We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunsets, Chilled Rose & Warm Summer Air”
Review of Spirit Ridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Spirit Ridge
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Osoyoos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Two minutes outside the hustle and bustle of Osoyoos’ summertime frenzy, Spirit Ridge watches over the town below. Getting there feels like a crash course in Okanagan 101, as the road leading to the Nk’Mip resort area cuts through a series of working orchards and grape vines. Cheers.

Spirit Ridge is one of the nicer properties in the Okanagan aside from Burrowing Owl’s 10-room retreat and the Swarovski crystal-encrusted Sparkling Hill Wellness Resort. Within Osoyoos, its direct competitors are Watermark and Walnut Beach Resort.

It offers a good jumping off point to tour hundreds of wineries in the area, as well as take time to walk beside orchards and on desert trails, lounge pool or lake or hop from one fruit stand to another.

Its location is perfect, especially in the summer. Just a short walk to the lake, but high enough on the hill that you overlook rows upon rows of grape vines descending towards the water with a mountain backdrop. The sunsets are lingering and provide the perfect opportunity to enjoy a glass of chilled rose as the summer air keeps you warm into the evening.

It is important to know Spirit Ridge is an all-suite resort which also offers ownership opportunities, though thankfully, you are not bombarded with hard-sells or special seminar invites. However, the overt ‘own here’ signage and atmosphere does put a slight damper on your wine country experience.

Liked
- June Jacobs bath products {high quality and smell nice}
- soft bathrobes
- large communal sun decks on 4th floors of each main block of suites
- 10 min walk to the beach
- guest laundry facilities
- bbqs on every balcony
- 2 pools
- corner suites with outdoor tubs {all suites have kitchens & sun decks}
- multiple restaurants on site, Nk’Mip’s Cellar's Restaurant is the best
- free wifi {though if you’re on the far side of the building the signal is too weak to use}
- free parking
- pet friendly

Disliked
- check-in was unwelcoming, fast-paced and script-like, but the guy who checked me out was lovely and conversational
- the beach area is a tiny plot of grass surrounded by a white picket fence in the middle of the Nk'Mip RV park. It would provide a change of scene if you had kids, but if you’re two adults relaxing, don’t bother.
- I loved the fact that there was two pools, but disliked the fact that adult pool had kids running around. I was told it was an adult pool upon check-in, but perhaps a few parents with young children missed the memo?
- aside from Nk'Mip Cellars, the food quality throughout the resort has room for improvement.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tripstyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpiritRidgeResort, Guest Services Manager at Spirit Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2011

Thank you for your review.

We're happy to see your contribution to the Trip Advisor online community. As you have noticed, Spirit Ridge Resort caters to a wide variety of guests. I often mention that there's something for everyone... and there really is. We're proud to offer a family-oriented pool area complete with a waterslide and a relaxation pool and hot tub by the vineyard for all guests young and old alike, we just ask that the volume levels remain low. We apologize for any mis communication on this.

Spirit Ridge Vineyard Resort and Spa at Nk'Mip Resort has grown to become the most unique resort of its kind in the South Okanagan. The Resort, spread out over several acres of sun-drenched landscapes overlooking Canada's warmest lake, aims to please guests of all ages and from all walks of life. From world-class accommodations to attentive staff genuinely dedicated to making sure that your stay is a successful and memorable one, this is the place to be when you're visiting Canada's wine country!

Thank you for sharing your experience.

Best regards,
Deryk Spina
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,501)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,288 - 1,294 of 1,501 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2011

Spirit Ridge, what an amazing Resort. It all started at the Entrance, you feel a welcoming feeling when seeing the Chief on the Horse statue, the Desert Centre, the Resort, the Pools, and Golf Course, then the Winery. When arriving at Spirit Ridge, i was greated very pleasently and professionally from the Front desk Clerk, i believe her name was Jordan. The Room was to beautifully furnished, a real treat over the 3 day stay.

If definately will stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BRT11281967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpiritRidgeResort, Guest Services Manager at Spirit Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2011

Thank you for your review.

The local artist that is responsible for the Chief on the horse statue is Virgil (Smoker) Marchand. Several other of his pieces are featured throughout the Resort and throughout the Town too! We also feature interpretive paintings of his work by artist Dorothy Tinning. These fine works are located in the main "Spirit Lodge" building and are available for sale.

Our front desk clerk is especially happy to hear that she has left an impression. Thank you for noting her exceptional work.

Again, Thank You for your review. We look forward to seeing you at Spirit Ridge again.

Sincerely,
Deryk Spina
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

For my first travel out west, this place is unforgettable. The resort is fully furnished from the patio to the living room to the kitchen and the bedrooms. The room is equipped with washer, dryer and a washing machine.There is a electric bbq at your disposal and all the necessary utensils are provided. The view is amazing, from my patio, i was overlooking the vineyards and the beautiful water and mountain scenery. There are a couple of grocery stores close enough to get food and cook back at the resort.

The resort has two pools, one for relaxation, which is just under the restaurant Passa Tempo, and the other pool is across the main drive, equipped with a slide( usually where the kids play). Next to the pools, there are gyms too at your disposal. There is also a market where you can get breakfast, and any necessary lifesavers( toothpaste, haha). They also have a park by the lake to enjoy the nature. Stan and David will get you from the lakefront to the resort in their golf carts

Spirit Ridge is close to most of the wineries, its actually a pretty close drive, but you can also enjoy the great winery on the resort, they give great tours about the history of the wine and at the end, you get to sample the wines, Brian Moffatt gives a great tour!!!

The staff ensured that my stay was memorable, merci beaucoup!!

Also the best kept secret is the sage, lol, but seriously the best kept secret of the resort is the rooftop, it's so quiet up there, it probably is the nicest place to overlook the scenery!!!oh and they change the beddings at the end of your stay or if you stay longer, they change the beddings every 4 days, talk about being green!! Feels like home!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seasonnedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

I visited the spirit ridge spa resort with my faimily. The room are beautiful with comfortable beds and the kitchen was great! Everything was super clean and the staff saw to your needs right away. there is a nice deck/balcony.

There is walking trails, and wine tours abound! We had lunch at the Burrowing Owl winery and restaurant which I highly recommend, the food was delicious and the service was excellent. There is much to do in this hot dry climate, why go to Europe when there is so many wonderful places right here in B.C.?

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elabria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpiritRidgeResort, Guest Services Manager at Spirit Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2011

Excellent review and excellent point. Why travel to Europe when you can experience world-class wineries and Stay in the comfort of a world-class Resort! Nk'Mip Cellars winery is on-site and offers several award winning wines and a patio with views on the vineyard and Osoyoos lake that are unmatched in the South Okanagan.

Families especially enjoy their time. The fully furnished kitchens allow for families to cook up a storm and have a family feast just like being right at home. We also offer Kid's Kamp activities daily!

Thank you for your review. We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Kindly yours,
Deryk Spina
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights with some friends, what a wonderful resort! Nice clean rooms, bbq with balcony, clean pools, a quiet pool for adults. Great views of the lake. A perfect trip!
Staff were friendly and helpful and the restaurant on site was great, as well as the wine tasting, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilTurrner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpiritRidgeResort, Guest Services Manager at Spirit Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2011

Great review!

It is important to us that your stay here at Spirit Ridge is an exceptional one. Our teams work hard at achieving this and your review serves as a terrific validation for their efforts. For that reason, we are sincerely grateful for your review.

Thank you kindly for sharing with us and the TripAdvisor community.

Best regards,
Deryk Spina
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We were just passing through on our way to Penticton for Soccer Provincials and I wish we could have stayed longer. Sitting on the balcony, overlooking the pool as the sun was setting, I did not want to leave! Can't wait to come back and fully enjoy the beatiful setting. What a beautiful resort. Love the Merlot and Pinot Gris.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
Thank VNelsonBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpiritRidgeResort, Guest Service Manager at Spirit Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2011

Thank you for this review!

You're most certainly welcome back here anytime for alonger stay. Ask us about our repeat guest specials! You can also Stay in the loop by joining our eclub. Visit www.bellstar.ca and click on the eclub link at the top of your screen to join.

And in regards to the Nk'Mip (Inkameep) Merlot, it has actually won several awards this year! One of which is Best of Category/Double Gold – All Canadian Wine Championships, Ontario – 2011! They have several other award winners you'll need to try out the next time you're around.

Thank you again for your review!

Kindly yours,
Deryk Spina
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Stayed here after Revelstoke in a very pleasant two bedroom apartment overlooking the mountains. Glad we were not on the other side overlooking the outdoor swimming pool as it was very busy with children. Our apartment overlooked the golf course and not far away a nest with three Ospreys in it! Also had an electric barbicue on the large balcony which was a bonus. On the downside the colour of the walls were very drab and and made the apartment very dark, the carpet in the bedroom had not been hoovered, we could not get internet access though reception told us it was our laptop's fault, but we had got it everywhere else on our travels and we could have done with a chopping board.
Considering there is a vineyard and there is no middle man the price of a bottle of wine is expensive.
On the roof there are tables and chairs with a great view.
Certainly worth a visit and a must if you have children and there were endless activities for them.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inntheknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpiritRidgeResort, Guest Services Manager at Spirit Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2011

Thank you for your review.

There is something for everyone. Quite nooks for those looking for relaxation and more vibrant areas where the sound of fun fills the air.

We're especially happy to see that you noticed our resident Ospreys and their home. When it comes to a room with a view their's certainly takes the cake!

Finally, you will be glad to know that we're replacing any wireless network hardware that may have been malfunctioning during your visit. We've also shared your concerns regarding the hoovering in your suite with the proper department and we thank you for brining it to our attention.

Once again, thank you for your review. We hope to have you stay with us again.

Kind regards,
Deryk Spina
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osoyoos hotels
1.4 mi away
Watermark Beach Resort
1.3 mi away
Coast Osoyoos Beach Hotel
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Sunrise Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sun Beach Motel
Sun Beach Motel
#20 of 26 in Osoyoos
61 reviews
1.6 mi away
Walnut Beach Resort
Walnut Beach Resort
#5 of 26 in Osoyoos
1,266 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday inn Hotel & Suites Osoyoos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spirit Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spirit Ridge

Address: 1200 Rancher Creek Rd, Osoyoos, British Columbia V0H 1V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Osoyoos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Osoyoos
#2 Green Hotel in Osoyoos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Osoyoos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Osoyoos
#5 Family Hotel in Osoyoos
Price Range: £82 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spirit Ridge 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A migratory destination and home of the Osoyoos Indian Band, the sacred land of Spirit Ridge has provided both physical and spiritual bounty for thousands of years. A breathtaking destination in Canada’s only desert, guests now travel here seeking an escape from the rigors of contemporary life. Hike along plentiful trails, wander through the award-winning NK'MIP vineyard, golf, stargaze, or simply close your eyes and breathe in the tranquilizing fragrance of desert sage. For whatever a guest wishes to find here, they will most certainly leave having found something most important – themselves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Spirit Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spirit Ridge Vineyard Hotel Osoyoos
Spirit Ridge Vineyard Resort And Spa
Spirit Ridge Vineyard Osoyoos
Spirit Ridge Osoyoos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing