We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unpleasant Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Toronto / Markham Suites Conference Centre & Spa
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Markham
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unpleasant Experience”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night. It was a terrible experience.

Cons:
The pay per view wasn't working. The man who came to fix it said he would have to replace the box but still wasn't sure that was the issue. I asked to be switched rooms. Initially they agreed but then said all rooms had this issue. I asked maintenance if this was true and he admitted it wasn't. I asked for compensation. They agreed to give me 15% off and free parking. The mere fact that they charge for parking when their lot is HUGe and its Markham is crazy to me.

The rooms are old. The mattress sags and the springs
feel broken. Old TVs. Not HD. Seems picky I know but shows lack of up keeping.

The mini bar was empty. And I was starving :(

The room was freezing even after I turned up the temperature. It said 27 degrees but it definitely wasn't. Faulty thermostat perhaps.

Pro
Many amenities though the pool was not able to be used.

Late night room service.

Simply not 4 stars nor worth anything over $100.00

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smilingsunshine_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haley W, Front Office Manager at Hilton Toronto / Markham Suites Conference Centre & Spa, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input on our service and appointment and apologize you were disappointed in our offerings. We will use your comments as we continue to evolve our guests' experience moving forward and we hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.

Sincerely,

Haley Weeden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    266
    118
    41
    44
See reviews for
256
118
19
313
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Tonawanda, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The hotel looks great from the outside and has a lot to offer. If you spend time in your room using the internet or watching television, you may experience some difficulties. Maintenance crew was unable to resolve our problem.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2014

After a week visiting from Israel. My room was located on the 10th floor - the atmosphere was relaxing to allow me to work and feel refreshed. Clean, beautiful, the amenities were perfect. Even on my first day, the dining staff made me feel at home - like I was family. The staff were so friendly and amazing customer service. I've travelled all over the world, I know hotels - and this one was my absolute favourite.

Room Tip: I enjoyed my room on the 10th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inbal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penetanguishene, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Hotel was easily accessable from highways. Upon entering was quite impressed with establishment. Friendly, courteous and informative staff. Rooms very clean and spacious. Although double beds seemed quite small they were comfortable! Breakfast was very good. A couple of things to note: parking and internet services are not included in rates. As a large hotel chain thougth that these would be included.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Darlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
233 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I recently stayed at the Hilton for three nights. I have been here before and am always satisfied. This time was just excellent. The rooms are very comfortable and roomy. The bed was fabulous. Everything felt clean and fresh. My room had just a small fridge (some have full kitchens) but when I asked for some cutlery and plates they arrived immediately allowing me to choose to have a simple breakfast in my room. Lots of towels in the wonderful bathroom, great pressure in the shower. The gym is part of a larger fitness club so there are many, many machines and lots of space. It was never too full. There is a rooftop deck with full sized trees and bushes. I enjoyed relaxing on the lounge chairs. Excellent, peaceful extra.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kath C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The suites are small, and fairly dumpy. We had an absolutely awful sleep. We were staying with our young children, so we got a room with two double beds. I know that Markham has a large Asian and Indian population and that people of these ethnicities tend to be a bit shorter, but man, my legs were hanging off the bed all night. I'm not a giant: I'm 6 feet. It was incredibly uncomfortable. Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 118Q_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

This is literally the worst hilton I've ever stayed in. Part of carrying the brand name is maintaining a level of quality in service. In the last 12 hours, the hotel has gone out of their way to be inhospitable: 1) their courtesy shuttle, which claims to take people within 5 mi of the hotel, actually only runs until 9am and only goes to specific businesses -- remember to check the fine print I guess? 2) the cab we called thru the concierge never came, and the concierge simply responded that 'it's raining' , as an excuse for the complete lack of communication. 3) when we arrived late and requested help finding a nearby restaurant, again the concierge laughed and stayed that we were 'in the wrong city'..? 4) and finally, the breakfast vouchers we purchased could only be used in a specific restaurant at a specific time (also not communicated) and when we asked for a refund they refused 5) using an umbrella (after the cab never came) required a $25 deposit ..?

Pretty sure if we stayed a bit longer I could add to the list.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ambikas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haley W, Front Office Manager at Hilton Toronto / Markham Suites Conference Centre & Spa, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
We are so sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience during your stay with us. At our hotel, we always aim to ensure every guest feels cared for, valued and respected and your feedback will help us to better deliver this brand promise moving forward. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again soon so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.

Sincerely,
Haley Weeden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Markham hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Toronto Markham
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Markham
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Toronto-Markham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Monte Carlo Inn & Suites Downtown Markham
2.7 mi away
Courtyard Toronto Northeast/Markham
2.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Toronto / Markham Suites Conference Centre & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Toronto / Markham Suites Conference Centre & Spa

Property: Hilton Toronto / Markham Suites Conference Centre & Spa
Address: 8500 Warden Ave, Markham, Ontario L6G 1A5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Markham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Markham
#5 Romantic Hotel in Markham
#7 Family Hotel in Markham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Toronto / Markham Suites Conference Centre & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Toronto / Markham Suites Conference Centre & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Suites Toronto/Markham Conference Centre Hotel Markham
Hilton Hotel Markham
Hilton Markham
Markham Hilton
Hilton Toronto / Markham Suites Conference Centre & Spa Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing