We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good price”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Osoyoos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Richter Pass Motor Inn
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Osoyoos
Red Deer, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good location, good price”
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Older motel located on a nice beach. We just stopped for one night as we were in transit. The kitchenette was not very well equipped. The bed was very comfortable. The price was right. We were satisfied with the room.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    8
    5
    6
    2
See reviews for
10
10
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We've have stayed here many times over the years and are never dissappointed! Excellent value for the money, the rooms are clean, the staff are welcoming. The beach is the best on the strip!! Great stay as always.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travtrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

I stayed at both The Richter Pass Motel and The Falcon for at least a week.

These motels are on "motel row". They don't have room service or anything fancy. Sometimes you can have $10 knocked off if you tell them you don't want your room serviced every day. But these motels are extremely popular choices for a whole lot of reasons, location and price being the top two. If you stay at a hotel on motel row, you don't have to drink and drive! The three most popular late night hangouts are a short walk away: 1) The Wine Bar at Watermark; 2) The Sage Pub; and 3) Breezes Pub. The Wine Bar at The Watermark and Breezes Pub are literally across the street from one another.

They take drinking and driving very seriously in Osoyoos; there are police vehicles everywhere at night so be careful about speeding, wearing your seatbelt and drinking and driving.

Here's the skinny on these two hotels:
1. The Richter Pass was slightly cheaper and the rooms are slightly better. I stayed in three different rooms at The Falcon and only one at the Richter
2. The Falcon/Spanish Fiesta has two very good swimming pools. The Richter (like every other Motel on Motel Row) only has a private, very satisfactory sandy beach but no swimming pools. I prefer sitting by a pool while many others prefer to sit on the beach. It's a personal thing. In my mind, the pools - which are the best on the strip I might add, are a major plus for The Falcon.
3. You can't write about Motel Row without also writing about the management of the hotels. This isn't the big city with fancy computers and bellhops. No, they write your reservation in an accounting ledger with pencil if it's tentative and in pen if your reservation is confirmed. It's old school so you bet you get to know the managers because you see them around all the time. Don't get me wrong, I really like the management of the Falcon. But management at the Richter Pass is way more hands off; they never once told me to turn the music down or gave me a hard time about having people over, which I thought was pretty cool. The Richter has some "patio apartments" that are boxed in by concrete walls so even right outside your room you get a high degree of privacy while still being able to take in the sun. They also let me park my car there for over a week while I took a side trip and were totally chill with it, absolutely no problemo.

On Motel Row, the Richter is a good bet if you're in the $119 range. A room not quite as nice will run you $139 at The Falcon, but you also get access to the Falcon's pristine swimming pools.

Room Tip: Get a room with a patio for more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YanniBananni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pincher Creek, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We have stayed at this place many times and have always enjoyed our stay. However, the owners don't seem to care about the place nor it's guests anymore. We stayed here last summer with 6 adults in a 2 bedrm condo for a week. The bathroom was not cleaned once!! yuck. On this trip I asked if the rooms and bathroom would be cleaned and the woman at the desk said 'oh yeah'. Were they cleaned? nope. We had to ask them to make the bed! When we were checking out, I was waiting outside and another guest had gone into the laundry area to ask the housekeepers if THEIR room was going to be cleaned!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank giggly1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Osoyoos hotels

Coquitlam, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Oven/stove did not work. Only were given about 1/4 of the Kitchen utensils the other rooms received. Booked 2 twin beds, given one and told the fold-out cot counted as a bed. If the cot had actually worked and didnt pull out and rest at a 45 degree angle, it would have been acceptable. However, it was so small that Gary Coleman's knees would have been hanging off the end. Manager made a point of lecturing us for drinking alcohol before 5pm. 4 bbq's, air compressor for floaties, and being located right on the beach was a nice touch, but unfortunately this place is almost as terrible as the Pizza Factory down the road.

Room Tip: As far away from the front office as possible,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank B-Row016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Delta .Britsh Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2011

In over 2 decades which has seen us come in small groups to as many as 30 people.
The Richter Pass Motor Inn has always provided the perfect venue for some of my fondest memories

One of the few original Motels still left on the best part of the beach. The soft sandy beach flows into the shallow warm water making it idea for children to play in and perfect for dipping into on those 100 degree summer days. This mature Motel offers the best in price and customer service and seems to draw the right type of people that make for a friendly and enjoyable experience.

I have raised my children on this beach and along the way made many a new friends .Experienced every thing from boating ,Water-skiing , Jet skiing to just sun tanning on the beach with a few cold beverages.

Just a small warning this is one of those places that once you visit , It impossible to stop coming back

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4pointbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

With extended family and friends we have stayed at Richter Pass for more than a decade, same week in July every year. Children became young adults and continued to come along with their friends, some of us became grandparents with small toes tip-toeing on the beach again. Until summer of 2010, with new management team, who saw us as annoying bunch of no-bodies, constantly re assuring us of their power to shut down, put on the sprinklers and throw us out of the property, if we wouldn't stand and sit to their likings. 10 years ago, we would sing and dance on the lawn and on the beach at nights, we would even play survivor game for a whole week on the beach,to much joy to other residents. Last year we would sit and chat about old times and sipping our wine. But yet that was to bothersome for the new management team, so when we (20 people) were settling our account, we were told that we were not welcome any more. To seal that we received a letter from the actual owners, who told us we were not even allowed to step our feet into their property.
What a way to treat loyal customers - shame on them.
Location is wonderful, everything else, including rooms, service and cleanliness need serious renovation.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Grettir8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osoyoos hotels
0.0 mi away
Coast Osoyoos Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Watermark Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Sunrise Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort
0.2 mi away
Sun Beach Motel
Sun Beach Motel
#22 of 26 in Osoyoos
60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday inn Hotel & Suites Osoyoos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richter Pass Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richter Pass Motor Inn

Property: Richter Pass Motor Inn
Address: 7506 Main Street | Box 480, Osoyoos, British Columbia V0H 1V0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Osoyoos
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Osoyoos
Number of rooms: 47

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing