We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as nice as other Delta's”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Edward Hotel Markham
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Markham
Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not as nice as other Delta's”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Stayed here for business for a few days. If I wasn't attached to my Delta points I would probably stay elsewhere next time.

The service is decent, the beds are good... but overall the place is dated and tired looking. Carpets in the rooms look dirty, bathroom looks pretty cheap.

The restaurant looks like something from the 70s-80s. Their Caprese salad is yummy but onion soup is disgusting. Their wine list and complementary bar mix is decent. Still, this area has lot's of other restaurants so I suggest going elsewhere....

Overall you will get a good sleep here but this place is a 3 star so don't expect the same experience as you may get in places like the Calgary downtown Delta.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princessS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeltaMRK, Manager at Edward Hotel Markham, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experiences during your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the hotel and we will be informing the ownership of it. I will also make sure that our Executive Chef is aware of your opinion of the soup and the salad. We still hope that we will get another opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    103
    50
    16
    9
See reviews for
69
45
11
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I booked for 2 nights.I've asked 2 Queen size beds when I made the reservation since I traveled with 2 young children. I've received a confirmation by email from the hotel that I will have 2 Queen beds in a none smoke room. When arrived, I was told that they only have a King size bed room and refused to give me what I've reserved. Finally, I've to argue and show them proof (email) before they gave me what I've asked. The next morning, the house keeping lady came and stand at the door. She asked me to give her the garbage bags so that she can empty them. She mentioned that she will be back later to clean the room. She never came back because our room wasn't cleaned.
Not a good experience at this hotel.

Room Tip: I will not book at this hotel again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank f3nikon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeltaMRK, Manager at Edward Hotel Markham, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We would like to apologize for initially not giving you a room with two queen size beds. We try our best to provide the room reserved but sometimes unforeseen circumstances will not allow us to do so. In which case, an alternative and comparative room type will be provided. However, we are glad that the room you requested for was finally provided.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 December 2013

My grown children and I were forced out of my home on Christmas out our power and left us shivering in my own living room in -2 Celsius temperatures. The Delta Valhalla not only took us in and gave us a reduced rate, but also accepted our large dog without hesitation. We stayed for two nights and were treated with utter hospitality in a very trying time. Concierge Aron was particularly helpful and kind. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and look forward to returning myself someday to sample their lovely looking buffet. buffet.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bettyanne20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeltaMRK, Guest Relations Manager at Edward Hotel Markham, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experiences. It is a pleasure to know that Aron provided such great service to you by assisting you, your children and your pet during the ice storm. I will be sure to recognize and thank him on your behalf. Once again, thank you for staying at Delta Markham. I hope we'll get to welcome you back under better circumstances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here during an ice storm. Beds were comfortable and the room and bathroom area were quite nice. The lobby was well appointed and attractive. We paid $104 for the night and for the money, it was really a good deal. I would recommend this hotel as one of the best in the Markham area.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeltaMRK, Guest Relations Manager at Edward Hotel Markham, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Thank you for staying at Delta Markham. I hope we'll get to welcome you back under better circumstances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The hotel is old,,, Great make over has been done... but few things have to change,, Some rooms still have an old 27" TV... BATH TUBs ARE DANGEROUS!!! (roundup edges!! Extremely slippery!! ADVISE: No"couple shower!!:))

The Italian restaurant is also quite nice! Great ambiance...

What make this hotel the best in Markham region is: THE STAFF!!!!
Incredible staff!!! Especially Krystyne and Aron at the front desk! (Warm welcome! Great smile! Best attitude ever! very polite! You guys are the best!!)
I'm going to this hotel every month for the last 4 month and as long as the staff is keeping this awesome attitude; I will be back!!!

Good job guys!!!

See you again very soon!!! :)

P.Blanchet

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeltaMRK, Manager at Edward Hotel Markham, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences during your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you have acknowledged both the Front Desk (Khrystyne and Aron) and the Tivoli Garden teams, your comments will definitely be passed on to them. We agree with you that the staff makes the biggest impression to guests. It is unfortunate that we don't have any immediate plans to renovate. However, your comments will certainly help us when one is scheduled. Again, thank you for staying at the Delta Markham. We hope that we will have more opportunities to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I've been staying there for the last 6 months 4 days a week and they always make me feel that they care about. Every time I had a special request they took care of it.

Hotel rooms were alway clean and looking good. I definately recomend the Delta if you need to stay in the area

Thanks a lot to front desk people and specially Kristine and Anita.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alain L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lourdes S, Manager at Edward Hotel Markham, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for your sharing your experiences with us, Alain L. I am very happy that Khrystyne, Anita and the Housekeeping Department have been taking care of you whenever your travels bring you back to the Delta Markham. I will make sure extend your comments to them. I hope that we'll have more opportunities to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

It needs improvement, more maintenance in cleaning. The bed wasn't comfortable. It is nice children get a small gift when they arrive. Staff is friendly, shopping close to the hotel. It was okay, but wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Createwithmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lourdes S, Manager at Edward Hotel Markham, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for taking time in sending us your feedback. Your concerns regarding cleanliness will be addressed with our Executive Housekeeper. As for improving the hotel, we do not have plans of renovating in the near future but your comments will certainly be considered. I hope your children enjoyed the small gift that they received when you checked in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Markham hotels
0.3 mi away
Park Inn By Radisson Toronto-Markham
1.5 mi away
Hilton Toronto / Markham Suites Conference Centre & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Markham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Toronto Markham
0.8 mi away
Monte Carlo Inn Toronto Markham
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Toronto Northeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edward Hotel Markham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edward Hotel Markham

Property: Edward Hotel Markham
Address: 50 East Valhalla Drive, Markham, Ontario L3R 0A3, Canada (Formerly Delta Markham)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Markham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Markham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edward Hotel Markham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Edward Hotel Markham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Markham Hotel Markham
Delta Hotel Markham
Markham Delta Hotel
Edward Hotel Markham Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing