We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Toronto Markham
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Markham
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
199 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed at the Residence Inn Toronto Markham for multiple nights and had a very good experience. The hotel is conveniently located next to major interactions, with many dining options nearby. The neighborhood area is very nice. Our room was clean and fairly well maintained. The staff, led by shift manager Tom Tran, was friendly and helpful.
My major complaints with Residence Inns in general (not just this one) is the quality of the sofa bed; it is virtually impossible to sleep on it as your back will have a close encounter with the metal springs. After a few nights sleeping on the pull-out sofa bed as well as the sofa itself (without pulling out the bed), I was exhausted. I stayed in a Diamond Resort property in Florida early this year and they had much better sofa be mattress, which felt pretty much the same as regular bed mattress. Marriott should be able to do the same.
This specific location has a very small breakfast area and the taste of the food was not on par with other Residence Inns for some reason. I wish the coffee remained in the lobby area after the breakfast was over, but only iced water was left. Despite minor issues we had a good time and would definitely stay here again. The Marriott Courtyard next door also looked very nice.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TP1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Markham, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear TP1234,

We are happy to hear from you and value your kind review. It is encouraging to know that your stay was enjoyable; we work hard to provide a pleasant experience. Your comments, which highlight our successes and areas for improvement, are welcomed as they foster change for the better. We appreciate being a part of your trip!

Best,
Anita Shu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    51
    24
    5
    6
See reviews for
67
24
6
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

As a long long time Marriott platinum member, the Residence brand is my favorite, until this stay. When we checked in on Sunday, we were assured an upgrade was not available because the hotel was fully booked. OK, a one bedroom at a Residence is not a bad place to stay. Until we got in the room and opened the curtains. Nice view!! The view of the roof and a trashed broken screen. The issues continued…

· 1. We were right next to the laundry room. Sitting at the desk trying to work at 9 PM at night, and listening to the banging of an unbalanced washer.

· 2. Giving a webex presentation the next morning, the housekeeper across the hall continuously let the door bang on the stopper as she went in and out – the walls here are not that thick!

· 3. This is not the typical Marriot bed – I woke up with a sore back after tossing and turning all night on an old, thin mattress. It’s not even a queen size, let alone a king size, it’s more like a full/double old bed. It doesn’t even have a typical Marriott duvet on the bed.

· 4. The air conditioning fan is SOOO loud! I tried turning it off but then woke up sweating as the room rose to 75 degrees – tried opening a window but it was stuck.

· 5. The sofas are old and sagging – can’t even sit on one without a pillow.

Bad experience at this property. The Customer Care manager, on our last night, offered us a two bedroom!! There was no way we were packing up and moving, just for one night.

Room Tip: Stay away from the laundry rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Markham, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Marie S,

I’m so sorry we disappointed you during your stay. We appreciate you giving us the opportunity to address your concerns while you were in-house. Please know that we have taken action to ensure these problems do not occur again at our hotel. I understand your frustrations and regret deeply that we let you down. We value you as our guest and hope to restore your faith in our hotel and service team.

Sincerely,
Anita Shu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We recently stayed at this Residence Inn (August 5-8). We were traveling with my in-laws so we booked a two bedroom suite. This was the perfect place for us. We were close to highways to take us where we wanted to go (Canada's Wonderland etc.) and it had everything we could ask for. I am a huge fan of Marriott hotels and stay at them whenever I can. This one did not disappoint. The front desk staff was exceptional, as well as the managers and the staff that cleaned our room. The pool and hot tub is excellent and often empty, so we could have it to ourselves. The price of the hotel includes a complimentary breakfast as well as a light dinner, three days a week (Mon-Wed). On check out we were rushing to our next destination and in my rush, I forgot a small jewelry box with a bracelet and three pairs of earrings. The cleaning staff found the box and turned it into the front desk. The manager sent the box back to me. I was over the moon.
If you want to go downtown to do the Hockey Hall of Fame, Centre Island or anything else downtown, do not drive. Especially not this summer as all of downtown Toronto is under construction and many roads are closed. Go to a park and ride like the one at Finch Street and take the Subway downtown.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Markham, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Lisa S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. It is encouraging to hear that your stay was enjoyable; our associates strive to provide a pleasant experience. I'm glad we were able to locate your personal items and return them. Your kind comments are appreciated and we look forward to a return visit.

Best,
Anita Shu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 348 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I've stayed at this place several times. It has never felt like a hotel and more like a luxurious home that you'd want to stay forever. The place is as clean as it gets, the breakfast is exceptional, the pool is great, and most importantly it offers great service. I've mostly stayed here in summers, but if you are going there in Winter I do NOT recommend it unless you have a car. It's extremely hard to walk to/from the road to the hotel in harsh Canadian weather and the bus service is terrible. I wish I could come here more often :(

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RyanFarCry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Markham, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear RyanFarCry,

I’m so glad you enjoyed our hotel and amenities! Incredible reflections like yours, which highlight strengths and areas for improvement, assist us in delivering a pleasant experience. I will share your kind remarks with the team. Thank you for your time in reviewing our hotel, and we hope to host you again soon.

Best,
Anita Shu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We often travel to stay in TO. While my husband works. We stay for 5 days at a time. This is our third time returning this summer!
I travel with my 4 young children and finding a place that has big suites to make hotel living fun is key. Pluses = room size, pool, fantastic breakfast selections, dinners Monday through Wednesday, hotel
staff is great and very helpful. The house staff named " David " has especially gone above and beyond to make our stay...we checked in at 11:30 at night..with very sleepy children.. He carried all our luggage in, brought extra bedding and towels because we have a big family, he was joyful and considerate and thoughtful..even so late at night.
Yes, as reviews mentioned it is not a new hotel..it is dated. But I am travelling on a family vacation. The value, location and what is available here in a big 2 room suite ( wifi too!) Far outwighs anything esthetic.
I highly reccomend this Residence Inn! We will be back again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcminten-adventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Markham, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear mcminten-adventures,

We are happy to hear from you and glad to know your stay was pleasant. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Your comments, which highlight strengths and areas for improvement, serve as encouragement to our associates who genuinely care about providing each guest with an enjoyable stay. I will share your kind comments with David. We look forward to your next visit.

Best,
Anita Shu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, N.Y.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Me and my gf stayed here for a couple days and were happy with our stay. I will list the pros and cons below:
Pros: Free parking, free Wi-Fi, free breakfast (which was just ok), Pool and hot tub, workout room (small), refrigerator microwave plates and so forth in our room, laundry room to do your laundry ($1.50 per load and another $1.50 to dry - both go for a half hour each), a small basketball court / tennis court, and number one on the pros list is the front desk staff. They were exceptional! Haslin was more than friendly and even help us with currency exchange. He also gave us a tip to take the subway to see the CN town, which we loved.
Cons: Breakfast waitress staff (seemed rather rude every morning and didn't want to be bothered), the bed (was too firm for our liking, but others may enjoy it), and the towels (they were ultra scratchy). One morning we went to the pool and there were no towels available, but that can be overlooked.
And there you have it - for the price, you really can't go wrong (we got our reservation from Priceline). The rooms are nice and the front desk staff really makes you feel at home. It was a good hotel to stay at if you want to be in between Toronto and the Toronto zoo. There are places to eat around the hotel, but you'll need a vehicle, as the walk could be a bit far.
Also, I was skeptical reading some of these reviews, but the hotel didn't disappoint. It does need some updating, but it's not horrible. One last tip: if you decide to go to the CN tower or downtown Toronto, drive to the Finch Street subway station and park in their lot (weekends are free!). For $3 each way, you can go all the way there. CN tower will be the Union station stop - and its a few blocks after that.
Hope this helps you. =)

Room Tip: We did Priceline and were happy with the outcome. We stayed on the 2nd floor and it was very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intension
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Markham, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review and recommendation! I’m thrilled to know your stay was pleasant and we appreciate you choosing us. Your honest feedback on areas which we can improve fosters positive change for future stays. I will be sure to share your kind comments with our entire team as they work hard to make our guests feel at home.

Best,
Anita Shu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flemington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

First time at a residence inn and was expecting it to be a cleaner and more renovated hotel since it's a marriott. not the case here... The room seemed dirty and the whole place needs to be updated and renovated. The pull out couch smelled like dogs were in here at one point. I will not return again.

Service by the staff was great though. Very courteous and friendly and attentive.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MzHui21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Markham, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for acknowledging that our associates were welcoming and nice even though you did not find our accommodations to your liking. We appreciate our guests taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback both positive and opportunities for improvement; this allows us to positively impact future guest experiences.

Best,
Anita Shu, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Markham hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Markham
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Toronto
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Toronto Markham
Courtyard Toronto Markham
#11 of 15 in Markham
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Toronto Markham
2.4 mi away
Hilton Toronto / Markham Suites Conference Centre & Spa
1.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Toronto-Markham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Toronto Markham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Toronto Markham

Property: Residence Inn Toronto Markham
Address: 65 Minthorn Blvd, Markham, Ontario L3T 7Y9, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Markham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Markham
#6 Romantic Hotel in Markham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Toronto Markham 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residence Inn Toronto Markham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Toronto Markham Hotel Markham
Residence Inn Markham
Markham Residence Inn
Residence Inn Toronto Markham Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing