We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Walnut Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Osoyoos
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Amenities and extra services are not consistent with a high end hotel. Some inexpensive motels have more amenities and extra services.

For example, the ice machine on our floor was broken during our 5 night stay. Instructions in the hotel room focussed on theft control. If I am paying over $200 a night I don't think I want their cookware. Seems odd.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank folkbrucie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

801 - 807 of 1,258 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

The resort is very nice. Pool and bar patio area is very with a lovely view over the lake. There were 3 of us in one room - 1 double bed and a sofa bed. This was ok for one night, but any more than that would have been too much. We ate at the resort because there is nothing else within walking distance. Service from reception and bar staff was very good.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CEL67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The resort was lovely and we really enjoyed our stay. The food in the restaurant was delicious, the rooms were beautiful.

Our only complaint was that we think the staff needs to kick it up - very hit and miss on the service. It felt like there was a lot of summer students (perhaps maturity was an issue) who didn't really care, some were really unprofessional (commenting on how much we were paying for food) and the inconsistent service was annoying considering the price of hotel and the image they were putting forward. One example, I was emailed regarding a Guest Experience Team that can assist with reservations and then when we used the number we were told they don't help with reservations. It wasn't until we mentioned that service was advertised to us in an email that they helped us. We thought if the staff overall kicked it up just a little, they'd be a great hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Walnut Beach Resort. Staff were friendly and welcoming. Loved covered parking in the heat. Housekeeping was a wee bit too early in the morning. Room was very well equipped; we wished we had brought some salt and pepper though. It was unfortunate that the pool was closed two of the five days we were guests; leaving us to travel to public beaches elsewhere as the resort beach was full. We would recommend this as a great family resort with all the amenities, close to wineries and fruit stands and all that a lakefront property has going for it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Our overall stay was great, only hiccup we had was the miscommunication for the babysitting services we had pre-requested (Turned out our request was never acted on and they didn't book it or no one knew about it).
Other than that, our kids loved the heated pool and playing on the beach.
Food at the restaurant was good especially with the sunset view over the lake.
We didn't stay long enough to take advantage of the whole Osoyoos experience.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The location and view were amazing but the service needs improvement. When we arrived the pool was murky and not clean. Staff kept assuring us it was safe to swim but an inspector from the City of Osoyoos came out on August 5,2014 and immediately shut down the pool. We had issues with the door not locking properly....not sure we would stay there again considering the per night cost.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

First of all I am not trying to be bitter I am just trying to give an honest review based on our family experience at this resort...

What a disappointment this resort was. I don’t see how this can even be classified as a resort. We recently paid full price for a weekend at this resort, I specifically booked in advance and paid for a lake view room and we were put into room 107 which is a ground floor room with a view of the outside bar/grill with no view of the lake, we had to keep our patio door locked and blinds drawn shut the whole time as people would constantly come up and try to peer into our window thinking it was a common area of the resort, some guests went as far as trying to open our patio door thinking this was another entrance due to the terrible location of this room. I think this room has to be the worst situated room in the whole resort.

Some other CONS:

-Rented 1 bedroom suite for a family of 4 (2 adults, a toddler and a baby) very small hardly enough room to walk around bed.

-Spiders and webs everywhere in room.

-Centipede found in bed right after checking in.

-Found someone else’s hair all over bathroom.

-Dirty floors and carpets, found food crumbs from previous guests in kitchen and extremely dirty floors in bathroom. Based on the overall cleanliness we purchased disposable dishware and cutlery.

-Noisy suite, A/C sounds like a tank and our room was next to kitchen.

-No lights on outdoor patio so expect to be sitting in pitch dark.

-No breakfast available on site.

-Difficult to order meals, Tapas bar/grill closes early (9:30 pm on a Saturday night)

-Disorganized and unhappy staff, once again being right next to bar/grill had no choice to overhear many conversations of staff griping about their jobs.

-Average size truck wouldn’t fit in underground parking.

-Dirty and grimy pool.

-Seems to cater more to drinking crowds and weddings than families.

Usually when on vacation we are sad to leave but in this case we couldn't get back home soon enough! Overall not worth 400 plus a night, save your money and stay elsewhere!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osoyoos hotels
1.6 mi away
Watermark Beach Resort
1.6 mi away
Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort
1.2 mi away
Coast Osoyoos Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Sunrise Inn
1.0 mi away
Sun Beach Motel
Sun Beach Motel
#20 of 26 in Osoyoos
61 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday inn Hotel & Suites Osoyoos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walnut Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walnut Beach Resort

Address: 4200 Lakeshore Dr, Osoyoos, British Columbia V0H 1V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Osoyoos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Osoyoos
#3 Business Hotel in Osoyoos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Osoyoos
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Osoyoos
#7 Family Hotel in Osoyoos
Price Range: £79 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Walnut Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Walnut Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walnut Beach Hotel Osoyoos
Walnut Beach Osoyoos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing