We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An aerial view without the aircraft!”

Anarchist Mountain Lookout
Ranked #4 of 46 things to do in Osoyoos
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A scenic lookout that takes visitors from 910 feet to 4,045 feet for spectacular views of the Okanagan Valley and part of Washington state.
Port Moody, Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“An aerial view without the aircraft!”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

A must-see! On a clear day you can see the whole of Osoyoos Lake, north to south, from up here. Heart-stopping view from the lookout after we wound up the hairpin curves on the east side of the lake.
It's only about five kms, so doesn't take long from the town.
We were struck by the number of homes on the mountainside with private observatories—most unusual. We drove into the area on a dirt road and I hoped to meet one of the astronomers who obviously live here. But it was daytime and clearly they were all sleeping. Not one person did we see!
Go see this view!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank PhotosbyPharos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    37
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great View of the Valley and Mountains”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We first saw the view after sunset on the drive to Red Mountain. On the drive back to Vancouver we stopped and got a good look in the afternoon.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mwhazleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keremeos
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Birds eye view”
Reviewed 5 September 2012

The expansive view, a birds eye view of the south end of the Okanagan Valley, and love the mountains, Chopaka and Sleeping lady to the west. They are in Washington state above the Similkameen river, which flows into the Okanagan River below Oroville. A stunning view visited by many. Been there many, many times and take international visitors there so they can get this overview of this beautiful and fragile area

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Windy roads but amazing view from the top”
Reviewed 23 August 2012

If the sky is clear, take the trip up here -- the views of the lake and valley are unparalleled. Stunning.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank camgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Not for the faint of heart! The windy extremely steep road to get here is cool but kind of scary. You must experience it! My husband likes to ride his bike up to the top.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Cndn_traveller_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Anarchist Mountain Lookout also viewed

Osoyoos, Okanagan Valley
 
Osoyoos, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Anarchist Mountain Lookout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing