We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was a Wag Jag Jaunt”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Monte Carlo Inn & Suites Downtown Markham
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Markham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This was a Wag Jag Jaunt that provided us a room, a restaurant dinner and a day at the Toronto Zoo. We live close enough to drive into the zoo for the day. However, it was a nice get away for the to of us. The room was small but extremely comfortable. We decided that it did not need to be any larger to accommodate our needs. The bed was one of the best we have ever slept in in a hotel. We had a wonderful nights sleep.The room, as well as the rest of the hotel, was very clean. The air quality was very good and you did not smell any of the cleaners used lingering in the air. The staff were very friendly, very helpful, courteous and efficient. The restaurant and hotel are separate businesses. But our experience there was also positive. The variety of choice was good and the presentation and taste of the meal was excellent. Some might think it is pricey but really isn't out of the ordinary price wise. Restaurant staff were also very friendly both in the evening and the morning. All in all it was a good deal for us and we would stay again. It was affordable and a really nice get away for us for a night and day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (529)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

423 - 429 of 529 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2013

We had purchased a JAUNT gift certificate that allowed us one night stay and zoo admissions. After many attempts to get a room (sorry none available - double queen), but we can upgrade you for extra.

Finally upgraded as running out of time, the upgrade consisted of a deluxe (???) room with no bath. Wow 2 kids and no bath but a very small shower.

We arrived only to find that the pool was not working; I checked their webpage that night and there was no notice that there was NO POOL.

The meals were really bad, so bad we went looking for a McDonalds to eat at.

Overall a very poor experience, room quality was average, plastic everything, and vending machines selling amenadies, toothbrushes etc.

Will never book here again, I always wonder when hotels are features on discount sites, there always a reason. I found it.. poor hotel, poor service, overall bad experience.

You do get what you pay for these days.

Room Tip: Alwasys check with the hotel around pools etc. And check travel sites, they will save you a lot of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfromCANADA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Montecarlo, Manager at Monte Carlo Inn & Suites Downtown Markham, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for spending your time to give us a straight and detailed feedback.

The satisfaction of our guests has highest priority. We express regret for not being able to provide you with access to the pool as it was closed for yearly maintenance. We always strive to offer our guests an excellent service at the Monte Carlo Inn & Suites Downtown Markham.

We are always willing to find the perfect room for every single guest. Regarding the luxurious suite upgrade our rooms are custom built and the room that you were upgraded to is one the most desired rooms at our hotel as it features in room shower with glass walls. We truly apologize for the room not being a perfect fit for you.

We know that a successful start into the day is often supported by a sufficient breakfast. Therefore we do our best to serve our guests a rich and diverse breakfast together with the will to keep up the high quality of our food. Our Restaurant is managed by ByPeterandPauls that are industry leader in providing great food. I apologize that the food was not up to your expectations.

It is important to us that our guests feel welcome and comfortable at our hotel. That requires a helpful, friendly and very obliging service at any time. We will ventilate this topic with those responsible and figure out the problem. We thank you very much for your helpful and reasonable criticism.

In Closing, we are an organization that is passionate about what we do. We are very grateful and take every criticism seriously. I have a sympathetic ear on every issue and much to my regret we did not have the opportunity to meet in person. We will never stop working harder to ensure that each stay with the Monte Carlo Inns will be a more comfortable and positive experience. We really hope you will afford us an opportunity to provide you with a better stay in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I stay at this location at least one week of every month. I choose this location as it is very clean and the staff are very professional.
The restaurant at this hotel has a great menu and very courteous server staff.

I travel 1-2 weeks per month and stay at a variety of hotels so I see a lot of good and bad hotels, this one ranks as a favourite for me when I'm in the area.

John - Ottawa, ON.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed for 2 nights-- 2 breakfasts. Room was clean, modern and afair size, but, plastic glasses, small shower towels, no working pool, and very poor service for breakfast kind of turned us off-- way off! No jams, delays of 20 mins for coffee, some items on menu not available ( supplier problems supposedly) and a very limited continental breakfast. even then having to go to the front desk for a breakfast coupon was just-- cheap. on 2nd morning we had to wait 45 minutes and then we got our order at same time as other who had been there of 15 miutes..- no sense! and again waiting 20 mins for fresh coffee!! Others were walking out. Other members of our party stayed at the Hilton up the street - in a suite with a far superior breakfast - for the same price as our reg. room. Guess where i am staying next time!!!

Room Tip: Suites are very small for the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vincent w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Montecarlo, Manager at Monte Carlo Inn & Suites Downtown Markham, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

The satisfaction of our guests has highest priority. We express regret for not being able to provide you with access to the pool as it was closed for yearly maintenance. We always strive to offer our guests an excellent service at the Monte Carlo Inn & Suites Downtown Markham.

We can understand your frustration in picking up a breakfast voucher at the front desk in the morning. However we take that opportunity to greet all our guests in the morning and also to assist them with anything that they might require for a successful start to the day. Our Restaurant is managed by ByPeterandPauls that are industry leader in providing great food. I apologize for the delay in service provided at our restaurant as it was not up to your expectations.

Gladly we provide our guests different facilities for recovery. Thus it’s very pleasing that you remarked our room quality at the hotel. We are very grateful and take every criticism seriously. Much to my regret we did not have the opportunity to meet in person. We will never stop working harder to ensure that each stay with the Monte Carlo Inns will be a more comfortable and positive experience. We really hope you will afford us an opportunity to provide you with a better stay in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

On arrival, we arrived tired at the destination cause we were on the road for quite a long time. we went up to the front desk worker and the guy at the front gave us our room number. We went upstairs to find that the room that he gave us isn't cleaned yet. The housekeeper was still inside cleaning the room. So we went back downstairs and he gave us another room. That wasn't convenient for us at all! However, the new room that was given to us was clean. The bathroom was small though. Not enough towels for four people.

We didn't bring our toothbrush and tooth paste cause at all the hotels we have been to, they have some at the front desk. This hotel didn't have any. They told us to go to the vending machine & the cost was $6 for a small toothbrush/toothpaste. It was expensive!! Not worth it. FYI bring your own toothbrush!

The dinner experience was horrible! We waited so long to get our food and to get served with drinks. There was only ONE waiter, they should put more people in. The food wasn't that good. I'd rather eat out than eat here again.

Breakfast was like any other hotel. But the coffee wasn't hot when I took a drink. Servers should check the coffee and drink every hour.

Swimming pool was open and small so I didn't go in.

Overall experience, I don't think I will be coming back to this hotel. I'd rather stay at another hotel and pay a bit more.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aebbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Montecarlo, Manager at Monte Carlo Inn & Suites Downtown Markham, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

We apologize that your stay with us was less than satisfactory. It appears that we definitely failed when it comes to housekeeping. My staff and I reviewed each of your comments and have taken appropriate action to resolve each issue as mentioned in your feedback. In addition, we are re-evaluating our inspection processes to ensure these type of issues do not occur in the future.

Our Restaurant is managed by ByPeterandPauls that are industry leader in providing great food. I apologize for the delay in service provided at our restaurant during the dinner as it was not up to your expectations.

Again, we are terribly sorry that your first experience with Monte Carlo Inn & Suites Downtown Markham was not a good one, but invite you to give us another try. We greatly appreciate your feedback, as it helps us to improve and provide a better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I wasn't familiar with the name but took a chance because of other reviews. Hotel is top-notch and will be a mainstay location for all future travel to the area. The room, common areas, and grounds are super clean. Comfortable bed--slept very well. Layout of the basic room is a little odd with a 3/4 wall and column separating bed from sitting area which made for a tight space toward the desk area. Also one minor nitpick--The bathroom toilet seat/arrangement is best for very small people. Onsite restaurant food is excellent--had 3 dinners there rather than going out. Service staff in the restaurant is very friendly. Complimentary breakfast is cold offerings but very good selection. You can also apply complimentary breakfast as a $3 credit toward a hot meal. Not a bad option. Overall this hotel is much nicer than many of the hotels in the immediate Markham area.

Room Tip: There are several rooms near the elevators that form a semi-circle. Be careful with hallway/elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This hotel is so clean you could practically eat off the floors. The hotel staff were helpful and gracious. We had a fantastic stay and would definitely go again. The Toronto Zoo was very close to the hotel which was great for us, as we spent the day there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinaungBurlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Markham hotels
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Toronto Markham
1.9 mi away
Hilton Toronto / Markham Suites Conference Centre & Spa
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Markham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Monte Carlo Inn Toronto Markham
2 mi away
Comfort Inn Toronto Northeast
2.3 mi away
Park Inn By Radisson Toronto-Markham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Carlo Inn & Suites Downtown Markham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Carlo Inn & Suites Downtown Markham

Address: 7255 Warden Ave, Markham, Ontario L3R 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Markham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Markham
#4 Business Hotel in Markham
#5 Family Hotel in Markham
Price Range: £66 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monte Carlo Inn & Suites Downtown Markham 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new Monte Carlo Inn & Suites Downtown Markham™ is located at the corner of Warden and Denison in the heart of the commercial and residential region of Markham/Toronto North and only minutes from the 407, 401, and 404 highways. This Florentine inspired hotel and conference facility features: A large lobby and reception area, Extensive meeting space and an extravagant ballroom for your next social event gathering. Whether you are planning a long-term business stay in one of our business class suites or a romantic getaway in one of our luxurious Jacuzzi suites, you will find that at the Monte Carlo Inn & Suites Downtown Markham the quality, value and versatility of our product will exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Monte Carlo Inn & Suites Downtown Markham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Carlo Inn & Suites Downtown Markham Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing