We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watermark Beach Resort was amazing!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Watermark Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Osoyoos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 26 August 2010

We recently stayed at Watermark Beach Resort in Osoyoos BC and were blown away by the experience! Our suite was right on the beach with every ammenity we could ask for. We spent our days on the beach or in the pool...and a lot of time at the Wine Bar!!

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful...they genuinely wanted us to enjoy our stay. we even had poolside pedicures on our last day (highly recommended)

Everything we needed from groceries, liquor, clothing, even lake toys was located within a block of the resort so we could walk for anything we required.

Amazing venue for a wedding as well...we watched a ceremony on the beach and they did a beautiful job

We will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessevKelowna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PScanlon, Manager at Watermark Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2010

My thanks to you for your posting. It is particularly pleasing to read your words of praise for our staff here at the Resort. Hopefully your travels bring you back down from Kelowna again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Paul Scanlon
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,431 - 1,437 of 1,481 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2010

This was simply excellent. I've got three complaints which I'll mention below, so it wasn't perfect, but I've never known anyone to come closer at this price-point.

We had a two-bedroom suite situated over the pool, with a stunning view of the lake and the mountains across the way. Large (opening) windows, quality blinds, and a good-sized balcony with table and chairs for six. Few shortcuts were taken in this room. Granite and tile, quality appliances and fittings, all high-end and well-detailed. The bathrooms (2!) were huge and the construction tight. The staff here, without exception, were enthusiastic and cheerful. Special requests were accommodated quickly and smilingly. Everybody seemed to enjoy their job, from the front desk to the maintenance man to the cleaning crew. I was blown away by the radiating good cheer from everyone -- seeming genuine, not a professional facade. These people like this place, they are proud of what they offer, and they want to share it with you.

The hotel is family-friendly and pet-friendly. That means there are lots of happily-shouting children running about, and elevator rides shared with dogs and their owners. The pool area can get loud. This is not a negative for me, it's a happy sound. And the staff is good about shutting the pool down at 10; things got quiet quickly after. Osoyoos is not a large place, and much that it has to offer is just a short walk up the street from the hotel. We didn't even sample the hotel restaurant or wine bar, so I can't comment on that. There are good cafes and restaurants within walking distance, and several more a short drive away.

I mentioned that I do have three complaints:
1) Control the dogs. We're a dog family, and enjoy being able to travel with ours, so we really like the pet-friendly atmosphere. But too often a guest would allow their pet to be off-leash, even in the lobby, and this is fool-hardy no matter how well-behaved the animal is. It creates fear, and it opens the owner to significant trouble.
2) Where's the in-room safe? At this price point and quality, it's unheard of that we can't lockup the laptops and other small items in a safe when we leave the room.
3) Elevators are too busy, too slow.

That's it. Almost perfect. We'll be back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TJRBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PScanlon, Manager at Watermark Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2010

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments. I am very pleased that you had a great time whilst on vacation. This is the second posting in regards to off-leash pets and one that I will for sure follow-up on with regards to training and better communication with our pet owning guests. The Elevators are also being looked into as it would be great for everyone ( guests and staff ) if they could be sped up. Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Resort in the near future.

Best Regards,
Paul Scanlon
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

We attended a wedding at the Resort and took 4 days to enjoy a mini holiday and it was FABULOUS! We have a 1 year old and the resort was perfect for her. There was the pool, which was packed with children and a great place for her to play, there was the beach and a lot of boats and activities going on to entertain her, there was good shopping and a great gelato place that she loved. Staff were very friendly and supported our needs. We were lucky enough to get a wheelchair accessible room which was great for the little one moving around. A bunch of us are already planning on going back next year, the only thing we'll change is maybe stay in the townhouses and definately stay for longer!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seas_the_Moment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PScanlon, Manager at Watermark Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2010

Thank you for this posting and I am very pleased you and your family had a wonderful time at the Resort. The wedding you attended was fantastic and I am glad you were also able to combine it with a little family vacation. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,
Paul Scanlon
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

I have stayed at many resorts within the Okanagan area and this one far exceeded my expectations. The staff were extremely helpful and courteous.The rooms were beautiful and spacious. My only problem was that I couldn't get the kids away from the waterslide and pool. All in all it was a great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kumabear_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PScanlon, Manager at Watermark Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2010

Thank you very much for your kind words about our Resort and most importantly our Staff. Both are tremendous assets and very much make for a great holiday. Hopefully you are able to get away again soon and I look forward to welcoming you back to the resort.

Best Regards,
Paul Scanlon
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

My husband and I arrived here yesterday and our first impression was that it would be an amazing 5 days. The resort is beautiful, the rooms are clean and modern, the pool is awesome and the beach is beautiful BUT.... At the front desk we were given their pet policy which stated that dogs are not allowed to be left in the suite unattended (the resort's website stated that we could leave our dog in the suite as long as we had him kenneled-which we brought). We made do and figured we could work around this glitch in our plans. So this afternoon we went to the beach (with our dog) and were told by a very friendly security guard that the dogs were not allowed past the walkway and onto the beach. When I quoted the website " Our pet friendly location is close to walking trails, and doggie beach access for some great swimming, walking or fetch. " he replied that the dogs are usually allowed on the beach just not in June, July, and August. So now my husband and I have spend a lot of money and we can't leave our room. We specifically chose this resort because of the so called pet friendly policy but we are very disappointed and feel mislead. The website also raves about doggy day care but so far I have not been able to contact anyone at the location they suggest. My husband and I live for our vacations (as most hard working people do) and to feel trapped in a hotel room for another 3 days is not how I envisioned my trip. They also claim on their website that they have been certified by "Pets Can Stay" and have exceeded their strict criteria. I will be in contact with Pets Can Stay in the future so I can find out what their "strict criteria" is for next time I travel with my pet. I was planning on coming back next year with another group for a big family reunion but I think we will try and find another resort. I can appreciate hotels having rules and pet policies but as a responsible dog owner I would expect that the policies that are advertised are accurate.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jasper88jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PScanlon, Manager at Watermark Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2010

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your most recent visit to the Resort. While the Resort itself is very Pet Friendly, the Town of Osoyoos has recently enacted some by-laws to the contrary. While we certainly do what we can within the confines of our own Resort we must adhere to those rules outside out boundaries. This is certainly an issue we are taking up with the town with the hopes of making it easier for the many pet owners who stay at Watermark to enjoy their vacation with their ' best friends'.

Best Regards,
Paul Scanlon
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

I was interested in what seemed like a great vacation spot for my family. I was at the lobby with my toddler when a big dog came charging towards her. The dog was not on a leash and there were 3 hotel receptionists on site and not one of them said anything to the owner of the dog. I was waiting for awhile at the reception and this was the second time this dog was out loose at the LOBBY!!! Needless to say, I will not stay and would not recommend this place to family with young children. The receptionist told me that the dog wasn't a pitt bull so it didn't matter. They said the dog was tame. Isn't it common curteousy to leash your dog inside a hotel lobby???? All three staff at the front desk were very unprofessional. Very disappointing. Was looking forward to what LOOKED like a great spot. Too bad the staff killed it for me.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nw2240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PScanlon, Manager at Watermark Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2010

Thank you taking the time to relay your recent experience at the Resort. While this incident seemed to stem from another guest of the resort, it was certainly highlights the need for our Guest Services Team to be more sensitive in situations like this. Knowing this is an isolated incident I hope you will return to Watermark in the future.

Best Regards,
Paul Scanlon
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

A few notes from a recent 1-night stay @ Watermark (4 adults on a wine tour).

The ‘Buyer Beware’ remarks:

1) To our immense surprise - the property was packed with kids & young families. Outside on your patio or around the pool deck - loud. Very loud.

2) Request a suite off the ground floor if you want a view. We were promised such (views) & couldn’t see the lake from anywhere in the room - though perhaps the mountains opposite. A bit disappointed, especially given the resort’s website photos.

3) If you’re in a group of 4 or more - definitely spend the extra money to book the townhouses. Especially if peace, quiet & privacy are things you value in a vacation. The townhouses are separate from the rest of the resort & seemed a far better bet. We were kicking ourselves for booking 2 separate rooms for our party.

4) Check in - though the staff was friendly - was painfully slow. 10 minutes or more to fill out “paperwork” and provide such details as our address and home phone. Had to wonder why they needed this - and what the paperwork was for given that we’d paid in advance.

The good - what we liked

1) Interior fittings and finishings are to a very high standard - Kohler everything, Royal Dalton dishware & Reidel wine glasses. Beds are comfy and the kitchen is well stocked.

2) There’s a supermarket just around the block & a nearby liquor store too. If travelling by car, perhaps bring more particular foodstuffs with you as the supermarket’s selection is limited.

The patios are nice & it was great to sit around all night drinking Osoyoos’ best vino.

Summary:

In all, a good stay & loved drinking our morning coffee in the sun by the pool. Just take advance precautionary measures if you don’t have - and don’t really like - children!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneButton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PScanlon, Manager at Watermark Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2010

Thank you very much for your recent comments on your stay with us. I certainly get the impression that you were unaware that Osoyoos is a huge family vacation destination in the summer months. I suspect that late June or early September may be the best time for you to travel to the region as most of the families come to the region during the summer school break and the weather is fantastic, especially in early September. I do look forward to welcoming you again and hope your next stay with us meets your expectations.

Best Regards,
Paul Scanlon
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osoyoos hotels
1.4 mi away
Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort
0.4 mi away
Coast Osoyoos Beach Hotel
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Sunrise Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Osoyoos
Super 8 Osoyoos
#8 of 26 in Osoyoos
361 reviews
1.6 mi away
Walnut Beach Resort
Walnut Beach Resort
#5 of 26 in Osoyoos
1,258 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday inn Hotel & Suites Osoyoos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watermark Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermark Beach Resort

Address: 15 Park Place, Osoyoos, British Columbia V0H 1V0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Osoyoos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Osoyoos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Osoyoos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Osoyoos
#2 Family Hotel in Osoyoos
#2 Business Hotel in Osoyoos
Price Range: £83 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Watermark Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the South Okanagan “good life” at the Okanagan resort that defines easy living, where attention to detail and personal service is as unmatched and unique as the experience and amenities at Watermark. Watermark Beach Resort is committing to offering wellness to all their guests; our yoga/Pilates studio and gym provide endless options for all levels and needs, in the studio and in the sunshine, Kayak and SUP rentals available. Experience the Watermark difference. You’re steps to everything: beach, dining, shopping, marina, and groceries for your full gourmet kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Watermark Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watermark Beach Hotel Osoyoos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing