We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of First Canada Inns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
First Canada Inns
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Cornwall
Cleveland, Minnesota
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed here two nights--and would have been glad to stay longer. The room was warm clean and comfortable, We delighted in the fireplace in our room. When I asked about restaurants the recommendation was for the one next door. "I'll pay for your meal if you don't like it." (He didn't have to pay.) We couldn't have asked for more as a place to stay on our trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank walt c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy W, Guest Relations Manager at First Canada Inns, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Walt c:
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We would love to have you back as our guests anytime. Thanks again, and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    26
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
24
36
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed here for the first time on the way to Toronto just before Christmas. The roads were terrible and we were exhausted. Checked into another motel that was awful. On the way to dinner we saw this motel looking very inviting and cosy. Stopped in and there were rooms, yeah!!!. When we checked out of the other one and moved in. There was a wonderful gas fireplace and a really comfy bed. Had an awesome nights sleep. Jim is an amazing host and has a great sense of humor. On the way home we stayed there again and will do so anytime we are in the area. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy W, Guest Relations Manager at First Canada Inns, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Lynn M:
We were so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for taking the time to give us such a wonderful review. It means a lot to all of us that you were comfortable and would return again. Thanks so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

This was my first time ever staying here and I am in as of the room as well as the friendly host. I would definitely stay here again. I would also refer others to stay at the First Canada Inns. Jim was an amazing hist and they truly live up to their moto. "We treat our guests like family". If I could I would rate my experience here a 10+.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyNana4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy W, Guest Relations Manager at First Canada Inns, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Happy Nana4:
Thank you for giving us such a great review! Jim and Brenda are wonderful hosts who always want their guests to have a comfortable and pleasant stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankford, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

I stay at First Canada Inns at least 12 times a year. Yes there are other hotels but this is the place to stay. Large rooms,clean, great shower pressure and the owners Jim and Brenda are the nicest people.
I have been staying here for the last 6 years. And I plan to keep on staying here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tom p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy W, Guest Relations Manager at First Canada Inns, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Tom p: Thanks so much for giving us such a wonderful review. We always look forward to you staying with us. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

I had a one-night stay at this inn. The room was the standard motel style room with two double beds. The room was spacious and clean. The heater worked well and the room heated up nicely. The mattress was firm and it was a very comfortable sleep. The motel is located far enough from the road that you don't hear road noise, and the train noise was very faint. All in all, a good motel to get a great night's sleep, and very convenient to the downtown core. There could be some improvements made to the decor and furniture to update them (the wallpaper was a little tattered in some spots), but minor work required.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarjoOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy W, Guest Relations Manager at First Canada Inns, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear SarjoOtttawa:
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review. We believe a great night sleep is why our guests return time after time, and we hope that the next time you're in Cornwall you will choose us again. We appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

What a terrific place to stay when you're in the Cornwall area. Quiet, large, clean rooms with practically all the comforts of home. The service was excellent. The owners Jim and Brenda were extremely helpful and friendly. The Italian restaurant next door was like the cherry on top. We enjoyed a scrumptious dinner, with wine, and walked back to our room. What could be better than that! We would love to have stayed longer, but after three nights just had to move on. Can't wait until we go back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KaBudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy W, Guest Relations Manager at First Canada Inns, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear KaBudd:
Thank you so much for giving us such a wonderful review on Tripadvisor. We always want our guests to feel like they're at home and we're happy you felt that way. We look forward to seeing you again soon, and thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed here on our way to Maine in the US. This is a 1940's motel which was restored to its natural look, Very cozy, affordable rooms which have the modern amenities of a motel with the friendliness of the owners. We truly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy W, Guest Relations Manager at First Canada Inns, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear Lyn 3: We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back for another stay soon, and thanks for taking the time to write such a wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cornwall
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Parkway Inn & Conference Centre
0.9 mi away
Ramada Cornwall
Ramada Cornwall
#2 of 12 in Cornwall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 12 in Cornwall
3.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Super 8 Cornwall ON
Super 8 Cornwall ON
#6 of 12 in Cornwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
7.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Hogansburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elect Inn 5
Elect Inn 5
#8 of 12 in Cornwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Canada Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Canada Inns

Property: First Canada Inns
Address: 1618 Vincent Massey Dr, Cornwall, Ontario K6H 5R6, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Cornwall
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Cornwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — First Canada Inns 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your First Canada Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Canada Inns Cornwall, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing