We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty halls and rooms, rude manager, avoid this location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Chelsea Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Coquitlam
Reviewed 8 February 2013

I reserved a room at this hotel, but after being shown multiple dirty rooms, I moved to a different hotel. The halls appeared not to have been vacuumed in some time, and had noticeable debris along the entire length. Of the rooms I was shown, there were stained carpets, molded grout in the bathrooms, and a distinct smell of smoke. One of the rooms was completely unmade, no sheets on the beds, comforters on the floor, drawers open, etc.

The check in clerk had prematurely charged my Best Western gift card, and I was informed that it couldn't be refunded, except by the manager. Over the phone, the manager was very rude. I was told that he was unavailable for four days, until after my planned departure from the city. He kept interrupting me while I tried to speak, and telling me I should "put myself in his shoes" because he couldn't come to work on the weekend. His rudest statement was when he told me that "as a favour" he would not charge me for my stay even though I was not providing enough notice of cancelling my booking. This was completely ridiculous, as I was not staying because the check-in clerk could not provide a clean room.

I was lucky enough to find a room late that night at the nearby (a few kilometers away) Best Western Plus Coquitlam Inn Convention Center, where the staff treated me wonderfully and the hotel is spotlessly clean. They were a great help to me, as it took hours and countless phone calls before the manager of the Chelsea Inn finally (at the extreme last minute before my departure) to return the money that they had wrongly charged me.

Every interaction with the Chelsea Inn was unpleasant, and there is no way that this location should be a part of the Best Western brand, never mind the "plus" brand. It is very disappointing that the hotel is allowed to represent what is otherwise a normally dependable chain.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank efcarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank GrannieRN
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mosmani, General Manager at Best Western Chelsea Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 January 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank CONNIE B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mosmani, General Manager at Best Western Chelsea Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 January 2013

My family had to go to Coquitlam BC for a Karate tournament. We had decided to stay in a hotel with two young kids you always wonder if it is a good idea, but it was the staff were extremly friendly and helpful you can tell they love there jobs. The continental breakfast was great for people on the run it was quick and hot. The room was very large, the beds were extremly comfortable, and the bathroom was large enough to fit all four of us in there.The front enterance, hallways, elevator and even the main bathrooms were spotless. When we were phoning around to diferent hotels for a group deal the Best Western gave us the best group rate. It was a great first hotel experience very kid friendly.
Our next road trip we will stay at the Best Western again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mosmani, General Manager at Best Western Chelsea Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience in staying at our hotel. Very happy that you had a pleasant experience and we hope you and your fmaily come back and stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Friendly front desk, comfortable rooms. Complementary breakfast the typical waffles, toast, hard boiled eggs etc. Breakfast room is chilly, does not seem to be heated. Avoid front rooms facing pool as freeway noisy.
Affordable accommodation if you are attending Red Robinson Theatre or similar in area.

Room Tip: Not at front or overlooking pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELES ESCAPE B a... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mosmani, General Manager at Best Western Chelsea Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We are in the final stages of gettting our sound proof windows in. The back is always a good choice if you dont like noise. We look forward in your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Very kind and helpful staff. Very good value. Good continental breakfast. Excellent manager. Really like the central location. Good parking. We can arrive very late and still get a room and great service. Also i like the security system they have.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lashes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mosmani, General Manager at Best Western Chelsea Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2013

Thank you as we appreciate your continued business. We consider our guests as a family member of the Best Western group.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

i been a regular customer for over five years. I like staying at Best Western Chealsea Inn because the price are affordable and has very friendly staff. The continental breakfast is good and the beds are comfortable to sleep in.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ynott8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mosmani, General Manager at Best Western Chelsea Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2013

Thank you and we so appreciate your continued business. We always welcome you to your home away from home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coquitlam
Ramada Coquitlam
#4 of 4 in Coquitlam
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Poco Inn & Suites Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Coquitlam
326 reviews
Whalley
Days Inn Surrey
Days Inn Surrey
#11 of 19 in Surrey
296 reviews
Inn at the Quay
#1 of 3 in New Westminster
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Chelsea Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Chelsea Inn

Address: 725 Brunette Ave, Coquitlam, British Columbia V3K 6A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Coquitlam
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Coquitlam
Price Range: £75 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Chelsea Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our Coquitlam hotel, we believe our guests deserve only the best, which is why free parking, free Wi-Fi and a free breakfast is standard. Start your day at the waffle station and move onto a selection of cereals and pastries, fresh fruits, yogurt, 100% Arabica coffee and chilled juices. Spend the afternoon lounging in the pool or resting after a day of exploring the area. The region is known for some excellent sightseeing, such as the Boulevard Casino and Red Robinson Theatre. Take the Skytrain to downtown Vancouver and explore the area by foot. The nearby Coquitlam Center and Laugheed Mall are just a short distance from our Coquitlam hotel. Many of our guests visit for IKEA shopping, and we’re happy to accommodate truck parking at our hotel. Whether you’re here for the attractions or for a shopping adventure, we’re your home away from home. Our Coquitlam hotel is a 2012 TripAdvisor award winner, and we’re proud to offer you the best vacation experience possible. We also cater to business travelers, such as IKEA employees and travelers in town with the Royal Columbia Hospital. From business to leisure, we have you covered with a great location and many complimentary amenities. The friendly staff at our Coquitlam hotel can provide you with shopping and dining recommendations. If you need some advice on must-see Vancouver attractions, depend on us to ensure you have a memorable and enjoyable stay. We’re a family-friendly hotel, but many groups and couples also choose to stay with us, too. At our hotel, we take the responsibility of making sure you have a great time seriously. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Chelsea Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Chelsea Hotel Coquitlam
Best Western Coquitlam
Coquitlam Best Western
Best Western Chelsea Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing