We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New owners knock it out the park!”
Review of Jagerhof

Jagerhof
Ranked #18 of 378 Restaurants in North Vancouver
Cuisines: Austrian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“New owners knock it out the park!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

We used to dine here infrequently but grandma loved the food, we put up with the somewhat abrasive service, and the foreboding atmosphere so that the matriarch could get her schnitzel dose.
Things have changed. Chris ( new owner) has managed to up the tempo of this once tired place. The food is lighter, the potatoes no longer greasy, the cabbage a delight. But the best change is the atmosphere, German umpa music plays, there is a hustle and bustle, smiles, laughter and a freshness that was lacking from before. The desserts are very good ( try the crepes) waiting times were a little long, but the restaurant was packed. Beer selection is fantastic, wine list needs a tweek. This is a place I can now go to without giving grandma a call.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    40
    13
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Delightful Surprise”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

After reading a few previous reviews we weren't sure we would try this restaurant. Although it is a bit on the small side with rustic German/Austrian decor, we had a wonderful dinner. We both ordered Jager Schnitzel served with red cabbage (first time I have tried it and it was delicious) and your choice of pan potatoes or spaetzle. My wife had the potatoes and I had the spaetzle. The schnitzel with mushrooms and gravy were delicious. The service was excellent, the owner seated us and was friendly and helpful in selecting a German beer. It was like a good home cooked meal.
We are glad we went and have already recommended this restaurant to a few of our friends.
The prices were also very reasonable.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great dining experience !!”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We only recently heard about Jagerhof and what a good dining experience it was. We went for lunch, were warmly welcomed by the owner and staff. We had the lunch special. A true delight... my husband and I both are foodies , the potato/pea/butter lettuce pureed soup was unique, light delicious, the schnitzel was perfectly cooked ( not heavily fried as we've found in other restaurants) presented with a lovely side salad, we also ordered side-dishes of red cabbage (so much nicer than the rather sweet tasting ones we've had in other places) the freshly made spaetzle was excellent. Chris, the new owner ,obviously has an eye for what is needed atmosphere wise/foodwise in the up and coming area of lower Lonsdale- we look forward to seeing the updates Chris told us about, including the possibility of outdoor seating. We look forward to having many more great dining experiences in this truly delightful restaurant!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank travelingdebbie493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver BC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Under New Ownership”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This has been a place of 33 years history (and my eating there). However, this week we went and found it has changed ownership and cooks.
Menu is the same but we reserve judgement .. schnitzel was good (we had the Swiss) . The fried potatoes were even better than before but the red cabbage and the spaetzle were very disappointing. Its still very knew so we'll go back in about a month and see if its still going to be one of our 'regular' spots. (We only go for lunch because we retired and can do that -evenings always were too busy and too slow). They didn't offer a lunch special which we are used to (a special selection including soup or salad).

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank blueribbonBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Good wholesome food at a fair price, longevity speaks volumes and this restaurant has been a fixture for years.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Newdale_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jagerhof also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Jagerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing