We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful View and Lovely Hosts”
Review of The Spare Room

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Spare Room
Ranked #2 of 17 Osoyoos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sunriver, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful View and Lovely Hosts”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The Spare Room Bed and Breakfast is a wonderful find in Osoyoos, BC. My husband and I were staying in Osoyoos for one night and we were lucky enough that the hosts, Ed and Yvonne, had a room open. Upon arrival they warmly greeted us, offered us a glass of wine and we all chatted on the deck. The deck has a beautiful view of the valley and lake. The room was comfortable and very clean. Ed and Yvonne recommended having dinner at the Miradoro at Tinhorn Creek Winery and made us reservations. The breakfast in the morning was delicious. Ed and Yvonne served fruit smoothies, a variety of fresh fruit and a Dutch specialty that included eggs, ham, toast and cheese. I would definitely recommend The Spare Room and can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    2
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
96
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wenatchee, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Ed and Yvonne are a lovely, charming couple and welcomed us into their home as friends!! Everything was perfect from the cozy, romantic room, to the view, to the delicious breakfast, but above all the wonderful hosts who made our stay so welcoming!!
Highly recommend this bed and breakfast! We will surely be coming back very soon and have told everyone about this gem in Osoyoos!!
Steve and Cyndi

Room Tip: Loved the Blue "Pinos Gris" or Red "Merlot" room! Beautiful deck looking over go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Staying at The Spare Room was a fantastic experience! Five of us rented all 3 rooms so the entire suite was ours to enjoy. Ed and Yvonne welcomed us and made us feel right at home. Everything we could need was there for us; the suite was very clean, bed linens are top quality and comfy. The breakfasts were incredible! After 2 nights we all wished we were staying longer. We highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiderdorp
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

the owners of this lovely tastefully decorated big house with a great view on the lake are Ed and Yvonne, who both are from Holland and have been living in Canada for many many years. We didn't know they were Dutch so what a pleasant surprise. They invited us for a glass of white wine and we chatted for a long time.
The room and private bathroom were great and very stylish, the bed slept well. In the morning we received a healthy scrumptious breakfast. Exhibited on lovely cuttlery and lace placemets, which Yvonne gathered during the time she flew around the world.

Room Tip: read the evaluations of others and read between the lines, you pick up the atmosphere of the place/o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank didohaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Spent two nights at The Spare Room. Everything was just perfect!
The room was very clean and fresh. Nice view from the patio overlooking Osoyoos, excellent place to sit and relax with a glass of wine and a good book.
Got served an elegant and tasty breakfast each morning.
The hosts were just the best, very welcoming and helpful with sorting out dinner reservations for us.
We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladysmith, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Ed and Yvonne are a delightful couple who do everything to make your stay as pleasant as possible. We were greeted with a glass of wine on their deck taking in the expansive views of the lake and valley. They immediately made us feel like visiting family. We stayed in the Merlot Room which is sizable, well appointed and comfortable, as was the bed. As a bonus, French doors lead to a lower deck, again with wonderful view. Breakfast was 5 star quality and the service impeccable. Must be the european background but then I'm prejudiced, being of european heritage myself. Ed was also very helpful making restaurant recommendations and providing directions to various wineries and local attractions. If you're a golfer, the Spare Room is only a block or 2 from the Osooyos Golf and Country Club. If you're planning a trip to or through Osoyoos do yourself a favour and be sure to book this wonderful B&B.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

You will be warmly greeted by Yvonne & Ed, who are the gracious hosts that do indeed know great service and great food. This is perfect for wine-tourists, golfing, honeymoon/anniversary get-aways, etc, as it is very peaceful,relaxing, and has amazing views of the Osoyoos lake & valley. The house is very tastefully decorated throughout. Our B&B room was beautiful & comfortable with a full ensuite bathroom. The breakfast was delicious, beautifully presented and impeccably served. A huge plus is that the entire place is well kept, very clean and pristine and it truly felt like my home away from home.Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RhondaKelowna_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osoyoos hotels
3.0 mi away
Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort
1.7 mi away
Watermark Beach Resort
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Sunrise Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Coast Osoyoos Beach Hotel
2.2 mi away
Walnut Beach Resort
Walnut Beach Resort
#5 of 26 in Osoyoos
1,188 reviews
1.0 mi away
Desert Oasis Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spare Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spare Room

Property: The Spare Room
Address: 4205 Pebble Beach Dr, Osoyoos, British Columbia V0H 1V4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Osoyoos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Osoyoos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is the most cozy and elegant B&B in Osoyoos with an outstanding view over the valley and lake. We have a delicious breakfast waiting for you. We can make arrangements for you to play golf on the Osoyoos Golf Course and we can book a wine tour for you so that you don't have to drive and can't taste the wines. Let us pamper you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Spare Room reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing