We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable”
Review of First Canada Inns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
First Canada Inns
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Cornwall
Peterborough, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean and comfortable”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Very Good Rating is a bit stretching, but the price and cleanliness were great.

The Toilet and bath (separated from the sink/hair dryer) were very small... you had to maneuver around the door to close it which made it feel a bit claustrophobic and lacked air flow.

The decor reminded me of visiting an elderly aunt, but honestly, it's clean, so does it really matter?

The room came with a fridge and microwave, fireplace and room air conditioner which I was very surprised with.

It's a non smoking inn, but we had someone sitting on a bench outside in between our room and his, smoking outside chatting on his cell phone. I found this awkward and refrained from opening my front window, as I really like fresh air, but didn't want to get smoke in our room or listen to his conversation.

You can't beat the price for a king size bed and the space, and it's quite central to most places. The staff were exceptional and kind.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alida W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy W, Guest Relations Manager at First Canada Inns, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Alida W: Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We want all of our guests to have a comfortable and pleasant stay with us, so every review is important. Thanks again for you review and I'll be sure to pass on your concerns as well as your kind comments to the rest of the staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    26
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
24
39
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Uniontown, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The rooms are large, comfortable and spotless. The staff are genuinely friendly, always helpful and very efficient. Their excellent service and rooms make up for it. Lucky from the restaurant was also very helpful. Would definitely recommend this hotel. I would definitely come back to the hotel. Right now, considering the newness of the hotel,
I highly recommend to all!!

Room Tip: rooms are fine and Great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toshniwal2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy W, Guest Relations Manager at First Canada Inns, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear toshniwal2014: Thanks so much for writing a great review of our Inn. We hope you will return for another visit soon. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I had occasion to experience the good service and accommodations here. Would highly recommend. Shopping, good restaurants (Boston Pizza, Casa Paulo, hotel chains with good restaurants, St. Hubert, Kelsey's, Chicken and Ribs etc), pharmacy, Tim Horton's and grocery very close. Not far from the 401 Hwy.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walkabout2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy W, Guest Relations Manager at First Canada Inns, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Walkabout 2007: Thank you for the wonderful review and the recommendation. We hope to see you back for another stay soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnia, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The reviews looked good so we booked online. It has seen better days. Clean room and with a gas fireplace that was not needed in July. Owner friendly but should spend some time looking after the exterior and garden.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OneGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy W, Guest Relations Manager at First Canada Inns, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear GypsySarnia: Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we do appreciate your comments. As far as our being over rated, the reviews all come from our guests, most of them recent. The gas fireplaces are appreciated for the other 3 seasons of the year. We are sorry you were disappointed by our 14 hanging baskets and numerous perennial gardens.We do mamaintain them ourselves in order to keep room rates reasonable. Our housekeeping staff were very happy that you found your room clean. We have found that cleanliness, quiet and affordability are the priorities for most travelers, and we do our best to provide that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We have never been to Cornwall before and were unsure as to where to stay for our week vacation . We were on a budget , so the high end hotels were out of the question .We looked at hundreds of reviews for the Cornwall areas budget Hotels and didn't like what we were seeing in other travellers reviews . Then we came across FIRST CANADA INNS .There was not a single bad review to be seen . We immediately contacted Jim & Brenda and asked if they had a double room available for us and they did . We arrived after driving all day in the pouring rain to the perfect room .Jim greeted us and handed us our key .Large room , modern , very clean , beautiful .Water pressure in the shower is absolutely amazing , awesome .The in room coffee maker with all the fixings is excellent . Large flat screen tv in room .We stayed four nights and each day we arrived back at our room from sight seeing , our room was back to perfect like when we first arrived . Ask Jim for anything you would like to know concerning restaurants , things to see .The Casa Paolo next door has excellent food and service , just like Jim said it would .We can't wait to go back to Cornwall again and stay with Jim and Brenda .You feel like you are a part of their family . Hugs all round when we left . We highly recommend the FIRST CANADA INNS to everyone . Dave & Darlene , Woodstock , Ontario .

Room Tip: We had room # 16 with 2 double beds , ac , fireplace , coffeemaker , microwave , fridge , large flat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy W, Guest Relations Manager at First Canada Inns, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear David T: We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your fabulous review is greatly appreciated by all the staff and especially Jim and Brenda. It's guests like you that make it all worth while. Thanks again and please come back soon for another visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, ON
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed at First Canada Inn last week for business. Jim and Brenda took very good care of us. Rooms were spic and span and done up everyday. I would gladly recommend. Great price, great location and welcoming owners that care for their guests :). Thanks!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TripAddict78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy W, Guest Relations Manager at First Canada Inns, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear TripAddict78: Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. The housekeeping staff will be so pleased with your comments. Jim and Brenda are wonderful hosts who aways try to make their guests feel like they're at home. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed at this Motel twice during a recent motorcycle trip, rooms are large and very clean. Perfect for pulling your bike right up in front of your room for security and ease of unloading. The owners(Jim & Brenda) were very friendly and we enjoyed chatting with them during our stay. This is a perfect stop over point for anyone heading East from the Toronto area with destinations being the New England States or all points East.

Special thanks to Jim & Brenda, we will be back for sure.

Steve & Kim
Mississauga, ON

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveH960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy W, Guest Relations Manager at First Canada Inns, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear SteveH960:
Your review of our motel was wonderful and much appreciated. Our guests do like the fact that our rooms are on one level and does make loading and unloading very easy. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cornwall hotels
0.8 mi away
Ramada Cornwall
Ramada Cornwall
#2 of 12 in Cornwall
342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 12 in Cornwall
203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Parkway Inn & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Super 8 Cornwall ON
Super 8 Cornwall ON
#7 of 12 in Cornwall
172 reviews
0.6 mi away
Century Motel
Century Motel
#3 of 12 in Cornwall
43 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elect Inn 5
Elect Inn 5
#8 of 12 in Cornwall
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Canada Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Canada Inns

Property: First Canada Inns
Address: 1618 Vincent Massey Dr, Cornwall, Ontario K6H 5R6, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Cornwall
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Cornwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — First Canada Inns 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your First Canada Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Canada Inns Cornwall, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing