We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Osoyoos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Thanksgiving weekend brought 8 of my family members together for what we expected was a memorable stay at Spirit Ridge. Unfortunately what we experienced was a complete let down. Regardless, being the family we are, we did our best to make the most of the venue and amenities.

Our journey started with a reservation confirmed in March 2012. My daughter and her husband are semi-frequent visitors to Spirit Ridge and we were so excited to gather together in this beautiful setting. We arrived early (3:30) and hoped to be given a bit of consideration for the early arrival. We walked into the reception area and there was no greeting of “Hi, Welcome to Spirit Ridge”….two ladies behind the counter continued to chat while we stood. They finished their conversation and spoke one word….Name? Once we told her who we were she determined the room was not yet ready and to give them a ½ hour. Fine, we understood 4:00 was check in. We wandered around the complex, stopped into the wine tasting room and were immediately shooed from the wine counter to the front entrance for a tasting as they were closing the back room for a big dinner that evening. We tried a few sips of wine, wandered a bit more and finally went back into reception at 3:50 to find out whether we were getting any closer to getting into the room….we were given our room keys and told to drag our feet as cleaning was still going on. We did our best, loaded our luggage and managed to get up to the room at 4:15. 3 cleaning people were still in the room still cleaning…. dishes were still in the dishwasher and floors were just being mopped. We gave them a few more minutes and they packed up and left.

After determining sleeping arrangements, we then unloaded the dishwasher and found our first surprise as dishes were put away…two bowls stuck together (these were already in the cupboard) with butter. The fridge still had residues of crumbs. Despite these few things we settled in and decided to enjoy the deck…back into the room for shoes because of the dirty dirty deck floor….Thankfully we didn’t have any little ones who might be tempted to crawl on this most disgusting surface. We then discovered we had no BBQ. A quick call to front desk who argued with us that yes, we did have a BBQ….either we were going blind or???? Finally we were able to convince her we did not have a BBQ but we certainly had the grease residue on the deck to indicate there had been one at some point. One was delivered and shame on us for thinking it might be somewhat desirable to cook on with the overloaded grease encrusted grill…..it took a team of two men to scrub what they could so we were able to eat that evening…As we scouted out the rooms we found a complete lack of cleanliness including the tray that holds the shampoos , the shower doors completely covered in soap scum, stove top in desperate need of a good scrubbing (my daughter did the cleaning), corner’s of the rooms holding dust balls, shower head in the Master coming out of the wall and rust throughout each bathroom. I also discovered something (just not sure what) that looked like a blood drip on our closet door.
Throughout the weekend we made calls or stopped into the lobby to ask for various missing items in the room including a tea kettle, oven mitts and dish soap.

Day 2 we chose not to have maid service but still charged some kind of eco fee?

Because of the condition of the BBQ we were given, we chose to use the larger one on the rooftop and booked as directed. We were told there was a deposit for cleaning the BBQ should it be required after our use. We did a quick inspection of the rooftop unit and immediately cancelled the reservation. It was as dirty or perhaps worse than the one we had with the room. No Thanks.

The next morning our daughter headed to the gym and again, more disappointment. Dirty wet towels hanging on the equipment, used paper cups thrown around the room and not a drop of water in the water cooler. She soldiered on and after her workout bought a bottle of water from the Market for $5.00! Assume it was brought in by a camel from a special spring somewhere in Austria for this price! My son and his wife tried the hot tub that evening but the scum on the surface of the water made for a less than an enjoyable experience.

Advertised Wi-Fi less than stellar. Slow, slow slow.

The final assault was the finding of a sock under one of the beds as we were making sure we had left nothing behind.

Overall we found the facility to be unclean, less than inviting and certainly not an option for our next family gathering.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jaxxy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike C, Operations Manager at Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay at Spirit Ridge.
As discussed in our previous email communication, I look forward to speaking to you by phone once you return from your travels abroad.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

977 - 983 of 1,467 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2012

The resort was beautiful. We went there for the wine festival and the wine tours & tastings were very educational. Beautiful scenery and spectacular weather. Wine was excellent. Golf course was beautiful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike C, Operations Manager at Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2012

Hello and thank you for taking the time to post this wonferful review.
We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the Fall Wine Festival and still managed to find some time to golf on one of the most scenic courses on the West Coast.
We hope to have you back with us for next falls wine festival.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa and it was fantastic! There was lots of space and the views from the room are beautiful. The units are well cared for and come with everything you could need and more. We did not take advantage of the kitchen or bbq, but these would be very convenient if you were here more than just a few days.

We only used the smaller, quiet pool and it was very relaxing. The big pool area with the waterslide looks like it would have been a lot of fun.

We did the wine tour and tasting and the staff were all very informative. The Mica Restaurant was very good and we had a breakfast buffet there as well as dinner one night.

The highlight for us was having a 9 hole golf course at the resort. We did not plan on golfing, but the clubhouse was very helpful in getting us set up. I would definitely recommend this! The holes work up the mountain and then back down again and you can't beat the views.

There is lots for everyone to do at this resort and I would not hesitate to stay here. You will have an amazing time!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seetheworld79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike C, Operations Manager at Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2012

Thank you so much for posting this detailed review of your stay at Spirit Ridge.
We take pride in knowing that our suites offer all of the amenities that you would expect to have in your own kitchen.
I have passed your positive comments on to NkMip Winery, Mica Restaurant as well as Sonora Dunes golf course. We all look forward to reading reviews like yours.
When booking your next holiday at Spirit Ridge, be sure to ask about our repeat guest rate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We booked the Spirit Ridge mainly for their wine tour package. I never imagined this place to be so outstanding. We stayed in a corner unit, with a wrap around balcony. I wouldn't have even minded spending the whole trip inside the room as it was so fantastic.

Everything was very clean, staff was very friendly and accomodating. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jbaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike C, Operations Manager at Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

Hello and thank you for posting this outstanding review of Spirit Ridge.
We are excited to hear that we exceeded your expectations. We are situated in the the perfect location for wine lovers with well over a dozen award winning wineries within a 20 minute drive, not to mention the award winning winery right on our property.
We look forward to having you back with us in the future and don't forget to ask about our repeat guest rate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

I was a part of a group that stayed at Spirit Ridge on Friday September 7, 2012. Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly staff and quickly checked into all of the rooms without any hassle. When we arrived in our 2 bedroom suite, we were quickly impressed by the cleanliness of the building, and the amenities in each suite including dishes, coffee maker, kettle, and an assortmend of coffee & tea. The 2 bedroom suite was perfect for socializing and having 2 separate bedrooms from the living area, one person could easily go to sleep early without impacting the others.
The beds have high quality linens, and comfortable beds. The rooms are quiet with great blinds, so a good night's sleep is guaranteed.
The facility would be great for a family with little ones, a group of friends, or even a romantic getaway. We love staying at Spirit Ridge and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spclak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike C, Operations Manager at Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Spirit Ridge with the Trip Advisor community.
I am so glad to hear that your group not only chose Spirit Ridge for your retreat but that you enjoyed your time with us.
The details mentioned in your review reinforce what we work so hard to achieve.
Thank you again and we hope to have you back with us some time soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I was very pleased with staying here, our room wasn't quite ready when we showed up so they were sure to phone us as soon as it was (which wasn't long after really) We checked into our room which was the king corner room with the jacuzzi & wow was it beautiful!! 2 bottles of wine were in our room already which I was pleased with. We drank the white wine & it was very good. We enjoyed the Nk'Mip Desert Cultural Center while we stayed there as well. The only that I would say I was unhappy with was that they were doing construction on the walkways while we were there which made a lot of noise & our experience with one staff member wasn't the best. But still, all in all it was a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephanieM_1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike C, Operations Manager at Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Hello Stephanie
Thank you for sharing your experience at Spirit Ridge with the Trip Advisor Community.
I sincerely apologize for the noise you experienced while our walkways were being repaired. I would like to duscuss your experience with one of our staff menbers in further detail if you wouldn't mind. I can be reached at (250)495-5445.
I look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

My husband and I booked Spirit Ridge for 4 nights as our honeymoon. We booked 5 months in advance to ensure we received the room we wanted - a room with a vineyard view, king sized bed and moon soaker tub.
When we arrived the front desk person was counting his cash float and didn't even look up at us until we sat down in front of him. He didn't even say hello! We checked in and when we got to the room it was a 2 bedroom room with no view and no moon soaker tub. When my husband inquired, the front desk person replied with "We don't have rooms like that. You will have to speak to the day shift manager." He was not friendly and certainly not helpful.
The next day we were moved to the room we requested but once again the front desk staff seemed indifferent to the whole thing. Like it was no big deal that we paid for a higher quality room but never received it.
We waited 10 minutes to be seated for breakfast and another 10 minutes to receive a cup of coffee. Same thing when we ordered drinks to take with us to the pool. Lots of waiting and hardly any staff. It seemed like the resort was closing for the season and they had no staff left. There was no atmosphere or friendly people to assist whatsoever.
Another day passes and the Manager finally calls us to apologize but does not offer us anything. Instead he says "If there is anything I can do to make your honeymoon stay more special please let me know." As a customer, I should not have to ask for compensation.
Another day passes and we find a complimentary bottle of wine and chocolate dipped strawberries in our room, courtesy of the Manager, however at this point this is not enough to bring us back.
The resort is beautiful - especially the pool. And the rooms are nice, comfortable and clean. But the service was poor, unhelpful, unfriendly, slow and few. The menu selection at the restaurant is minimal and the food was mediocre, small portioned and over-priced. We ended up dining at local wineries instead, which were amazing. There is no WI-FI in the rooms and no option to rent movies from the television.
When we checked out we relayed our story to a different front desk person who apologized for our poor stay and told us the Manager would be in touch with us to discuss further.
Over 3 weeks has passed and we still have not received a phone call.
Our honeymoon stay was not special at Spirit Ridge. For the price that it costs to stay and the lack of value and service you receive I would recommend staying elsewhere - ESPECIALLY if it is a special occasion stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley3202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike C, Operations Manager at Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Hello Ashley
I'm very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
I have looked into your booking and now have a clear understanding of what had transpired.
I would like to discuss this with you by phone if you wouldn't mind.
I can be reached (2500495-5445 ext. 5058.
I look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osoyoos hotels
1.4 mi away
Watermark Beach Resort
1.3 mi away
Coast Osoyoos Beach Hotel
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Sunrise Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Osoyoos
Super 8 Osoyoos
#8 of 26 in Osoyoos
359 reviews
1.6 mi away
Walnut Beach Resort
Walnut Beach Resort
#5 of 26 in Osoyoos
1,254 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday inn Hotel & Suites Osoyoos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort

Address: 1200 Rancher Creek Rd, Osoyoos, British Columbia V0H 1V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Osoyoos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Osoyoos
#2 Green Hotel in Osoyoos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Osoyoos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Osoyoos
#6 Family Hotel in Osoyoos
Price Range: £94 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4.5-star Spirit Ridge at Nk'Mip Resort celebrates its natural desert cultural landscape.Our accommodation is a 226-condominium 1, 2 & 3-bedroom style hotel nestled between Anarchist Mountain and Lake Osoyoos. Situated on Osoyoos Indian Band land, we celebrate our resort partner's amenities and destination attractions. The Nk'Mip Desert Cultural Centre is a hub of information on the Okanagan people where you can immerse yourself in Aboriginal Events and cultural ceremonies. The Nk'Mip Cellars are an award-winning vineyard and winery, right on the Resort. They provide in depth tours and daily wine tastings. Just down the hill is the Nk'Mip RV Park and Campground, a year-round heated playground for an active Snowbird Community. In the summer, there is a Cantina on the Lake where you can take a water taxi across to town - or invite friends to you. The challenging 9-hole Sonora Dunes golf course has a clubhouse (opening year-round shortly) and Pro Shop. The view from the tee boxes envelop the backdrop of the rugged mountain, the Lake below and a beautiful scene of the Spirit Ridge adobe-style buildings dotted with wrought iron icons, native to the area. We have a full service spa on site Solterra Desert Spa who are open year-round, waiting to pamper locals and visitors alike. Our resort weddings are becoming legendary. Photo opportunities exist from every viewpoint with the spectacular vineyard stretching out like arms to the sun, up the hill. Meander between wild desert sage, catch a glimpse of a wild herd of horses, laze in one of our outdoor pools or hot tub and wonder, "why didn't I get here sooner". Experience Nk'Mip hospitality at it's best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spirit Ridge Vineyard Hotel Osoyoos
Spirit Ridge Vineyard Resort And Spa
Spirit Ridge Vineyard Osoyoos
Spirit Ridge Osoyoos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing