We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pamper yourself”
Review of ThistleDown House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ThistleDown House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My husband and I were in Vancouver to do some shopping, wanted to stay close to town but not in the thick of the noise and crowds. Making the short hop across the bridge to North Vancouver was well worth it. The historic home is beautifully appointed, the hosts are beyond gracious and the food was gourmet. This is going to be our home away from home in Vancouver.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hometowntraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013

We visited Thistledown late September as part of my husband's birthday weekend. We were warmly welcomed into this delightful ,beautifully appointed home and immediately felt comfortable with the gracious host, Liz. Rex and Ruth have created a most unique and exquisite getaway coupled with an inviting atmosphere and gourmet prepared food. A top choice for sure! We will be planning another visit to Thistledown very soon!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We visited Vancouver in August and had the unparalleled pleasure to stay at this beautifully-appointed king suite.

Ruth and Rex were more than gracious and the atmosphere was so welcoming and relaxing. We so enjoyed the three course breakfasts around the communal table with a revolving slate of guests from all over the world.

Our only great was having to leave after all too short a stay. This is truly top drawer as you will note from the other reviews. Our hats hang are suspended in the air in tribute to Rex & Ruth. Brilliant!!!

Friends from America always, A&S

Room Tip: Our room, Pages, was on the lower floor. We found it to be very quiet and restful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

You need only look at all the reviews for ThistleDown - as I write this there are 267 5-star reviews and nary a single lesser one. What does that tell you? This is one very spectacular B&B. As others have said, we're only sorry we didn't stay longer. We had no idea North Van was such a pretty place, and that there would be an excellent restaurant almost in walking distance from it, and that the breakfast would be so spectacular (it was more like a dinner than a breakfast). The night we were there others were visiting from several different countries. The owners are delightful and the wife is a spectacular cook, for sure! If we ever return to North Van (or Vancouver at all) I'd definitely choose to stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolynOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed only one night in a beautifully-appointed king suite. The hosts, Ruth and Rex, were very gracious and breakfast was exceptional. Capilano Suspension Bridge is a short walk away, as is Edgemont village where we had a fabulous dinner at Canyon Restaurant. The house is very quiet and relaxing - our only regret is that we didn't book more nights.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weenone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The location was perfect for hiking in North Vancouver and for access to the beach towns there. We stayed in a lovely and light octagonal room near the front of the house. Breakfast was delicious and the owners and staff welcoming and very helpful with suggestions for activities during the day. They even gave us bear bells for our hikes!

Room Tip: We loved our room, but rooms at the back may have less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We have the privilege to stay here for 2 nights. The best way I can describe the rooms is that when you get to your room you don't want to leave it. Very warm, inviting and comfortable. The only reason to leave the room is to get to the breakfast. A 3 course gourmet meal that sets you up for the whole day. Everything about this B&B is charming. A place to enjoy if you are ever in the area. Thanks Liz, Rex and of course Ruth for the hospitality you extended to us. It was really appreciated. Especially after a long and tiring day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Vancouver hotels
2.7 mi away
Lonsdale Quay Hotel
Lonsdale Quay Hotel
#4 of 10 in North Vancouver
619 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Capilano Inn & Suites
Best Western Capilano Inn & Suit...
#3 of 10 in North Vancouver
483 reviews
2.7 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel At The Pier
Pinnacle Hotel At The Pier
#1 of 10 in North Vancouver
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites North Vancouver
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites North...
#2 of 10 in North Vancouver
766 reviews
1.3 mi away
North Vancouver Hotel
North Vancouver Hotel
#6 of 10 in North Vancouver
330 reviews
2.3 mi away
Crystal's View Vancouver Bed and Breakfast
Crystal's View Vancouver Bed and...
#2 of 20 in North Vancouver
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ThistleDown House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ThistleDown House

Address: 3910 Capilano Rd, North Vancouver, British Columbia V7R 4J2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > North Vancouver
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in North Vancouver
Price Range: £159 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ThistleDown House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A highly acclaimed, award-winning 1920 heritage-listed Craftsman style property fully restored and filled with fine antiques and works of art from around the world. Six rooms, all en suite, are beautifully finished and furnished and equipped with many amenities. Afternoon tea is served and breakfast is deliciously creative and multi-course. Fifteen minutes from the core of the city, ThistleDown House is situated on Vancouver's spectacular North Shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your ThistleDown House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing