We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“family holiday”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Osoyoos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Poplars Motel On The Lake
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Osoyoos
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“family holiday”
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We want to say what a wonderful time we had again July 28th to August 7th, 2012 at the Poplars in Osoyoos, B.C. It is a safe, clean, family orientated place to stay. The managers are very kind
and always there if you need anything extra, 24hours a day 7 days a week. They are amazing!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, as the Poplar's is beachfront, so we spend all our time on the beach. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cupcakes413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    37
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
60
35
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chilliwack
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

There are a lot of hotel/motel options in Osoyoos---trendy new resorts like the Watermark and the Walnut Beach or chain hotels like the Holiday Inn and the Coast. But, if you are looking for somewhere to stay with a friendly, family feeling, join the many people that return here year after year for their beach holiday. Located at the less crowded end of the strip of hotels, this older motel has a large lawn with BBQ's and picnic tables, and a nice stretch of sandy beach lined with poplar trees that provide welcome shade on very hot afternoons. The rooms are basic but large, clean and affordable, with full kitchens and outside seating. If you don't have small children and don't mind climbing stairs, try to stay on the second or third floor or book a room in the newer section for views of the lake. The long time managers, Frank and Cindy, are personable, and friendly, greeting many of their guests by name and remembering them from summer to summer! The young cleaning staff are helpful, thorough and accommodating.The motel is located within walking distance of restuarants, grocery stores, fruit stands ,the Sage pub and Rattlesnake Canyon amusement park,so you could park your car here and not move it for the duration of your stay! We have booked again for next year-our 5th summer at the Poplars-- and look forward to long days of sun and sand, BBQ's on the lawn, and sunset cocktails overlooking the lake!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FifiandChamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

i recently stayed at the Poplars Motel ,it was my first time in OSOYOOS ,i must say i really enjoyed my stay ,in no small part thanks to the managers of this clean and comfortable motel . they were very nice people ,really friendly and helpfull .The motel itself was older ,but very clean with an excellent location .it was real hot during my stay ,having the lake right outside your door was awesome ,lol ,i will definitely be going back to the poplars ,probably with a guest next time .i highly recomend the poplars....mostly because of the staff and managers ...very easygoing and genuine people

Room Tip: reguardless of where your room is .....the lake is close by ,lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Off season this is a most relaxing, warm and friendly accomodation, with beach & lake access, have their own shaded lawn with BBQs & picnic tables. Rooms are clean, good cleaning service, mini kitchen, updated rooms and fantastic scenery. During summer a great place for families.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyla V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelownelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Every May, my 4 girlfriends and I head to Osoyoos and stay at The Poplars Motel by the lake, which, in our opinion, is the best place to stay in Osoyoos. We check in to our rooms, get out the wine and appies, sit at the picinc table on the lawn and enjoy the beautiful scenery. We have a great time! If the weather is cool or windy, we gather in one of the rooms. The next morning we walk the beach for breakfast at the Best Western, which has a nice restaurant overlooking the lake, then walk to town and a look in the many fun shops. On the way back to the motel, we stop at Osoyoos Gelato for Rob's world famous gelato. My favourite is hazelnut! Back at the motel we again sit on the lawn or at the beach for afternoon appies. That evening we go to Campo Marina for dinner, a super place within walking distance of the motel. The next day, after breakfast we drive back to Kelowna, stopping a Tickleberry's in O.K. Falls, for a delicious cone. It is a perfect 2 day get-away. One of my highlights, is going outside late at night and looking at the stars. It is a special place. The managers, Frank and Cindy, are really good people.
Give it a try and look for the "Sleeping Indian" in the mountain across the lake.
Hilary Maranda, Kelowa, B.C.

Room Tip: We like the Beach House, close to the beach and lawn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HillBilly2549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Stayed for May long weekend with 5 girls, you can practicly jump into the water you are so close to the beach, it slept 5 great and has kitchenette/tv/kitchentable. Don't expect any fancy decor, it is all old paint old furniture but who cares when it's clean and that close to the beach and pub. Family owned, they were so nice! We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Not what we expected! It's noisy, average room, too expensive for what you a. Not very clean either; spiders cover the entire building, a simple service with no class, old televisions and sheets are yellow. And the worst it's very windy. There are many hotels, Osoyoos has the best quality and price. We will never again have this Motel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osoyoos hotels
0.6 mi away
Watermark Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Coast Osoyoos Beach Hotel
1.0 mi away
Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunrise Inn
1.0 mi away
Lakeview Motel & Suites
Lakeview Motel & Suites
#9 of 26 in Osoyoos
173 reviews
1.1 mi away
Walnut Beach Resort
Walnut Beach Resort
#4 of 26 in Osoyoos
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poplars Motel On The Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poplars Motel On The Lake

Property: Poplars Motel On The Lake
Address: 6404 Cottonwood Drive, Osoyoos, British Columbia V0H 1V0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Osoyoos
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Osoyoos
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Poplars Motel On The Lake Hotel Osoyoos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing