We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't waste your money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Walnut Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Osoyoos
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“don't waste your money”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

There just isn't anything to justify the price. Staff is mediocre, amenities mediocre, rooms nice but underwhelming and overpriced. No room service, no knowledgeable staff... if you are looking for a vacation experience go somewhere else for the money. I'm tolerant but this was sad.

Room Tip: Don't waste your money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnuts66, General Manager at Walnut Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Sorry to hear that your experience was not what you expected here at the resort. We do not normally get comments like this so I would appreciate if you could elaborate more on what our staff was lacking and what our amenities were not up to your expectations.

I can be emailed at dbrogan@walnutbeachresort.com or our toll free line is 877-936-5400.

Looking forward to hearing more about your stay.

Cheers,
Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    337
    161
    56
    37
See reviews for
391
483
18
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

First time to Walnut Resort & our family was very pleased with the spectacular view overlooking from our suites (we had 2 suites with lake view), private beach, the pool, the helpful & friendly staff, etc. Everything should deserve 5 stars, except this one little one. Today is exactly 2 weeks since our 2 night stay there & my husband, his aunt & uncle are STILL comparing their ouwee on their shins where they bumped & hurt badly from the corners of the sturdy WALNUT beds. Are we a clumsy family or other guest may have the same experience? We will still stay there next time we visit Osoyoos, but make a note to ourselves to watch for those corners...LOL

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chip_chip_cookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

After spending 3 nights at the Watermark Hotel decided to extend our stay as friends were staying at the Walnut Beach. So we joined them a couple of nights. Stay was nice. Rooms are clean, spacious and staff are friendly. Pool side was not as fun for kids compared to Watermark as it has a water slide but trade off is the private beach. Only complaint was the annoying flies. Which is expected. Overall we were happy. If friends stayed their we would join them otherwise our personal preference is Watermark only because you don't have to deal with pesky flies.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SonnyYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This is a lovely property with an excellent location right on the water. The room we got was very nice with a full kitchen. However, the location of our room was a BIG problem as there was a wedding that weekend (apparently common in summer). We were on the first floor (room 108) and were literally steps away from the kitchen service area and just down the hall from the wedding reception. Whenever the door to the reception opened, it was very loud. Staff were also loud as they served dinner and drinks and the service door opened and closed all night. The next morning, housekeeping staff were inches from our door breaking down boxes and talking loudly. When brought to their attention they stopped and seemed horrified they made this mistake. This was all brought to the managers attention and he certainly made it right by adjusting our bill substantially. If you are considering this property and it is a weekend likely to have a wedding going on, don't take a room on the first floor near rooms 106-110.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room on the first floor near 106-110 if it is a weekend as a wedding will probab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn4407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Short and sweet, we spent 2 nights here and thought it was great. The location is great for hitting up the wineries and then enjoying your purchases afterwords. The rooms are great, pool and hot tubs are great, and the licensed beach is the topper. We plan to return soon.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Len P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We recently stayed at the Walnut Beach on our 4th trip to Osoyoos. We've stayed at the Holiday Inn, Best Western and Spirit Ridge but I would pick this hotel over Spirit Ridge given its star rating is probably in the same class. The hotel has a nice pool (although a slide for the kids would be nice) as well as critical beach acccess allowing you to interchange between the two easly. The resort is in a great location and walking distance to many things. We had a nice one bedroom suite which features its own room internet access and it was great to have Telus TV in the room...made it easy given I have telus at home. The staff at the hotel are also super friendly and very helpfull. A very relaxing vacation for either a couple or a family (our kids are 10 and 7 and had a blast). Only suggestion to the hotel is to do some upkeep to the hotel (painting of scuffed walls and worn carpets) and to clean some the cob webs!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanha10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Though it was the day before high season when we visited, the underground parking electronic entrance was broken so the door remained open at all times (so much for security), ditto on the door that was supposedly locked from the pool/beach area. Bathroom floor wasn't that clean. Am guessing the same goes for the kitchen floor. Nice large tub in the bathroom, but the shower curtain was intended for a regular size tub! Full size tub was a bit challenging to get into as there was no grab bar. Wifi, while free, wasn't consistently strong. View was incredible. Note that some of the lake view balconies may "look into" another balcony as the balcony over the outdoor cafe is pushed a bit forward and the one next to it is placed closer to the building. Front desk staff were extremely helpful. Was disappointed that a high end resort town didn't include high end restaurants and shops. Perhaps we just didn't know where to look.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank baseballfantoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osoyoos hotels
1.6 mi away
Watermark Beach Resort
1.6 mi away
Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort
1.2 mi away
Coast Osoyoos Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Sunrise Inn
2.0 mi away
Super 8 Osoyoos
Super 8 Osoyoos
#9 of 26 in Osoyoos
323 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday inn Hotel & Suites Osoyoos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walnut Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walnut Beach Resort

Property: Walnut Beach Resort
Address: 4200 Lakeshore Dr, Osoyoos, British Columbia V0H 1V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Osoyoos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Osoyoos
#3 Business Hotel in Osoyoos
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Osoyoos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Osoyoos
#7 Family Hotel in Osoyoos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Walnut Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Walnut Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walnut Beach Hotel Osoyoos
Walnut Beach Osoyoos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing