We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't have a shower”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Cornwall
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Cornwall
1 review
“Can't have a shower”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Arrived late at night no reservation, ok was discount a small amount but no hot water for shower place smells like bleach no help from staff with hot water issue. No coffee pot place is old and musty bleach used to try and hide smell but makes it worse never stay here again

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plcjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sam b, General Manager at Howard Johnson Cornwall, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
The plumbing has a problem at 11 AM, almost checkout time. All rooms were sold at that time or we would have given another room. We had requested to give us time to fix the problem, but the guest insisted on a refund which was graciously and immediately paid to them. I am sorry, that they still felt they had to write this comment for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    6
    20
    15
    55
See reviews for
32
31
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I travel to Montreal for work quite often from Toronto. On the way back to Toronto, Cornwall makes for a decent stop for the night. I have stayed here on 3 occasions. The staff on the desk has always been very pleasant. For a budget hotel & the price I pay for the rooms, they have been pretty clean. However, the last time I stayed here I got bitten by something on the bed & the room smelled funny. On all my stays I have predominately 2 problems - 1) The shower heads don't have any water pressure so I haven't enjoyed taking a shower here & 2) I find the breakfast has a never been really fresh.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelr7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sam b, General Manager at Howard Johnson Cornwall, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
I am so glad that you have been staying with us in the past, and I will be indebted to you if we get a chance to serve you in the future. I am glad to inform you that we have brand new plumbing in most of the rooms, and the rest of the rooms will be refurbished by next week. Therefore there is now real high pressure in the showers and with new shower heads I am sure your stay with us will be a comfortable one. In addition we have changed our menu for the free breakfast and the supplier will make sure that all the supplies are changed every day, instead of on a need basis. I will be indebted to you if you will stay with us in the future as you have done in the past, and review and recommend us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, Canada
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

recently spent a night at this motel......lady on desk was extremely pleasant and very accommodating.....room was okay.....beds were comfortable......and our dog was welcome......certainly worthy of the price charged

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sophie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

I travel from London, Ontario to Saint John, New Brunswick a few times per year. Cornwall is an ideal stopping place, so I stop here every time. I have a dog, so I am forced to stay in this repulsive hotel. I have never had a successful stay with no issues. Last time I was here, the shower didn't work in my room. This time, they wouldn't put me in a room with a single bed and the alarm in the room next to me started going off at 4am and continued until I called the front desk. The beds are unclean and the whole place smells like stale cigarette smoke. This place is extremely overpriced for a disgusting and uncomfortable stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank azwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cornwall hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
plymouth, mi
Level Contributor
121 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

I needed a room outside of Montreal and chose this property based on other reviews and price as well as location. The gentleman working the front desk was friendly enough as he checked us in. The lobby seemed straight out of the early 70s though, in appearance and smell. I used the restroom in the (closed) lounge and it smelled like a dirty bar rag in there. Really kinda gross, but I carried on, hoping my room would be nicer.

When I walked into my room I was hit in the face with the overbearing smell of bleach. I mean...it was really, really strong. The room was tiny and a little dirty, but seemed habitable other than the smell. I set up my laptop and checked out the bathroom. The floor was sticky and the tile seemed to be original to the building, decades old, and just nasty. The tub looked...ok. Not coated in mold or mildew or anything, just old and worn.

I went to the lobby to borrow a hair dryer and used the hall-door (I had a hall door and an outside door) and was hit with the distinct and thick smell of cigarette smoke as soon as I walked out. Clearly someone was ignoring the rules. It was nasty.

I stuck it out - like a champ. Stayed the night, took a shower. The next morning I went to breakfast in the lounge. The spread was actually sort of extensive, but the quality of the food was less than fresh. This is, however, somewhat forgivalble with a budget chain. I don't expect an awesome breakfast spread.

I do, however, expect a clean room. The biggest problem with this place was the smells - the dirty lounge, the bleach in the room, the smoke in the hall. I know you get what you pay for, and I take that into account with every review. This, however, is a place I won't return to.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adavici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dammam, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Our family was traveling back to Toronto, and due to bad weather we had to stop. Prices of other hotels and motels were outrageous that night, trying to cash in on bad weather. We checked in this hotel, and the price was very acceptable. Hotel is very comfortable with large rooms, and they have done a lot of work with the rooms, so any harsh comments in the past are really in the past. The staff was very courteous and check in fast, since we were very tired. The room was quiet and kids loved the large screen TVs, and 100 channels on TV helped because we could entertain and watch 4 weather channels for next day. We loved this place so much we stayed an extra day. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Syed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Beds not made, dirt on beds that was already slept in, bugs in bed, non smoking sinked of stale cigarette smoke, crumbs on carpet, towels in bathroom used, bathtub cold tap was broken and toilet was dirty. Last time that I will stay at Howard Johnson!!!!

Room Tip: Stay at other hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corrine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cornwall hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Parkway Inn & Conference Centre
0.3 mi away
Ramada Cornwall
Ramada Cornwall
#2 of 12 in Cornwall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
1.7 mi away
Super 8 Cornwall ON
Super 8 Cornwall ON
#6 of 12 in Cornwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 12 in Cornwall
3.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.6 mi away
First Canada Inns
First Canada Inns
#4 of 12 in Cornwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Century Motel
Century Motel
#3 of 12 in Cornwall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Cornwall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Cornwall

Property: Howard Johnson Cornwall
Address: 1142 Brookdale Ave., Cornwall, Ontario K61 4P4, Canada (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Cornwall
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Cornwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Cornwall 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Cornwall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornwall Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Cornwall
Howard Johnson Cornwall Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing