdale Quay and parked in their designated parking garage. When we went to the car in the morning the lock had been popped out and the door was unlocked. Luckily there was nothing of value in the car and the only damage was on the door that was broken into but it could have been potentially devastating financially. The hotel was cheap but paying for the damage done to my car that's less than 6 months old will cost me about the price of a nicer hotel with better security. Other qualms that seem petty comparatively are the beds; they are lumpy and relatively uncomfortable. The only other problem was the lights. There is quite a bit of light shining in the windows from signs and street lights. Save yourself the anger and worry, skip this hotel and find a better area.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jehssikah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lqhmanager, General Manager at Lonsdale Quay Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2010
Dear Guest,
I am sorry for your experience. Lower Lonsdale is a very safe area, but like any city, will attract folks that do these terrible things. Your car was parked in the market lot, not managed by the hotel. We rarely have break ins.
If you require any assistance with your insurance claim, please let us know. We are sorry for the unfortunate happening, and know that something like this can ruin one's stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

I stayed at this hotel one year ago and I am looking forward to stay there again. Although is not located in "touristic" Vancouver it has a great location. You just have to take the sea Bus which is 2 minutes walking. The sea bus takes about 5 minutes and you are in downtown Vancouver. The rooms are very comfortable like a boutique hotel. Another great thing about this hotel is that is located in the thirds floor of a very nice market, and in the first floor there are a variety of little restaurants, one of them my favourite, the SoupMaster.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GabiG3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lqhmanager, General Manager at Lonsdale Quay Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2010
Thank you for sharing your awesome experience with viewers. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back on another occasion. Our location is unique and truly a special experience. Thank you for sharing your views!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Idaho
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2010

My husband and I were in Vancouver for some friend's wedding and wanted to do some sightseeing while we were there. We found the Lonsdale Quay Hotel on hotels.com and were very satisfied with our stay. We arrived late, but received very friendly service and were given great advice for our sightseeing the next day. The hotel is located right above a cute farmer's market where we had breakfast, and we just hopped on the seabus the next morning that took us right into the middle of downtown Vancouver. The hotel lets you keep your car at the hotel until 3 (with the option of staying longer) even though check-out is at 11, so it was a great way to avoid downtown traffic and parking fees. The beds could be a little more comfortable, but the room was clean and had a view of the water. I sort of heard the humming noise that other travelers mentioned, but it was barely noticeable and didn't disturb our sleep at all. The morning staff was a bit less friendly, but not rude. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBowen924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lqhmanager, General Manager at Lonsdale Quay Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back. Being in a "working" vibrant market & attraction, adds more flavor, sights and sounds. That is part of the experience! We are so happy that you found our parking helpful, and evening staff welcoming.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2010

The location makes this a top destination. Overlooking the harbour from the North Shore, downtown 12 minutes away by Seabus, comfortable, clean rooms, quiet at night( what level does the previous reviewer think the hotel is on if he thinks the walkway he mentions passes his window so he has to "keep the drapes shut"). What's not to like?Go there and enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CiceroScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lqhmanager, General Manager at Lonsdale Quay Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2010
Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you. When booking, it is a great idea to ask for the main wing. The majority of our views are located there. Your comments and time to review is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2010

The hotel is hard to find at first. It is on the top floor of the Lonsdale Quay Market, right next to the Seabus. Someone should label directions better. Or maybe I should READ them better. Anyways, the room itself is no-frillsy but nice. The bed was comfortable. There is a public walkway right outside your room (meaning ALL rooms) ,so for privacy, you have to keep the drapes closed. As a result, the room stayed rather dark, because there wasn't enough lighting inside. There also was an annoying buzz coming from the air conditioning.
The staff was very helpful and friendly. They let us keep our luggage there while we roamed around Vancouver until check in time, which was a huge plus.
Overall I would say that the experience was ok, but the next time we go to Vancouver we will probably stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darnsuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2010

I love this hotel. I love the homey rooms, the location at the quay, the neat market shops and all the restaurants so close. It's not overly expensive, the views of the harbour are lovely, and best of all the staff treat you with warmth and genuine hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spangle-me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Vancouver
0.1 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel At The Pier
Pinnacle Hotel At The Pier
#1 of 10 in North Vancouver
1,236 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites North Vancouver
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites North...
#2 of 10 in North Vancouver
642 reviews
2.0 mi away
North Vancouver Hotel
North Vancouver Hotel
#5 of 10 in North Vancouver
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Best Western Capilano Inn & Suites
Best Western Capilano Inn & Suit...
#3 of 10 in North Vancouver
378 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Vancouver Lions Gate
Travelodge Vancouver Lions Gate
#9 of 10 in North Vancouver
457 reviews
2.6 mi away
Atrium Inn Vancouver
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#58 of 90 in Vancouver
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lonsdale Quay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lonsdale Quay Hotel

Property: Lonsdale Quay Hotel
Address: 123 Carrie Cates Court, North Vancouver, British Columbia V7M 3K7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > North Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in North Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lonsdale Quay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come for the Experience! Located on the spectacular North Vancouver waterfront! The Lonsdale Quay Hotel is a gateway to Vancouver's attractions, Whistler and major North Vancouver businesses. Whether for business or pleasure, our hotel is your best choice on the north shore of Vancouver! Explore our new Executive Rooms, Junior Suites and Standard rooms! Our Waterfront Boutique property will leave you with lasting memories. Fantastic Vancouver waterfront boutique hotel located in a vibrant market and shops. Your best North Vancouver Hotel choice. Accessible to all attractions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lonsdale Quay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lonsdale Quay North Vancouver
Hotel Lonsdale Quay
Lonsdale Quay Hotel North Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing