We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good and quick service”
Review of Pho Japolo

Pho Japolo
Ranked #77 of 384 Restaurants in North Vancouver
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always good and quick service”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We have been coming to this restaurant for many years. The owner changed and menu changed once but did not bother me. The place is alway packed full of people. We sort of wipe clean table and disinfect chop sticks and spoons once we place an order. The place is a typical Vietnamese restaurant. Not so clean. But the food is great! My boyfriend is on low sodium diet so we ask for hot water on a side to add to our noodle soup broth.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Army39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    25
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Great place for Pho after a cold hike in the woods”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This has become our go to Pho in North Vancouver. There is a lot of meat in the soup, I usually have no 3, the broth is very good and not salty. I order the large and often take the last bit home for lunch the next day.

The service is fast and they people are very helpful and bring you extra ingredients if asked and they replenish the tea right away.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharonbader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not Big on Ambiance but will satisfy your appetite”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

On cold Vancouver days when the rain won't stop falling, take a chance and try a bowl of pho at Pho Japolo in North Vancouver. The restaurant sits on Marine Drive between Denny's and Earl's, and a lot of people would probably pick one of the other two restaurants before trying Pho, but it's well worth taking a chance on this restaurant. Pho is Vietnamese soup noodles that come in a richly flavored beef broth. Most of the pho comes with a choice of different selections of beef from flank steak to brisket to meat balls, and if you want to really explore the more authentic versions of the soup, try the beef tendon or tripe, beef stomach. The tendon is very tender and has a fairly soft texture. The pho is hard to pass on at this restaurant, but I have also discovered that the Banh Mi sandwiches are delectable. Served on an oven toasted french roll, the sandwiches are served warm, and there are three or 4 different choices. I like the lemon grass chicken best. The meat is tender and tasty, and the combination of the pickled veggies with the meat and the crunch of the roll.... Really, really good. I've gone to Pho Japaolo for years now, and I finally broke down and tried one of their rice plates. I had the marinated pork chop and lemon grass chicken combo with rice. So simple yet so tasty and satisfy. You can get out of this restaurant extremely full and satisfied for about $10. How many places can you go to in Vancouver and make that claim?

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Great eat close to capsilano bridge!”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We were famished walking around capsilano for over two hours so we didn't have too much time to look around so we were lucky to land here. The dishes were tasty and prices very reasonable. Every single dish ordered tasted good. The grilled chicken dish was done well and meat was moist. The spring rolls were average. And pho was done right... Not overly salty. Would come back anytime for lunch!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelBugsEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Great Pho! Good Value too.”
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Great pho requires great broth and this place has really good broth. The meats or seafoods, as well as the noodles, are perfectly cooked + the vegetables perfectly crunchy. I pick up to take home on my way from work. The spring rolls, salad rolls and grilled chicken are also delicious, served in plentiful portions at very reasonable prices.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CEA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pho Japolo also viewed

North Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
North Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Pho Japolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing