We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret”
Review of Sun Beach Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sun Beach Motel
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Osoyoos
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Hubby and I stayed here for 3 nights in August. Quiet comfortable rooms. The staff was friendly and makes you feel a sense of family and community. The private beach was a nice surprise with waterside patio and barbecues for cooking your meals. It was quiet yet sociable. We visited our family members staying at the Holiday Inn and were surprised by the noise and frenetic activity. Back at the Sun Beach, the mood was serene and relaxing. No shortage of towels. Stress-free, relaxed living. Warm waters allowed for plenty of swimming & water activity. The price was very reasonable for the height of summer! We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Ground floor, water side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pambi4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2011

We recently stayed at the Sun Beach motel. We had a great room on the upper floor which was newly renovated and clean.
The receptionist, Vivian, was really friendly and helpful.
The Courtyard is great and the view spectacular!
We would have prefered that there was no smoking on the balconies as we had our little baby and couldn't sit out there when someone was smoking.
It is unfair that the hotel be criticised for spiders. It is a Desert location and the entire town has spiders. They do a great job dusting webs every morning. Our room was free of Spiders.
Thank you Sandra and Vivian for your Hospitality

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

I recently stayed here with my entire family in five different rooms spread out over the property. All if the rooms were dirty and had something wrong with them - from broken air conditioning that the staff would not fix to clogged drains with the previous occupants hair. We also had a major spider infestation. It was so bad that we actually had to go out and buy spray to kill all of them in our room and area. The staff told us to "deal with it" as "it's the desert". Everything was very dirty around the motel. If you are going to pay the money like we did $225 a night with tax, you are better off going down the street to the Spirit Ridge or even the Sahara Courtyard!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JN403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joyharbidge, Owner at Sun Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2011

Very sorry that you feel this way, I wish you had come to the office and you and all your family could go somewhere you would have been happier at. I would have released you from your bookings. The spider problem can be handled with sprays if we were made aware of it. Some people do not want spray in the rooms due to alergies or small children. Some of your family booked and knew they had the last rooms available and they were not the new rooms and then , asked for new ones. We also had family members that had vents open and fans running on air conditioner's . We in turn closed and then had air operating in those rooms.
We do try to make holidays happy one's, as I know some of you over the years , I do feel , some of these problems could have been handled right at the front office and corrected.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

The Sun Beach Motel is in a great location! Love the quiet, private beach. Sandra, the owner is super nice and very accommodating! The rooms are clean, modern and perfect! Very reasonable rates. I was there for a week and want to stay for another.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annhorvat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

The young boys had loads of fun trying to catch the fishes right on the private beach. So close yet tough to catch! So cool to see the fishes in the morning when the water was clear.
We enjoyed the our dinner/breakfast on the patio deck facing Osoyoos lake and the view of the mountains, also we could stroll to the waterfront park nearby in the evenings. The two nights we stayed the rooms and beds were comfortable. The kitchens stove were a bit too small as well as the pots and pans but we managed.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msaldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

Been staying there for years. In reality it is the only south facing hotel in osoyoos. All the others face north away from
the sin and into the prevailing winds (other than the safari which faces east).

We spend most of the time on our boat or on the patio. Beachfront is repective to water levels which are higher early inthe season. Lots of shade and sun depending on what you like. Parties are
not the
norm. Sandra (the friendly owner) lives next door on the lake and would herself be annoyed at late night parties so try are notthe norm (certainly no music). Maybe be the odd group who stay up later chatting.

Locals are actually very friendly. We used a local waterski/wake board school who were very helpful teaching us to wakesurf and improving wakeboarding. They also are very knowledgeable about the town for your interests. I think they have a website and are called "above the board". Actually it was the motel who put us on to the service.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahurtinalbertan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2010

My wife and I stayed in one of the suites facing the lake during the Canada Day long weekend and had a great time. Management had a free BBQ dinner on the patio which included free wine and beer. It is a short walk to the shopping centre and we sat on the beach and watched the fireworks. Our suite had a full kitchen, bedroom and living room with an extra bed and hide-a-bed so you could sleep 6 if necessary. Staff were very friendly and helpful and since it was part of our honeymoon, the privacy was good for the rooms at the back facing the lake, which I recommend. You have a private little beach and dock as well. The fruit orchards and vineyards are only minutes away. Good value here! Richard from Vancouver.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricard013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osoyoos hotels
0.5 mi away
Watermark Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Coast Osoyoos Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Sunrise Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Spirit Ridge
Spirit Ridge
#3 of 26 in Osoyoos
1,501 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday inn Hotel & Suites Osoyoos
0.2 mi away
Sandy Beach Motel
Sandy Beach Motel
#1 of 26 in Osoyoos
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Beach Motel

Address: 7303 Main St, Osoyoos, British Columbia V0H 1V3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Osoyoos
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Osoyoos
Price Range: £51 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sun Beach Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Sun Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing