We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic & clean, but great beach!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Osoyoos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Richter Pass Motor Inn
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Osoyoos
Vancouver
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Basic & clean, but great beach!”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We had stayed at Richter Pass Motor Inn in past years, before the condos were ever added. The rooms were clean, and the service was excellent. The rooms themselves in the older section are a little dated, but were always comfortable and we always felt safe.
We just booked ourselves into their 2-bedroom condo - during low season. The room rate was amazing! The room itself was very comfortable and very spacious. There are easily accessible bbq's around the entire property. We opted for the one located below our patio. The beach was located 20m from our room, and there was more than sufficient amount of parking.
The lake was still warm and goes no deeper than an average persons rear. The sandy beach was clean, and in the evenings the local ducks seem to be more than a little comfortable enough to come up and eat right out of your hand!
There is a couple of supermarkets nearby, a liquor store and if you are out and about for the wineries, I would recommend pairing the menu of the evening with a bottle or 2 of wines....there are also heaps of fruit and vegetable stalls, and I must say that the produce truly is amazing and fresh!

Room Tip: The view towards the lake and mountains really is a beautiful sight, especially when you can dine on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank unitednationsofwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    7
    5
    6
    2
See reviews for
10
10
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Great sandy beach, Relaxed atmoshpere.
We have been coming to this hotel for 20 years.
Feels like home every time. There are rooms with fully
equipped kitchens, however if you are staying for a week or more
I would recommend bringing a few kitchen luxury's from home.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laurie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2012

First time to Osoyoos and first time staying at the Richter Pass Motor Inn. Had gone to meet up with other family members who were camping at Haynes Point. Motel had everything we needed, boat parking, bed, shower and facilities to make meals for 8. The 2 bbq's they provide in the parking lot definitly came in handy at supper time. Walk 30 seconds through the parking lot to the beauitful sandy beach which made it a breeze with small children. We didn't find the beach overly busy but we were down there at 9 am every moring till 5 pm every night. Considering we were only in the room to sleep and shower in the evening the price was right. I guess if you require turn down service and a mint on your pillow every night you could stay at the Coast which is right beside the Richter for $350.00 a night during peak times. We were content to pay $109.00 a night for our three day stay. Would absolutely stay there again, planning on making it an annual trip and the Richter Pass Motor Inn has a lot to do with that decision.

Room Tip: If you can get a room on the ground floor a bit easier to load and unload your belongings but then a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquitlam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Could use some upgrades. Great beach near the canal if you enjoy the crowded Osoyoos strip. Lots of families, probably a better budget choice for large groups looking to park it for a few days. Pricey, but what beach motel isn't in Osoyoos over summer?

Room Tip: Avoid the street-side rooms if possible. Lots of road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Al G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Older motel located on a nice beach. We just stopped for one night as we were in transit. The kitchenette was not very well equipped. The bed was very comfortable. The price was right. We were satisfied with the room.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We've have stayed here many times over the years and are never dissappointed! Excellent value for the money, the rooms are clean, the staff are welcoming. The beach is the best on the strip!! Great stay as always.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travtrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

I stayed at both The Richter Pass Motel and The Falcon for at least a week.

These motels are on "motel row". They don't have room service or anything fancy. Sometimes you can have $10 knocked off if you tell them you don't want your room serviced every day. But these motels are extremely popular choices for a whole lot of reasons, location and price being the top two. If you stay at a hotel on motel row, you don't have to drink and drive! The three most popular late night hangouts are a short walk away: 1) The Wine Bar at Watermark; 2) The Sage Pub; and 3) Breezes Pub. The Wine Bar at The Watermark and Breezes Pub are literally across the street from one another.

They take drinking and driving very seriously in Osoyoos; there are police vehicles everywhere at night so be careful about speeding, wearing your seatbelt and drinking and driving.

Here's the skinny on these two hotels:
1. The Richter Pass was slightly cheaper and the rooms are slightly better. I stayed in three different rooms at The Falcon and only one at the Richter
2. The Falcon/Spanish Fiesta has two very good swimming pools. The Richter (like every other Motel on Motel Row) only has a private, very satisfactory sandy beach but no swimming pools. I prefer sitting by a pool while many others prefer to sit on the beach. It's a personal thing. In my mind, the pools - which are the best on the strip I might add, are a major plus for The Falcon.
3. You can't write about Motel Row without also writing about the management of the hotels. This isn't the big city with fancy computers and bellhops. No, they write your reservation in an accounting ledger with pencil if it's tentative and in pen if your reservation is confirmed. It's old school so you bet you get to know the managers because you see them around all the time. Don't get me wrong, I really like the management of the Falcon. But management at the Richter Pass is way more hands off; they never once told me to turn the music down or gave me a hard time about having people over, which I thought was pretty cool. The Richter has some "patio apartments" that are boxed in by concrete walls so even right outside your room you get a high degree of privacy while still being able to take in the sun. They also let me park my car there for over a week while I took a side trip and were totally chill with it, absolutely no problemo.

On Motel Row, the Richter is a good bet if you're in the $119 range. A room not quite as nice will run you $139 at The Falcon, but you also get access to the Falcon's pristine swimming pools.

Room Tip: Get a room with a patio for more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YanniBananni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osoyoos hotels
0.0 mi away
Coast Osoyoos Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Watermark Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Sunrise Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Holiday inn Hotel & Suites Osoyoos
1.1 mi away
Walnut Beach Resort
Walnut Beach Resort
#5 of 26 in Osoyoos
1,108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandy Beach Motel
Sandy Beach Motel
#1 of 26 in Osoyoos
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richter Pass Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richter Pass Motor Inn

Property: Richter Pass Motor Inn
Address: 7506 Main Street | Box 480, Osoyoos, British Columbia V0H 1V0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Osoyoos
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Osoyoos
Number of rooms: 47

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing