We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”

Urban Gate Bar & Grill
Ranked #206 of 314 Restaurants in Coquitlam
Price range: US$8 - US$19
Cuisines: Persian
Restaurant details
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This is a very convenient place located near the Coquitlam Center mall.
It has a decent menu with some really interesting persian items. I had the Koobideh and it was excellent. Great atmosphere with a nice outside patio. Service was attentive and courteous.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Mebs14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    14
    8
    3
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“THE BEST PERSIAN FOOD IN THE LOWERMAINLAND”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

If you want worth the money , tasty , and nice atmosphere restaurant ..................GO HERE . I usually order vaziri where you get 1 chicken kabob (jujeh) and 1 koobideh kabab (beef) kabab with a roasted tomatoe and basmati rice and salad . All for such an amazing deal !!!!! Trust me , I have been to all other persian restaurants and this beats all of them . :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Rania48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Moody, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“This review is based on the service we received”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The food here is good. I have made a review before and the service was good as well. HOWEVER....we went back and the service was terrible. So much so we didn't even eat this time!! The restaurant was not full at all and when we asked for a particular table the waitress denied us and said they might need it for a larger group. Well....with this attitude and a restaurant not filled....we left and I wont be back because of her poor attitude!!! There are MANY restaurants who serve Persian kabobs in the lower mainland to accept her sassy attitude. Too bad!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Moody, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“YUM!”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The food here is awesome! You can't beat the chicken kabobs they melt in your mouth! The service is good and the atmosphere is casual. Will be back!!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good food! Friendly service”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stopped in when the place was fairly recently opened and thoroughly enjoyed our meals. My husband is vegetarian and some places offer such limited options, but there was good variety.

Our guest and I were intrigued by the market attached to the restaurant and picked up some new treasures to try.

The prices were pretty standard to most places attracting a younger crowd (meaning might not fit regularly in to the average family budget). But for an evening out without kids, yum! Lol

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Laurel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Urban Gate Bar & Grill also viewed

Coquitlam, British Columbia
Coquitlam, British Columbia
 
Coquitlam, British Columbia
 

Been to Urban Gate Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing