We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prime Rib to "die for"!”

The School Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 639 Restaurants in Markham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$74
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Danville, California
Level Contributor
150 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Prime Rib to "die for"!”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Had a really outstanding meal with a client. Everything was especially well done. The Restaurant is in a historic 1850's school building. The ambience & decorations are First Class, as is the level of service and attention to detail. The menu is very comprehensive from fresh seafood to meat dishes. I can honestly say that I had some of the "best" prime rib I've ever had. There was only one-size offered but it was still way more than I could eat! The wine list was very nice & not over-priced. Deserts were also excellent. This is a very "upscale" dining experience but not "stuffy". Enjoy!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrmojo58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    38
    12
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
868 reviews
594 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
“Truly excellent dinner”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The restaurant had only a few diners on the Fridaay night when we were there, so it did make the place a little gloomy. However the first class food and service soon made up for that. The Coquilles St Jacques was superb with plump scallops and shrimps baked in a delicious creamy sauce. We then had the peppercorn steaks for our entrees, and they were perfectly cooked as ordered and were moist tender and tasty. The desert choice is limited to a cake trolley which is a shame. The wine list is good, although not extensive and has some interesting reasonably priced selections.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
158 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Went to The School several times over the years for celebrations. The food is delicious and staff are helpful and friendly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KrishnaS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Old school dinning”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

I love "traditional old school dining" and this is a great place to go. It's quieter atmosphere lends well to a romantic dinner or special family occasion. One of my top restaurants.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank followingnyheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My hubby proposed to me on May 3 2006 in this elegant restaurant. The service was great and food was good as well, the patio was my favorite.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CubaToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The School Restaurant also viewed

 
 

Been to The School Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing