We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View From Units Facing Lake”
Review of Sun Beach Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sun Beach Motel
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Osoyoos
Reviewed 15 August 2012

A group of us stayed at the Sun Beach Motel over the BC Day long weekend. We took a two bedroom suite that sleeps six and faces the lake that has a private beach and dock. It was my third time staying there and enjoyed our full kitchen suite with a fabulous view of the lake and surrounding mountains. It is close to shopping and other beaches and you can walk to anywhere in town. Our suite was newly renovated, clean and spacious. Staff were great and helped us find the best orchards and vineyards. The private deck features BBQ's and tables and chairs so that you can cook and eat outdoors at the water's edge. I love this place and stayed here during my honeymoon four years ago. On Canada Day the management provides a free BBQ dinner with free drinks!!! After dinner, Osoyoos has Canada Day fireworks on the lake. The motel is great for the kids because the water isn't too deep at their private beach. Big fish swim around the dock and entertain the tourists. I'll be back next summer but remember to book early. They always fill up for the weekends. Enjoy!
Richard Schnoor, Tsawwassen, BC

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side have the best views!!!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricard013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
There are newer reviews for Sun Beach Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2012 via mobile

The staff at Sun Beach Motel were so pleasant and kind. There was a friendly, welcoming atmosphere to the motel. We stayed in one of the unrenovated 1-bedroom suites. It was adequately described to us when we booked, so there were no surprises. The suite was likely unrenovated since it was built in the 70's. While we appreciated the "retro" vibe, it was very run-down.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rlp12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We also stayed in August 2011 and couldn't wait to leave. We had to sweep the funiture daily as not to get bit from the spiders that were everywhere inside and out! We lifted the cushions on the patio furniture and found nests of spiders! This place needs a complete overhaul and for $250.00 a night we felt we were ripped off. There is no beach and cracked concrete steps into the water that don't look to safe to walk on. Small fridges, etc there are much better places to stay while in Osoyoos for $250.00 a night.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We have stayed 3 times now at the SunBeach Motel and everytime we stay we wish we could have stayed longer. The newly renovated suites, which include a full kitchen, living room, bathroom and two bedrooms, were ideal for our family of 4 with two small children. Extremely clean and beds were super comfortable. Love, love, love the fact that the beach is private with no other resorts sharing that space. The patio area is a great place to relax in the sunshine and enjoy the view, the trees and the beautiful gardens. We found the managers and the owner extremly friendly and made you feel very at home there. We will be returning again this summer and we can harldy wait.

The Pridhams

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Hubby and I stayed here for 3 nights in August. Quiet comfortable rooms. The staff was friendly and makes you feel a sense of family and community. The private beach was a nice surprise with waterside patio and barbecues for cooking your meals. It was quiet yet sociable. We visited our family members staying at the Holiday Inn and were surprised by the noise and frenetic activity. Back at the Sun Beach, the mood was serene and relaxing. No shortage of towels. Stress-free, relaxed living. Warm waters allowed for plenty of swimming & water activity. The price was very reasonable for the height of summer! We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Ground floor, water side
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pambi4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We recently stayed at the Sun Beach motel. We had a great room on the upper floor which was newly renovated and clean.
The receptionist, Vivian, was really friendly and helpful.
The Courtyard is great and the view spectacular!
We would have prefered that there was no smoking on the balconies as we had our little baby and couldn't sit out there when someone was smoking.
It is unfair that the hotel be criticised for spiders. It is a Desert location and the entire town has spiders. They do a great job dusting webs every morning. Our room was free of Spiders.
Thank you Sandra and Vivian for your Hospitality

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

I recently stayed here with my entire family in five different rooms spread out over the property. All if the rooms were dirty and had something wrong with them - from broken air conditioning that the staff would not fix to clogged drains with the previous occupants hair. We also had a major spider infestation. It was so bad that we actually had to go out and buy spray to kill all of them in our room and area. The staff told us to "deal with it" as "it's the desert". Everything was very dirty around the motel. If you are going to pay the money like we did $225 a night with tax, you are better off going down the street to the Spirit Ridge or even the Sahara Courtyard!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JN403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joyharbidge, Owner at Sun Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2011

Very sorry that you feel this way, I wish you had come to the office and you and all your family could go somewhere you would have been happier at. I would have released you from your bookings. The spider problem can be handled with sprays if we were made aware of it. Some people do not want spray in the rooms due to alergies or small children. Some of your family booked and knew they had the last rooms available and they were not the new rooms and then , asked for new ones. We also had family members that had vents open and fans running on air conditioner's . We in turn closed and then had air operating in those rooms.
We do try to make holidays happy one's, as I know some of you over the years , I do feel , some of these problems could have been handled right at the front office and corrected.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osoyoos hotels
0.2 mi away
Coast Osoyoos Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Sunrise Inn
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Osoyoos
Super 8 Osoyoos
#9 of 26 in Osoyoos
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday inn Hotel & Suites Osoyoos
0.9 mi away
Lakeview Motel & Suites
Lakeview Motel & Suites
#8 of 26 in Osoyoos
186 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avalon Inn
Avalon Inn
#19 of 26 in Osoyoos
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Beach Motel

Address: 7303 Main St, Osoyoos, British Columbia V0H 1V3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Osoyoos
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Osoyoos
Price Range: £64 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sun Beach Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sun Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing