We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No free wifi, no free continental breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Toronto / Markham Suites Conference Centre & Spa
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Markham
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My wife and I recently stayed here for a wedding. We were here for two nights. It was a big disappointment. In this day and age of technology and convenience, this hotel fails miserably. They did not offer free wifi in the room, you have to pay an additional fee for this. So we had brought an iPad and laptop, but were unable to utilize them. LITERALLY Every other hotel we've stayed in (and we've done a lot of traveling), including hotels in America and Europe, have offered free wifi in your room. Another disappointment was they did not offer free breakfast. Again, literally every other hotel we've stayed in, in both America and Europe, have offered free continental breakfasts, even holiday inn express offers this! The hotel offered breakfast, but you had to pay about 30 dollars a person for it, instead of spending a fortune on breakfast, we walked across the street to McDonald's.

I would not recommend this hotel for these two reasons. I don't know if it's a Toronto thing or Hilton thing, but not offering free wifi and breakfast, in the 21st century, made our stay uncomfortable and disappointing.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Joel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haley W, Front Office Manager at Hilton Toronto / Markham Suites Conference Centre & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input on our service and amenities and apologize you were disappointed in our provided technology.

Since your last stay we have continued to evolve our guests' experience by offering complimentary wifi in guest rooms, we hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.

Thank you,

Haley Weeden
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (934)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

809 - 815 of 934 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

This is a nice hotel. Very comfortable beds. So why a one star rating? Their parking policy.
When I checked in the front desk asked if I parked my car in the parking lot. Yes I said. They asked for my license plate number otherwise they said it will be towed. Then they asked me to sign the registration form that stated I had to pay $10 a night for parking.
Really? $10 for self parking! I would rather had paid $10 more for the room online. I hate being nickel and dimed. Otherwise no complaints with this hotel.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Wil_from_Va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haley W, Front Office Manager at Hilton Toronto / Markham Suites Conference Centre & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Wil,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay. I appreciate your honest feedback about your experience while parking at our hotel. Your review provides feedback that our hotel team needs to re-evaluate guest needs and meet guest expectations. Again, we apologize for any inconveniences, and we hope to have another chance to serve you and make it right in the future.

Thank you,

Haley Weeden
Front Office Manager
haley.weeden@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This was the first hotel at stayed at in over 2 years that did not have free wifi. The room was also very cold. Apparently this survey review requires a minimum 200 characters so here goes: klsjglkjgfoifgklnrlkjbokjdsfoijgflkjblkjbsdokjgfsksjlkdfsjlkbjsdlkdjblkjgflksfjdgoldsfjgolkjlkjdsflkjblksdjblkdjblksjddslfkflkgjalk

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Your first impression is WOW...what a beautiful lobby, BUT that wears off.There was a Magcon event there, & the hotel was OVER RUN by kids NOT STAYING at the hotel day and night. Non guests should have been removed at some point. Security please! We were there for the event as well, myself and 3 children,but hotel guests should have been high priority. The restaurant was a bit $$$ to go with children, and so were the drinks at the LobbyBar. Because the seating area is part of the lobby/bar lounge, the children weren't supposed to sit there. Hmmmm... where shall I put the kids? Back to the room children. Nothing else really for them to do! Although they have plenty of space, the lounge/bar is situated smack in the middle of the lobby. So much for quiet time and or privacy. Location Location Location! Maybe if there weren't kids everywhere...I mean literally on top of you, this may have been acceptable. The room was nice, spacious and clean. Needs better block out shades to keep the hallway lights out of the living room area of the suite. Had flat screens in both Living room area, as well as bedroom. The outdoor Zen garden was tranquil and lovely.Ahhhh peace at last. As with most large hotels, the hair/nail spa was over priced. Although we didn't use it, it offers a wonderful health club. I will give them the benefit of the doubt and state that "if this event was not taking place, I probably would have given a better review". Even the employees were annoyed over the chaos.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
3  Thank DeeDeelighted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Very nicely decorated, furnished and modern. Comfortable bed and clean bathroom. Great gym facilities and nice garden area to relax. Had a great check-in experience as both the bell captain and front desk were very kind in trying to soothe our crying 2 year old. Our stay coincided with the Rogers Cup Tennis Tournament. Saw tennis pros who were staying there and got a glimpse of their non-playing routines. Breakfast at the Essence restaurant was surprisingly pleasant. Good selection and quality. Baked goods were excellent - the danishes are a must-try. Bad luck - there were a few families down the hall. Their gang of kids were running and screaming down the hallways from 9 to 11. Thought after that they would go to sleep but alas, it was the adults turn as they were drinking and partying in the hallway - who does that? After being woken up, finally had to call the front desk to complain who did swiftly take care of the problem. However, our sleep was already disrupted. Luckily our kids were woken up. A black mark to our otherwise great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank JFK128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Visited Toronto for a baptism and used this hotel as our home base for family of 4. Room paint a little worn, sliding door between bedroom and living room a little sticky, double beds were a little small, hotel restaurant very average with high cost. Nice closet space and clean room. Great bedding. Probably try another hotel next time.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
3  Thank Sallie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

First impressions of this bustling, busy conference hotel are excellent - a soaring atrium with glass elevators and a nice lobby bar that is a natural gathering spot for guests. The all-suite hotel features a true two-room suite, with a door separating the living room from the bedroom. Living room features a good-quality firm sofa bed and a flat screen TV. The bedroom adds another flat screen TV, bay window, and nicely soft queen-sized bed. Bathroom lacks a tub but the shower is generous. The biggest complaint was light leakage from the glass-block window into the living room at night - the curtains couldn't completely block it out so people sleeping in the living room had to contend with it.

Hotel guests have access to Club Markham, a full service private health club off of the lobby, featuring squash courts, an indoor swimming pool with hot tub, aerobics studio with kickboxing classes, and 3 fully equipped workout rooms with an outstanding selection machines and free weights.

The Hilton is centrally located close to the heart of booming Markham. With a new downtown business district under construction nearby, the Hilton will be an excellent choice for business or pleasure for years to come.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gwwyjjliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Markham hotels
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Markham
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Toronto-Markham
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Toronto Markham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Monte Carlo Inn & Suites Downtown Markham
2.7 mi away
Courtyard Toronto Northeast/Markham
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Toronto Markham
Courtyard Toronto Markham
#12 of 16 in Markham
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Toronto / Markham Suites Conference Centre & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Toronto / Markham Suites Conference Centre & Spa

Address: 8500 Warden Ave, Markham, Ontario L6G 1A5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Markham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Markham
#5 Romantic Hotel in Markham
#6 Family Hotel in Markham
Price Range: £78 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Toronto / Markham Suites Conference Centre & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Toronto / Markham Suites Conference Centre & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Suites Toronto/Markham Conference Centre Hotel Markham
Hilton Hotel Markham
Hilton Markham
Markham Hilton
Hilton Toronto / Markham Suites Conference Centre & Spa Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing