We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice”
Review of First Canada Inns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
First Canada Inns
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Cornwall
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I had occasion to experience the good service and accommodations here. Would highly recommend. Shopping, good restaurants (Boston Pizza, Casa Paulo, hotel chains with good restaurants, St. Hubert, Kelsey's, Chicken and Ribs etc), pharmacy, Tim Horton's and grocery very close. Not far from the 401 Hwy.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Walkabout2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy W, Guest Relations Manager at First Canada Inns, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Walkabout 2007: Thank you for the wonderful review and the recommendation. We hope to see you back for another stay soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

The reviews looked good so we booked online. It has seen better days. Clean room and with a gas fireplace that was not needed in July. Owner friendly but should spend some time looking after the exterior and garden.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OneGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy W, Guest Relations Manager at First Canada Inns, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear GypsySarnia: Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we do appreciate your comments. As far as our being over rated, the reviews all come from our guests, most of them recent. The gas fireplaces are appreciated for the other 3 seasons of the year. We are sorry you were disappointed by our 14 hanging baskets and numerous perennial gardens.We do mamaintain them ourselves in order to keep room rates reasonable. Our housekeeping staff were very happy that you found your room clean. We have found that cleanliness, quiet and affordability are the priorities for most travelers, and we do our best to provide that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We have never been to Cornwall before and were unsure as to where to stay for our week vacation . We were on a budget , so the high end hotels were out of the question .We looked at hundreds of reviews for the Cornwall areas budget Hotels and didn't like what we were seeing in other travellers reviews . Then we came across FIRST CANADA INNS .There was not a single bad review to be seen . We immediately contacted Jim & Brenda and asked if they had a double room available for us and they did . We arrived after driving all day in the pouring rain to the perfect room .Jim greeted us and handed us our key .Large room , modern , very clean , beautiful .Water pressure in the shower is absolutely amazing , awesome .The in room coffee maker with all the fixings is excellent . Large flat screen tv in room .We stayed four nights and each day we arrived back at our room from sight seeing , our room was back to perfect like when we first arrived . Ask Jim for anything you would like to know concerning restaurants , things to see .The Casa Paolo next door has excellent food and service , just like Jim said it would .We can't wait to go back to Cornwall again and stay with Jim and Brenda .You feel like you are a part of their family . Hugs all round when we left . We highly recommend the FIRST CANADA INNS to everyone . Dave & Darlene , Woodstock , Ontario .

Room Tip: We had room # 16 with 2 double beds , ac , fireplace , coffeemaker , microwave , fridge , large flat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy W, Guest Relations Manager at First Canada Inns, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear David T: We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your fabulous review is greatly appreciated by all the staff and especially Jim and Brenda. It's guests like you that make it all worth while. Thanks again and please come back soon for another visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed at First Canada Inn last week for business. Jim and Brenda took very good care of us. Rooms were spic and span and done up everyday. I would gladly recommend. Great price, great location and welcoming owners that care for their guests :). Thanks!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank TripAddict78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy W, Guest Relations Manager at First Canada Inns, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear TripAddict78: Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. The housekeeping staff will be so pleased with your comments. Jim and Brenda are wonderful hosts who aways try to make their guests feel like they're at home. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed at this Motel twice during a recent motorcycle trip, rooms are large and very clean. Perfect for pulling your bike right up in front of your room for security and ease of unloading. The owners(Jim & Brenda) were very friendly and we enjoyed chatting with them during our stay. This is a perfect stop over point for anyone heading East from the Toronto area with destinations being the New England States or all points East.

Special thanks to Jim & Brenda, we will be back for sure.

Steve & Kim
Mississauga, ON

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveH960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy W, Guest Relations Manager at First Canada Inns, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear SteveH960:
Your review of our motel was wonderful and much appreciated. Our guests do like the fact that our rooms are on one level and does make loading and unloading very easy. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This is the second time we stayed here we enjoyed both time. This is a great little inn. Clean,affordable and very comfortable. I would stay here anytime and recommend anyone to stay here.
From Drumheller Alberta

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chesbgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy W, Guest Relations Manager at First Canada Inns, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Chesbgr: Thank you for your recommendation and your wonderful review. It's a pleasure hosting guests like you. We'll be expecting you next time you're passing through Cornwall. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The rooms with the King size beds are very large rooms and the beds were awesome to sleep in.I then switched my room out for 1 of the vacated Little Cottages and that was even better nice and comfortable. I stayed there for a few months and found the price fair.The only thing I had an issue with was 4 or more times the cleaners did not leave toilet paper in the bathroom as they forgot it.A half roll doesn't go very far when the cottages are cleaned every 3rd day.Great Little Family run Business I would recommend to anyone.Cheers

Room Tip: The rooms with the King size beds were great and the Little cottages as well.They have a Spa or spec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy W, Guest Relations Manager at First Canada Inns, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Tim: Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your lengthy stay with us. Jim & Brenda wanted to write a note regarding our long term stay policies. We offer a reduced nightly rate for guests planning to stay a few weeks (months) with the understanding that housekeeping will not be done daily in the Efficiency units. With everyone trying to do their part for the environment, we have found that this is an agreeable option. If more service is required, we are happy to adjust our rate accordingly. Thanks for giving us the opportunity to clarify our policy and thanks again for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cornwall
1.2 mi away
Super 8 Cornwall ON
Super 8 Cornwall ON
#6 of 12 in Cornwall
189 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada Cornwall
Ramada Cornwall
#2 of 12 in Cornwall
402 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Parkway Inn & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 12 in Cornwall
225 reviews
11.6 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 7 in Massena
61 reviews
22 mi away
McIntosh Country Inn & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Canada Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Canada Inns

Address: 1618 Vincent Massey Dr, Cornwall, Ontario K6H 5R6, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Cornwall
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Cornwall
Price Range: £46 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — First Canada Inns 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your First Canada Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Canada Inns Cornwall, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing