We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family resort!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Destiny Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Destiny Beach Resort
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in Osoyoos
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great family resort!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

We stayed at Destiny Beach for Canada Day week. We were so pleased and surprised with how accommodating the management (Trish and Chris) were during our stay. They went out of their way numerous times to make our time there as personal and comfortable as possible... from setting us up a bonfire on the beach for Canada Day fireworks (and providing the wood for the fire), giving advice on the best places to wine tour, to giving us a jar of homemade raspberry jam! The resort itself feels like a throw back to the good old days. It's comfortable and safe for kids and also open with easy to access swimming in the pool or just hanging out on the beach and taking it easy. There is a dock and beach access where you can dock a boat, lay around on lounge chairs or hang out under a gazebo and have a BBQ. The small added touches like the raspberry batch, fresh herbs for guest use and "honour system" linens are what make the place truly nostalgic. We had a great time and will be sure to go back!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DestinyBeachResort, Manager at Destiny Beach Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time in posting your comments via this online portal. While we are cognizant that our little resort is an older property, we do what we can to ensure our guests find their stays both safe for children and relaxing for parents.We appreciate your comments regarding our availability of linens, it is our belief that your time here is your holiday and should you require fresh linens all you have to do is ask.

While on the topic of linens, it is our belief that having chamber persons exchange out bedding daily along with other linen items can at times, be rather obtrusive for our guests, save the environmental water impact required to wash and clean these items. Every summer our linen exchange program saves thousands of gallons of water dovetailed with pounds of laundry detergent.
Osoyoos Lake thanks you!

In closing, we are pleased that you had an enjoyable time and hope to see you again next summer (we'll hopefully have a fresh batch of jam ready).

Chris and Trish Arbique
Destiny Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    20
    2
    2
    16
See reviews for
22
14
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
144 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

We booked at short notice on line looking for a reasonably priced motel for one night as we made our way from Kelowna to Vancouver via Osoyoos. We wanted to visit Burrowing Owl and 'Nk'Mip wineries. It meet our expectations and the owners / hosts were very accommodating. Unfortunately, the weather in the area had been poor, summer was late and the lake was significantly higher than usual so there was no beach to relax on.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BabyboomerCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DestinyBeachResort, Manager at Destiny Beach Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time in relaying your experience with us at Destiny Beach. We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable time, even with Mother Nature filling Osoyoos Lake beyond capacity. Yes, summer was late in the Okanagan this year, save many parts of Western Canada. It is our hope (we love summer too) that should you travel out to the Southern Okanagan again, that the weather be warm and bright.

Chris & Trish Arbique
Managers
Destiny Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west kelowna
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2011

Everything was very clean and comfortable and the owners Chris and Trish were super friendly and hospitable. The accomodations are well maintained...and although they aren't new and modern, the rooms have everything you might need for a weekend getaway. The location is peaceful and so charming with a cozy beach front area for lounging and bbq. The heated outdoor pool is toasty warm which was great for us being that we were there in May. A big thanks to Chris and Trish for their warm welcome and for all you did for us during our 3 night stay. You were the best of hosts and you will for sure see us again!

Room Tip: Room #1 is closest to the lake and bbq area
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sdefehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DestinyBeachResort, Manager at Destiny Beach Resort, responded to this review, 29 May 2011
Thank you for your most recent posting. Both Trish and I are pleased you had a nice stay with us and that our little property fulfilled your expectations. We look forward to your next visit.

Chris and Trish Arbique
Destiny Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2011

This is the second stay at Destiny Beach for myself and spouse. This time we attended with a group of 14 golfers and a few non golfers. Like the last time we stayed, the units were clean, and were ready for us on check in. We ate together as a group near the beach and had breakfast together on the upper deck.

From the time that we made the tentative booking in February to actually staying at the resort, both Chris and Trish were so helpful with both the bookings, adding rooms, making suggestions on change up of rooms plus!

I have been asked by the golf group to make this an annual event - and we might just do that.

My suggestion to any other group - have the parties book their own units - they can go on the web and see what the rooms look like, as well as the guide for the rooms that Trish and Chris have developed.

I have to say that all our group felt welcome when they arrived at the resort.

Pets allowed in off season - this is a plus

Room Tip: Take a look at the resort web site
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jellybean1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DestinyBeachResort, Manager at Destiny Beach Resort, responded to this review, 1 June 2011
Let us begin by saying we thank you for taking the time in posting your comments on this website. We are equally pleased to hear that members of your golfing group had an enjoyable time as well.
We hope to see you back at Destiny and look forward to the opportunity of assisting your group accommodation needs. Our door is always open and our hotelier service skills are waiting.

Chris & Trish Arbique
Destiny Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2011

I stayed here with my partner for a couple days this past summer. The owner stated right away how he didn't like children/teenagers. My partner and I are 25 and somehow we were lumped into this category by the owner and were treated as such. Anyone under the age of 40 was not "allowed" to use the pool from 1-3pm ( absolutely ridiculous). Instead of letting us pay at the end of our stay each night he would come by and rudely demand the nightly amount by banging on the door. The room was dirty and stuffy. We felt unwelcome the entire time. I would advise anyone under the age of 40 to stay away from this place...

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ILoveToTravel_4440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
africa05, Manager at Destiny Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 March 2011
Our sincerest apologies for the issues you have raised. It appears that we fell short of conveying customer service standards that allowed you and your spouse to enjoy a two night stay with us. In essence, we fell short of providing you an enjoyable time here and It is our hope that this does not place us in permanent disfavor with you.
In closing, it should be noted that the adult pool time swimming hours are 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm and that children are not permitted in the pool, giving adults such as yourself a little "me" time.

Sincerely,

Christopher Arbique
Manager
Destiny Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Osoyoos hotels

Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2010

We have stayed at the Destiny for the past two summers and allready booked for 2011.There is no place we would rather stay. We fell in love with the place right away and with the hospitality of Chris and Trish. They are great hosts and we consider them friends.The motel is clean and quiet and sits on the quiet side of the lake in a residential neighborhood with beautiful homes.Agreat place for families with its pool and canoe for a nice ride around the lake.We will be going back for as long as they own and run the motel.Take it from me .If you want agreat family holiday this is the place to be.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank natty60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
africa05, Manager at Destiny Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 March 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post the information noted.
It is our hope that you will return for years to come as well.

Chris & Trish Arbique
Managers
Destiny Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

My family and I recently spent a week in the South Okanagan community of Osoyoos in support of my little sister participating for the first time in the Ironman Canada Penticton Triathlon. We had been planning our trip for several months and originally were planning to camp north/east of Penticton. However, after learning of other family members planning to attend the race and their plans to stay in Osoyoos, we cancelled our camping plans and beagn searching for reasonable accommodations in Osoyoos.

Of course this was all about one month before the Ironman and accommodation availability was definitely limited in the South Okanagan at this time of year. After scouring on-line for several hours we found a number of accommodations available in and around Osoyoos that appeared suitable for a family of 5 (kids aged 3, 5 and 8). We were looking for a total of 6 nights and in addition wanted to bring our boat along to enjoy on the waters of Lake Osoyoos.

Osoyoos has a fair number of hotels and resorts “along the strip” that splits the lake almost in half. The north side of the strip is very busy and popular with tourists. There are number of chain branded hotels which are fairly old and are typical of what you find in most cities. Most have some private beach access and can accommodate boats but being on the north side of the strip are quite pricey – we were looking at around $280 per night on average at the chains. There are a couple of very nice new resorts that are also suitable for families but they are much pricier and were fully booked so they were not an option for us at all.

So after hours of disappointment of searching out accommodations on line, I stumbled upon Destiny Beach Resort deep in the Google search pages. I checked out the website and it is very simple but very informative. I’ll tell you right now that the website accurately represents what Destiny Beach Resort is and has to offer. The pictures are not enhanced nor do they only showcase the good. In fact one of the most unusual things I encountered on the website were the testimonials, good AND bad! How often do you see honest testimonials on a hotel website? The other thing that was impressive about the testimonials is the owners addressed the concerns in the testimonials, and not in a defensive way. Yes I definitely started to get a sense this place was somewhat different.

So as I delved deeper into the information in the website I learned the Resort changed owners about three years ago. Since then the owners have been working hard in the offseason to update the resort from datedness that occurs over some 50 years. It is a small resort with only 14 or so units on two floors with outside access – much like a small motel you’d see in any city. On the website there is a downloadable PDF that describes each room, its size and layout in addition to suitability for guest numbers. Very useful information indeed. The pictures on the website portray the cleanliness and amenities which turned out to be a very fair representation.

With that information in hand we called for availability and reservations and were fortunate enough to get a booking. The new owners, husband and wife, Trish and Chris were absolutely fantastic from the get go. They are very hands on; making sure everything has their own personal touch. Trish handled our booking and confirmation and was extremely helpful. We immediately felt very comfortable with our booking and we hadn’t even set foot in the place. Originally our booking was split between two rooms (requiring us to change rooms mid-stay due to availability) but a few days after our booking Chris called offering us a one room for the full stay. Awesome service!

On the date of our arrival we were very late – we called ahead to Trish to warn her we were going to be in around 11pm. No problem she said – she’d leave the room unlocked with the keys and everything we’d need for our arrival. And that is exactly how it went with no problems!

Our room was on the top floor very near the gathering area and entry is by a sliding glass door. The room had a separate bedroom with bunkbeds and a single bed for the kids and the main area had a queen size bed and kitchenette. In addition there is a full bathroom. The room was very clean and had some updating complete but this is a 50 year old building after all so it does have some character to it! But the most important thing is it was clean, comfortable and roomy enough for our family of five. Perfect. Now let me talk about the outdoor amenities.

The resort has a heated swimming pool steps from your front door (with plenty of area for seating and observing small children) that is meticulously maintained by Chris. It seemed Trish and Chris were constantly outside cleaning/maintaining/fixing etc. – not sure when they get a break, LOL! A really cool feature is the covered outdoor gathering area upstairs that overlooks the pool complete with complementary barbecue, couches and table to hang out and relax. There is also a barbecue downstairs near the pool and another at the beach. Speaking of the beach, it is very private, has a covered gazebo with couches and table, along with soothing music piped into outdoor speakers, a fine sand beach which is cleaned and raked each morning by Chris. In addition there is a fresh herb garden and tomato plants available for the guests to pick and choose at their leisure. This resort set up very much reminds me of similar resorts I have experienced in Mexico.

The beach while small, leads to the warm Lake Osoyoos and its shallow clear waters. There is a small dock to accommodate boats and/or cast fishing attempts. Speaking of boats, the resort offers two anchored buoys to tie off boats for overnight stays – the resort does not have a boat launch but there is one about 1 km away at Haynes Point – in fact you can see the launch from the resort’s beach. There is also a swim platform anchored at about a five foot depth that is great fun for all. In addition, there is a kids paddle boat to tool around in and kayak and canoe available for guests. You could easily spend a week just hanging out at this resort with everything it has to offer.

I need to talk about one unheralded feature of this resort and that is its location. As I mentioned this resort is about 50 years old and I’m not sure what was around it at the time it was built but it is now part of a residential subdivision that has grown up all round it. Chris and Trish know all their neighbours and along with being only 14 or so units, lends nicely to its family oriented charm and sense of safety and security. It is located at the end of a residential cul-de-sac so there are literally no traffic worries. It is very quiet and peaceful. But the best part is the lake location – the resort is on the south side of the Osoyoos Lake split near Hayne Point. This is the very quiet and non-busy side of the lake. You have ABSOLUTELY no concerns about security and safety at this resort which makes it IMHO the most suitable family style resort in town!

Like most hotels in Osoyoos, on-site parking can be an issue, especially if you have a boat trailer. Not to fear, the town of Osoyoos has a secured boat trailer parking facility that is just off the strip and literally minutes from the resort. It is open from 7 am to 8 pm and accommodates easily 100 trailers. If full there is an overflow next to it that is unsecure, but does not seem to be an issue. We happily left our boat and trailer all week long at the secured facility which by the way is FREE! As mentioned you can just as easily leave your boat moored to one of the two anchor buoys at the resort.

Okay, one last final point – value for money. This family friendly, homey feeling resort with almost Mexican resort type flair to it has got to be the bargain of the century in Osoyoos. Our 6 night stay for our family of 5 with all the amenities was less than HALF of what the cheapest chain hotel on the strip was offering. Unbelievable value. Throw in the absolutely wonderful personal touch of Chris and Trish and this resort experience knocked our socks off. We will be back next year and the year after and the year after that… because we had so much fun – what a great vacation stay!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2010FamilyofFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DestinyBeachResort, Manager at Destiny Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 May 2011
We are aware we are an older property, but one that offers an open canvas from which families and friends can share in a place to sketch, "connect."
We are very pleased to hear that your family had an enjoyable time with us and and thank you for taking the time in posting such candid comments. We hope to see you again soon too.

Chris & Trish Arbique
Managers
Destiny Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osoyoos hotels
0.8 mi away
Watermark Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunrise Inn
0.8 mi away
Sun Beach Motel
Sun Beach Motel
#19 of 26 in Osoyoos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Coast Osoyoos Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Lakeview Motel & Suites
Lakeview Motel & Suites
#8 of 26 in Osoyoos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avalon Inn
Avalon Inn
#16 of 26 in Osoyoos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Destiny Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Destiny Beach Resort

Property: Destiny Beach Resort
Address: 20 Magnolia Pl, Osoyoos, British Columbia V0H 1V1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Osoyoos
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Osoyoos
Hotel Class:2 star — Destiny Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Desert Wine Country, away from the crowded motel strip and situated on the west side of lake Osoyoos lies a little holiday oasis entitled The Destiny Beach Resort. We are BC Accommodation approved and look forward to providing you and your family a restful family holiday. When viewing the images of the property, view the new ones we have most recently uploaded. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Destiny Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Destiny Beach Hotel Osoyoos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing