We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still doing it with style”

Peter's Fine Dining
Ranked #1 of 644 Restaurants in Markham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
390 reviews
317 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Still doing it with style”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We've been going to Peter's for 20+ years and like this place despite it's shortcomings. Over the years they have kept the charm and overdone opulence that makes this a favorite when we want the traditional 'steakhouse' experience. They are always packed so reservations are recommended.
The service was a bit slow and not well coordinated. It also felt like they were pushing the second bottle of wine a bit too hard. The garlic bread is still fantastic but the filet mignon...though perfectly prepared was not as tender as expected. Deserts... Ordinary but they still do the flaming dessert/ after dinner drink show that you never see in Canada anymore.
We'll be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wild_Radek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    46
    11
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and service”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Peter's always deliver. Food quality is excellent and the service amazing! We always go to Peter's to celebrate an event. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The place to celebrate”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Whenever I want to celebrate anything special, I take my wife to Peter's. Peter's has the biggest shrimps in their shrimp cocktail. My wife loves it. Their roast beef is done to perfection. My wife likes the end cut and I like medium rare. Never a problem. The garnishments that are offered are typical - olives, pickles, garlic bread They are awesome

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IvoCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobourg, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Classic Steak & Seafood House”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Peter's is my favourite restaurant in Markham. My large lobster tail is done perfectly every time. If you are looking for the best classic steak & seafood house, this is it, with a warm wood decor, longtime staff who provide consistent topnotch service & wonderful food. Our most recent visit was for Valentine's Day. Between the two of us we had escargot, green salad with a fabulous creamy garlic dressing, steak, lobster, creme brulee, ice cream parfait & a special coffee (flamed at the table). As usual the restaurant was full with everyone, couples, families, groups of friends, being well looked after. If forced to find a flaw (however tiny), I could say that the garlic bread was a little burnt at the edges this time but literally everything else was perfect!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A long overdue visit”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I have driven past "Peters" for probably over 40 years and had no idea what an incredibly good restaurant was hidden inside. Excellent old time steak house ambiance with an excellent menue and superb service. I could live for weeks on the garlic bread and crispy dill pickles that are brought to you almost immediately.
Prices are reasonable .. dinner for 4 cost the same as lunch for 2 at Hy's the day before.
I strongly recommend Peter's .. In the tradition of Bardi's; Barberians and Tom Jones.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BarryDowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Peter's Fine Dining also viewed

 

Been to Peter's Fine Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing