We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd annual Watermark getaway was amazing!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Watermark Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Osoyoos
Certificate of Excellence
kelowna
2 reviews
“2nd annual Watermark getaway was amazing!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

We had our 2nd annual weekend at Watermark this month and once again it was perfect!! We decided to return to Watermark for our getaway this year because we had a such a great time last year and are really glad we did!! Lakeside townhouse steps from the sandy beach, amazing meals at the Wine Bar, pool side spa treatments and the friendliest staff I've ever dealt with...what more can you ask for!

We will definitely be back next year!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessevKelowna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    855
    338
    102
    40
    21
See reviews for
413
599
27
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, BC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

For the 2nd straight year we did our trip to Watermark. For the 2nd straight year it was a hit. We rented a beach front townhouse and the amenities are fantastic. Not to mention the fact that there is a grocery and liquor store right around the corner. Making meals in our town house was the best part of the trip! There was even a beautiful wedding right in front of our town house on the Saturday. At first I was a little concerned they were setting up there, but the staff did an incredible job tearing down the set up minutes after the party cleared out. We are already planning year 3! Thanks again Watermark Staff!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mich150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

One bedroom lakeview suite. Given an inside corner room. Probably a bit more spacious than others being on the corner, less light though because of neighbouring patios in the view line. Could still see some of the lake and pool. Room amenities very good including the full kitchen and two nice TVs.

Bathroom had a couple of issues - the high end Kohler fixtures actually problematic - the shower is of the handheld type that clips onto on a vertical pole. Problem with the connecting bit being broken due to poor design and the showerhead way too heavy. Also the pole didn't seem mounted high enough on the wall for an average height person to really get under the shower head even at the top position. Tile work in the shower stall has some issues despite being new - multiple little tiles coming off due to poor grout/seal job. Both of these issues would have been very obvious to the housekeeper and were present on our arrival, but we were the first to report them to maintenance. Maintenance did come very promptly and provided excellent service.

Front desk staff very pleasant and friendly but not so slick. Room "ready"but not inspected when we arrived at 4:45. So not really ready. So we had to wait briefly for the room to be inspected. Were given our keys but receptionist said she wasn't allowed to give us the room number. Following inspection approval, they seemed to forget that we had not been given the room number telling us we can go to the room now. And then directions to get to the room weren't very specific .They do have a little room map behind the counter, perhaps might be better to keep it up on the counter to actually show people where they are going as it is a reasonably big facility.

One surprise at checkin - despite being charged one nights rate deposit well in advance of arrival, upon arrival my credit card was immediately rung in for the second night as well as $200 extra for "incidentals". But then this was described as just "preauthorization" not a real charge. I'm aware of preauthorization practices, I'm just not used to actually having the card rung through the machine and sign the credit slip receipt itself in a resort. Am used to providing a card and signing a hotel paper indicating responsibility for payment. Perhaps they have had problems before with nonpayment. In any event, it made me uncomfortable with using "express" checkout as I actually wanted a receipt with the true amount due/paid on it (one night's stay) before leaving the place to ensure we weren't getting any mystery incidental charges. At neither checkin nor checkout did the reception staff provide a sheet showing the amount due BEFORE running the card through. At checkout they asked me if I had a credit card on file for payment. I assumed they would have known that.

Appetizers in the Winebar were excellent. Facilities seemed clean and modern.

Internet connection seemed to work ok, however was not able to connect to Facebook through their system - error/restricted access by administrator kept popping up on both the computer and i-phone. Not sure what that was all about. Other sites worked fine.

Room Tip: lake view seems worth it if on vacation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuefromBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homer, Alaska
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

What can I say? What's not to love when you get upgraded from a single king suite to a 2 bdrm king apt? The place was well kept and had nice amenities. Beautiful setting in BC Wine country. Wished it had breakfast on-site, but the walk down along the lake to a neigboring hotel was enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank datraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CANADA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

Despite having several negative experiences over the years we've never felt it necessary to write a comment on a hotel.

We were looking forward to our stay at the Watermark, having pre-booked for 7 nights. The booking experience was easy and the staff seemed very helpful. Upon arrival, the one bedroom condo our family was given was on the back (street side) with a nice view of a tattoo parlour. Albeit this is what we paid for, but on request for a new room we were graciously upgraded with a two bedroom condo, which was well appointed, large and clean, it was on the side of the hotel with a view of the Gyro park and some of the lake. The house keeping was inconsistent (we had to call for towel replacements or garbage that wasn't picked up) but otherwise the condo was clean.

Unfortunately, Osoyoos was experiencing some of the coolest, wettest start to the summer in years, and that was reflected in the deserted beaches and hotel swimming pool. It wasn't until near the end of our stay when the weather greatly improved and starved for hot sun we extended our stay for two extra nights, which turned out to be the hottest days of the trip. We cancelled reservations we had in Radium (we had to pay a cancellation fee, but we felt the hot weather in Osoyoos would make up for it). Perfect timing for the resort to use a cement saw and jack hammer in the pool area to repair a broken water line. No warning to the guests or recognition by management for the inconvenience. During our brief time at the pool we observed and spoke with several other guests/ families, who had to leave because of the intolerable noise and flying grit. We have two small children and the noise frightened them, so on the sunniest, hottest day of the trip we basically had to avoid the pool.

I went to the front desk to complain but the hotel manager, Paul was unavailable. I later called for him, but was instead given his voice mail. I relayed my concerns and asked him to contact me. We concluded our vacation two days later, still without a response from Paul. Hardly the behaviour I would expect from a professional and hotel trying to come off as world class.

One last note, we were of the understanding, as stated right on the hotel's website, that 'all suites are non-smoking'. To our disgust, our immediate neighbors upwind from us were chain smokers. Breakfast, noon and supper, they were there. When we complained to the front desk, we were met with a shrug and told that smoking was allowed on the balconies ... we were also reminded that we had already been upgraded!! What kind of a response was that?? As such, the balcony was unusable.

If you don't mind smokers (in a smoke free resort) polluting your lakeside air, and management who decides to make major repairs without caring for their guests inconvenience then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank surferdude1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PScanlon, Manager at Watermark Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your comment about your recent stay with us. It is certainly unfortunate that, amongst other challenges, we seem to have had a communication breakdown. I did in fact receive your message but it is clear that you did not receive mine. I had left you a voice message apologizing and explaining the unfortunate incident and timing surrounding an emergency pipe repair on our deck with an offer for you and your family to dine with us in the Wine Bar with the hopes that we could make amends for the lost day you had with your family and the enjoyment of our pool deck. It is with sincere regret that this message and offer did not make it to you.

I would like to once again offer my apologies for this unfortunate experience and will contact you via email to discuss further.

Best Regards,
Paul Scanlon
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

Great one bedroom suite, quiet, comfortable, well appointed and super clean. We had a delightfull meal in the wine bar / lakeside terrace. Hotel has a interesting location, one side facing the lake immediately behind the public beach the other on main street with several nice restaurants and stores, on top of this it was a very good value. We will be back, probably for a week next time.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

My wife and I stayed at Watermork Beach Resort for 3 nights...here is our honest review:
The Room: A spacious 1 bedroom room with all the amenities that we would expect from a 3.5 star resort, nothing more and nothing less. Full kitchen, king bed...etc.
The resort: no bicycle rental, and the beach was completely flooded, although the restaurant was not half bad, with good wine and apps...a good 3.5 star resort.
the location: convienintly located close to all that you need on osoyooos, with ice cream shops and grocery shops and boat rentals just a short walk away.

I think all in all, this is a great resort. The most luxurious and secluded resort is Spirit Ridge, but Watermark is much better value for money if that is imporant for you!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osoyoos hotels
1.4 mi away
Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort
0.4 mi away
Coast Osoyoos Beach Hotel
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunrise Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Osoyoos
Super 8 Osoyoos
#8 of 26 in Osoyoos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
1.6 mi away
Walnut Beach Resort
Walnut Beach Resort
#4 of 26 in Osoyoos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday inn Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watermark Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermark Beach Resort

Property: Watermark Beach Resort
Address: 15 Park Place, Osoyoos, British Columbia V0H 1V0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Osoyoos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Osoyoos
#2 Business Hotel in Osoyoos
#2 Family Hotel in Osoyoos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Osoyoos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Watermark Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the South Okanagan “good life” at the Okanagan resort that defines easy living, where attention to detail and personal service is as unmatched and unique as the experience and amenities at Watermark. Watermark Beach Resort is committing to offering wellness to all their guests; our yoga/Pilates studio and gym provide endless options for all levels and needs, in the studio and in the sunshine, Kayak and SUP rentals available. Experience the Watermark difference. You’re steps to everything: beach, dining, shopping, marina, and groceries for your full gourmet kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Watermark Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watermark Beach Hotel Osoyoos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing