We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Place to Stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Comfort Inn
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Cornwall
The Villages, FL
Level Contributor
129 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good Place to Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

While traveling from Maine to Michigan, my wife and I traveled through Ontario, Canada. We decided upon crossing at Cornwall, Ontario as there is less traffic there then at some of the larger ports such as Montreal or Quebec. Additionally, it is a nice ride from Maine up through New Hampshire, Vermont, and the Finger Lakes. We had made advance reservation at the Comfort Inn in Cornwall as the weekends seem to be busy in that area. Check-in at the hotel was very fast and the lobby staff was very friendly. While getting our keys, we asked for recommendation for eating nearby. One of their recommendations was the “Casa Paolo” which was a short walk across the street. (See my review.) Since the hotel is only two stories, there is no elevator. It was our mistake for not checking in advance as we had several suite cases and a cooler for food to carry upstairs. We were able to park near a side entrance and it only took two trips to get everything inside that we needed. The hotel has seen a few years but it was clean and the room comfortable. The AC unit was easily adjusted and the fan ran at a constant speed. It was what I consider low noise. We had a small problem as the deadbolt on the door would not lock. After a little pulling, pushing and lifting; we called the front desk. They said that the maintenance man was busy at the moment but would come as soon as possible. He was there in about 15 minutes. Initially he couldn’t get it to lock either but then found that if you pushed firmly (a little more then I tried) that the lock would engage. Problem solved. The bed was comfortable and the room quiet. Breakfast the next morning was pretty much standard Comfort Inn buffet. The ladies working in the breakfast room were very friendly and walked around talking to people while keeping the tables clean and the buffet stocked. Overall, this is a nice hotel to stop at for the night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Semi-Oldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucinda T, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding all that you enjoyed on your recent trip, We will be renovating in the future and are anxious for the improvements that will be offered in our rooms as well as overall property. I will pass on your positive words to our staff and look forward to seeing you again on your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    46
    52
    26
    23
See reviews for
55
63
7
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Caledonia, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We had booked a comfort inn in drummondville (newly renovated) on our drive back from the east but felt we could get further. Because the Drummmondville location was CAA recommended and was newly renovated we didn't think to confirm the condition of the comfort inn which was $20 more/night. Upon arrival I just knew this was not a lovely place to stay. The room they have us wasn't made up, the parking outside looked sketchy and dark, the people walking the halls were questionable in character and the room is old and I'm not sure if its actually well cleaned. The beds were pretty comfortable but I can't wait to get back on the road. This hotel hasn't been updated or maintained for probably 25 years and the price is steep for the quality of what we got.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christa94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucinda T, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
On behalf of the entire staff her at The Comfort Inn Cornwall, let me first thank you for your feedback, but also apologize for failing to exceed your expectations regarding your recent stay. The satsifaction of loyal Choice guests such as yourselves is important to us, and we are disheartened, when we hear that our accomodations fell short of providing a superior guest experience. We have just introduced new bedding, and are looking forward to renovations in the future , which will showcase improvments to the rooms, and overall property. We hope you will give us another chance on your next travels, to offer you the enjoyment of all that will be new.
Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments, we appreciate your honesty in your observations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cornwall hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed 4 different times on stopovers to east coast and have always found the staff, room, breakfast excellent. We seldom use hotel pools but really enjoy the large bright saltwater pool at this location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucinda T, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your review, and for posting the positive feedback about all that satisfied you while you were with us. We are pleased that you return regularly and I will pass on your compliments to the staff. We appreciate that you enjoyed the breakfast and the pool, and it is because of guests like you, that we take joy in providing a superior customer experience.
We look forward to seeing you again and wish you all the best!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Think of the Comfort Inn you stayed at in the 80s - that's this place. However, the room was clean, the indoor saltwater pool is great and the property is well maintained. This is a great family location as the property has plenty of lawn for playing catch or walking your dog. It's close to restaurants, shopping and a riverfront park in this lovely town.

Room Tip: Our room faced the main road, but was quiet. It had sliding doors to access the parking lot which s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HalifaxDoodleFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucinda T, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
We appreciate the time you took to post a review of your stay with us. We always like to hear about the positive experiences that people share with all that they were able to enjoy, and hope you will come and see us again the next time you are in town,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glencoe, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

My stay was OK and a typical experience for any Comfort Inn. The Comfort Inn is an economical stay. Rooms are clean. The bed is OK. Breakfast is included. WIFI is available. The location is convenient. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rhathaway85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
188 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

This is an older Comfort Inn. I personally have no problems with the decor as that is not what matters to me. The room was spotless. There was no dust on the furniture. The bathroom was clean and lots of room. The beds were comfortable and lots of hot water.

The breakfast was typical of Choice Hotels. The lady maintaining the breakfast area was so pleasant. She is an asset to this hotel and I hope the owners realize this. A pleasant person first thing in the morning is just the way to start the day off right.

If you don't have a problem with dated decor (supposed to be replaced within the next year I believe) then you should stay here. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Good check in and lovely front desk staff. Friendly and efficient. Great pool area and good hot breakfast. Rooms are small and need updating of linens and draperies desperately. In the plan next year I was told after complaining my bedding had burn holes and sticky stains on them. Wi fi worked fine, bathroom was good, luggage rack was rusty beyond functional. No elevator which was not explained when booking over the phone. Had ridiculous issues confirming my reservation through the 1 800 provided customer service number. I had to call long distance 3 times which was annoying. Turns out they are a franchise and not connected to the Comfort Inn customary service provisions. Comfortable mattresses, heat/air worked very well, good pillows. I would only stay again after renovations are done and at a cheaper than rack rate.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lddisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucinda T, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review after your stay at the Comfort Inn Cornwall. We are delighted to hear that you appreciated our service, especially the hot breakfast, the wi-fi, and the very friendly staff. We have recently updated our linens and are excited for additional renovations to be taking place in the future. I am sorry to heart hat you had difficulty with the Choice 800 number, I understand how frustrating it is to have issues getting a resolution over the phone.
We hope to welcome you again, next time you visit Cornwall and remain with best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cornwall
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Parkway Inn & Conference Centre
1.0 mi away
Ramada Cornwall
Ramada Cornwall
#2 of 12 in Cornwall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Cornwall ON
Super 8 Cornwall ON
#6 of 12 in Cornwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Hogansburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
9.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Massena
3.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
11.6 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 7 in Massena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 1625 Vincent Massey Dr | RR 2, Cornwall, Ontario K6H 5R6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Cornwall
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Cornwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hotel Cornwall
Comfort Inn Cornwall, Ontario
Cornwall Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing