We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't be going back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Watermark Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Osoyoos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Despite having several negative experiences over the years we've never felt it necessary to write a comment on a hotel.

We were looking forward to our stay at the Watermark, having pre-booked for 7 nights. The booking experience was easy and the staff seemed very helpful. Upon arrival, the one bedroom condo our family was given was on the back (street side) with a nice view of a tattoo parlour. Albeit this is what we paid for, but on request for a new room we were graciously upgraded with a two bedroom condo, which was well appointed, large and clean, it was on the side of the hotel with a view of the Gyro park and some of the lake. The house keeping was inconsistent (we had to call for towel replacements or garbage that wasn't picked up) but otherwise the condo was clean.

Unfortunately, Osoyoos was experiencing some of the coolest, wettest start to the summer in years, and that was reflected in the deserted beaches and hotel swimming pool. It wasn't until near the end of our stay when the weather greatly improved and starved for hot sun we extended our stay for two extra nights, which turned out to be the hottest days of the trip. We cancelled reservations we had in Radium (we had to pay a cancellation fee, but we felt the hot weather in Osoyoos would make up for it). Perfect timing for the resort to use a cement saw and jack hammer in the pool area to repair a broken water line. No warning to the guests or recognition by management for the inconvenience. During our brief time at the pool we observed and spoke with several other guests/ families, who had to leave because of the intolerable noise and flying grit. We have two small children and the noise frightened them, so on the sunniest, hottest day of the trip we basically had to avoid the pool.

I went to the front desk to complain but the hotel manager, Paul was unavailable. I later called for him, but was instead given his voice mail. I relayed my concerns and asked him to contact me. We concluded our vacation two days later, still without a response from Paul. Hardly the behaviour I would expect from a professional and hotel trying to come off as world class.

One last note, we were of the understanding, as stated right on the hotel's website, that 'all suites are non-smoking'. To our disgust, our immediate neighbors upwind from us were chain smokers. Breakfast, noon and supper, they were there. When we complained to the front desk, we were met with a shrug and told that smoking was allowed on the balconies ... we were also reminded that we had already been upgraded!! What kind of a response was that?? As such, the balcony was unusable.

If you don't mind smokers (in a smoke free resort) polluting your lakeside air, and management who decides to make major repairs without caring for their guests inconvenience then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank surferdude1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PScanlon, Manager at Watermark Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your comment about your recent stay with us. It is certainly unfortunate that, amongst other challenges, we seem to have had a communication breakdown. I did in fact receive your message but it is clear that you did not receive mine. I had left you a voice message apologizing and explaining the unfortunate incident and timing surrounding an emergency pipe repair on our deck with an offer for you and your family to dine with us in the Wine Bar with the hopes that we could make amends for the lost day you had with your family and the enjoyment of our pool deck. It is with sincere regret that this message and offer did not make it to you.

I would like to once again offer my apologies for this unfortunate experience and will contact you via email to discuss further.

Best Regards,
Paul Scanlon
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,477)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,394 - 1,400 of 1,477 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2011

Great one bedroom suite, quiet, comfortable, well appointed and super clean. We had a delightfull meal in the wine bar / lakeside terrace. Hotel has a interesting location, one side facing the lake immediately behind the public beach the other on main street with several nice restaurants and stores, on top of this it was a very good value. We will be back, probably for a week next time.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

My wife and I stayed at Watermork Beach Resort for 3 nights...here is our honest review:
The Room: A spacious 1 bedroom room with all the amenities that we would expect from a 3.5 star resort, nothing more and nothing less. Full kitchen, king bed...etc.
The resort: no bicycle rental, and the beach was completely flooded, although the restaurant was not half bad, with good wine and apps...a good 3.5 star resort.
the location: convienintly located close to all that you need on osoyooos, with ice cream shops and grocery shops and boat rentals just a short walk away.

I think all in all, this is a great resort. The most luxurious and secluded resort is Spirit Ridge, but Watermark is much better value for money if that is imporant for you!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

The Watermark is truly a hidden gem in the Okanagan! We were there for the wine festival and found the Watermark to be a delightful surprise. The room was spacious and clean, the amenities were plentiful. The only drawback is the menu at the Bar and Grill on the main floor could use a bit more variety.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank minus30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We were there meeting our son and his family, this property works for us as seniors, and for them as a young family. Right on the beach, with wonderful beach side walkways, terrific pool area with a fun and safe slide but with plenty of swimming area for all. The rooms were lovely, big and spacious with a balcony equipped with nice outdoor furniture. The suite was fully equipped, with kitchens, stove, dishwasher and our suite had a washer and dryer, a nice surprise, which we used since we had been on the road for a week. This is a new development and the spa and restaurant are not yet opened. The wine bar is open and it does have a food menu. I would highly recommend stopping at the Watermark, Osoyoos in a wonderful resort town, and this development is smack dab in the middle of town right on the beach. Great location.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarilynVancouverBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Stayed here for the first time as the Hotel was offering discounted prices after newly opening. We arrived to check in only to be told we were being upgraded to a one bedroom suite. Very nice room with everything supplied. Full kitchen, tub/shower, flat screen tv, and a beautiful deck, big enough to seat four people, with a lake view. We had a few problems, nothing major while we were settling in, and they were cleared up very quickly. The front desk was very helpful, and friendly. We would stay here again, but only if they provided a little softer bed. That was my one complaint. I like a firm bed, but this was more like concrete. After check out I was asked if we enjoyed our stay, while I said everything was great except for the bed, she immediately recorded this on her computer, I thought that was a nice reaction, not dismissive at all, like some other places we have stayed at. Overall, a good value, great location, and easy walk into the small town of Osoyoos. We go almost every year, and usually stay at another resort, but this one was lovely.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We went to Kelowna for my sister's birthday and decided to take a day trip to Osoyoos and stay overnight in a regular suite. The resort is beautiful. The rooms were amazing-everything is new and classy and it has all the amenities you could possibly need. The kitchen is well appointed with fridge, stove, dishwasher and microwave. Comfortable king size bed. Large patio with seating for four and we had a sliver of a view. Resort is steps away from the water. The bathroom was comfortable with large rain shower type head in the shower/bath. We brought our dog and a bowl and treat as well as doggie bags were waiting. There is a nice walk around the lake from here if you follow the path toward the bridge. I forget where you turn but it's nice to be able to walk. I would have given 5 stars but I think business is down so the wine bar/cafe seemed to be closed when we were there. Also, I think there is supposed to be a restaurant but it wasn't open. We did a lot of walking in Osoyoos down various trail systems. I didn't find a lot to do there. It has potential to be something more one day but is still very small town. No reflection on the resort of course. Just an observation. I thought there would be more trendy shopping and cool restaurants but upon our arrival on Sunday I couldn't find anything more than Subway and Smitties for lunch. Maybe we were looking in the wrong place but we tried...a lot was closed around lunch time.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tnel011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osoyoos hotels
1.4 mi away
Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort
0.4 mi away
Coast Osoyoos Beach Hotel
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Sunrise Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Osoyoos
Super 8 Osoyoos
#8 of 26 in Osoyoos
361 reviews
1.6 mi away
Walnut Beach Resort
Walnut Beach Resort
#5 of 26 in Osoyoos
1,254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday inn Hotel & Suites Osoyoos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watermark Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermark Beach Resort

Address: 15 Park Place, Osoyoos, British Columbia V0H 1V0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Osoyoos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Osoyoos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Osoyoos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Osoyoos
#2 Business Hotel in Osoyoos
#2 Family Hotel in Osoyoos
Price Range: £88 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Watermark Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the South Okanagan “good life” at the Okanagan resort that defines easy living, where attention to detail and personal service is as unmatched and unique as the experience and amenities at Watermark. Watermark Beach Resort is committing to offering wellness to all their guests; our yoga/Pilates studio and gym provide endless options for all levels and needs, in the studio and in the sunshine, Kayak and SUP rentals available. Experience the Watermark difference. You’re steps to everything: beach, dining, shopping, marina, and groceries for your full gourmet kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Watermark Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watermark Beach Hotel Osoyoos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing