We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Osoyoos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Coquitlam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

What can I say: a very disappointment experience. Resort need to step up to their name. For the money they charge they better up their business otherwise all it will go down. Lack of trained staff from reception to cleaning staff. Lack of activities beside pools where they are overcrowded with peoples and kids. Bad wi-fi access. No entertainment for young adults to keep them interested. Pool below the restaurant look like a geriatric facility. Don't make noise to loud because of disturbing the reading moments... And make sure you bring your wire brush from home in order to clean your bbq from the balcony...
Too bad for this beautiful place to get that bad... Seven years ago it was a lot better from what I remember. Not nothing is the same. Thank God for that beautiful lake otherwise it was nothing. Next time there we will looking elsewhere to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Cristina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arthur W, General Manager at Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Cristina B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us pertaining to your recent stay with us at Spirit Ridge Vineyard Resort & Spa. My sincerest apologies for the negative experiences you described and rest assured we are currently implementing measures to correct many of these deficiencies as we aim to provide an exceptional resort experience for all of our guests. One of our resorts biggest features are our two outdoor pools which allows us to keep one of them for adults only so that those who would want a peaceful and quiet experience by the pool can do so. We currently have live entertainment on Friday and Saturday nights on our private beach which sits atop Okanagan Lake. This weekend we are in the process of upgrading our wifi network throughout our resort so I'm sure you'll notice a difference on future visits. Again, my sincerest apologies for the negative experience you had and hope you see that we do have measures in place to address these deficiencies. I do hope to see you again at Spirit Ridge Vineyard Resort & Spa on your next trip to Osoyoos.


Arthur Wong
Western Regional GM Lead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    753
    340
    102
    66
    30
See reviews for
405
481
28
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

This is my second time at spirit ridge. We packed a cooler full of grocery including steak, burgers and chicken for the BBQ in each room. We rented boats and bikes(bikes are free) and did the morning rooftop yoga which was excellent.

We were at the cantina on the beach one afternoon and had amazing sangria there.

The hotel itself was amazing as my previous trip but we asked our cleaners to return in 10 minutes for our daily cleaning and they didn't return. Called done for tokes and they did not arrive either

Our 3 year old and 6 year old loved the slide and pool area. It is a great place where kids can join their kids for fun or watch them play. The water was chilly in there during the afternoons though.

The winery on the property is fantastic and a must see. This is an expensive accommodation but well worth it

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parmesan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arthur W, General Manager at Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear parmesan_10,

It was great to read that you continue to love Spirit Ridge Vineyard Resort & Spa and the vast amount of activities we have spread around the resort. Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience from your recent stay with my team and I. We are truly grateful that the two service flaws you mentioned didn't overshadow such a fantastic stay and apologize for them happening. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future hopefully sooner rather than later, see you soon!



Arthur Wong
Western Regional GM Lead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa during a very busy week at the resort and the view and peaceful setting are fabulous overlooking a vineyard and the lake. We will definitely return to this resort when we visit Osoyoos. We loved the walk down to the lake and using the complimentary bikes (fantastic amenity for families). The winery on site is fantastic. Housekeeping is a bit erratic. Never sure what time of day they will come and they seem to not ever sweep or vacuum. We were there for eight nights so I started to phone each day and request a time for them to come and that seemed to work. My biggest complaint is the lounge chair and umbrella saving at the pool. We were visiting the resort the last week of July so it was very busy and it was 40 degrees so while sitting at the pool, an umbrella is necessary. Many guests seems to park it at the pool for the day nd there were no umbrellas for us when we would arrive mid day at the pool. There were loungers available. My suggestion is that the resort should have extra umbrellas to bring out when the resort is that busy. Overall, we love it here. Every staff member we met was exceptionally friendly. Beds were super comfortable and the air conditioning works great and the drapes blackout the light so every sleep was awesome.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CrazyMegan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arthur W, General Manager at Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Deaar CrazyMegan2014,

It was fantastic to read that you loved the resort and that you will definitely be back to Spirit Ridge Vineyard Resort & Spa. It was great reading that you were able to use most of the features around our resort and I thank you for your suggestion to have additional patio umbrellas by the pool. I'm not sure if my team also mentioned during your stay that we also have cabanas by the pool which can be reserved ahead of time which can provide additional shade during our sweltering summers in Osoyoos. We look forward to welcoming you back for another family getaway soon!



Arthur Wong
Western Regional GM Lead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kelowna
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This was our second stay at Spirit Ridge and we are already planning our next! Great girls weekend! Our room was spacious and included everything we needed including coffee. We brought a lot of our own food for breakfasts and lunches and even used the BBQ for supper. The BBQ was a little on the small side but still fine. We also had one supper at Talons which was excellent! Our only real complaint is we could not get the docking stations to work (we tried 3 different ones) and the cell reception was very bad in the room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank untilthenext1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike C, General Manager at Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post this fantastic review with the Trip Advisor Community.
We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your 2nd stay with us as much as the 1st.
We look forward to hosting you for your 3rd visit. Be sure to ask about our repeat guest rate when making your booking.
If you wouldn't mind sending me an email letting me know which suite you were staying in so that we can look into the issue with the docking station.

Thanks again

Mike Campol
mikec@bellstar.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This place has potential to be one of the best resorts in the Okanagan. Unfortunately, the staff & service here are abysmal. We had many problems. First, our place was dirty when we arrived. Annoying to say the least!! Second, there was no WIFI except in the building lobby. Even that was spotty. Though they have no issue advertising it as having 'complimentary WIFI'. Third, the housekeeping staff either never showed up or we had to call and ask for our room to be done. When they did show up, they did almost nothing except make the beds. Fourth, the maintenance of our room was terrible. Light bulbs were burnt out and our dishwasher had serious wiring issues (was a fire hazard). They had to, eventually, move us to another room because of. We tried to get this issues resolved by management (after actively seeking them out), without success. They moved us, but did otherwise resolve any of our issues. They did feed us a lot of excuses about the causes of the issues. Fifth, the ECO program they espouse, is garbage. Did we seriously get charged extra for this scam? They did none of things the program said they did. What a joke.

We paid a lot of money to stay here. We expected first class everything. The facilities were nice, but the service and staff were horrendous. They simply rely on the fact the area and facilities are nice and hope you don't complain about the other stuff. For this kinda money, damn right I'm gonna complain.

There are many other options in the area. I would look around and carefully consider your options. Many friends of ours have stayed nearby at other resorts and have thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of their experiences. Not us. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
7 Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike C, General Manager at Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Hi Kevin
We thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay, however, I take great offence to the accusation that our Eco programs are a scam. We take great pride in the programs that we have put in place to reduce our carbon footprint. We have won awards for these efforts and their impact on the environment.
We sincerely apologize for the issues that you experienced with our WIFI and are working diligently on a solution as we recognize the importance of internet access in todays day and age. I am sorry that you feel we did not meet the standards that you expected. We wish you luck with your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014

What makes a great getaway? - the weather, accommodation and friends. The weather in October was fabulous - glorious reds, oranges and yellows and lots of sunshine. The accommodation at Spirit Ridge was amazing. When we arrived (tired and hungry) we stopped at the restaurant first and enjoyed lovely appetizers and Okanagan wine on the terrace. We made our way to our apartment which was spacious, clean and comfortable. We had a view of the golf course which was lovely. Our friends from Ottawa were 'blown away'. We walked lots, visited vineyards, bought wine from the Mk'Nip Cellars Winery, and toured the Nk'Mip Desert Cultural Centre where we learned about the history of the Osoyoos Indian Band and the interesting ecology of the area. We visited the restaurant 3 more times and were not disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rosieshawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike C, General Manager at Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Wow! it certainly looks as though you took full advantage of some of the amazing amenities & unique offerings that our resort has to offer. I noticed that there was no mention of the private beach, boat rentals, helicopter tours or horseback riding. This means that you will have to join us again in order complete the "experience".
We look forward to having you back with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, British Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We love the resort and this is why we came back again.
My husband however made a valid point that the adult swimming pool is way to small and the water is not very clean plus perhaps the salt added to the water dries out the skin a lot. I would be great if you could enlarge the swimming pool, as really one of the reason that we are coming back is the adult swimming pool. In contrary Walnut Resort does not have it and we will not be back there again. Our kid is an adult now, so it is great not too deal with the kids again. However, the pool is way too small.
We were also surprises for the heavy wintery blankets in the rooms, looks that they were never washed. When we were switching them for the cotton blankets the blood stains were on 3 of the winter blankets. In all 3 beds, stains on it and it was turning us off.
The pillows are also not very comfortable, my son could not sleep on it and I had to use the decorative pillow as well as the one in the beds are too puffy Other than that, we love your resort, the cleanness of if, the location, the food in the restaurant. We like that you higher a seniors and the young people too. Is good to see the mixed ages in staff. We enjoyed the ride to the lake with Stan.
We really hope that you will consider to make the pool bigger and hoping to see the water changed or cleaned more often.
Thank you, and please feel contact us if you have any questions.
Goshia Saffarzadegan

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Malgorzata S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osoyoos hotels
1.4 mi away
Watermark Beach Resort
1.3 mi away
Coast Osoyoos Beach Hotel
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunrise Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Walnut Beach Resort
Walnut Beach Resort
#4 of 26 in Osoyoos
1,054 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday inn Hotel & Suites
1.0 mi away
Sandy Beach Motel
Sandy Beach Motel
#1 of 26 in Osoyoos
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort

Property: Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort
Address: 1200 Rancher Creek Rd, Osoyoos, British Columbia V0H 1V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Osoyoos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Osoyoos
#1 Business Hotel in Osoyoos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Osoyoos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Osoyoos
#6 Family Hotel in Osoyoos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4.5-star Spirit Ridge at Nk'Mip Resort celebrates its natural desert cultural landscape.Our accommodation is a 226-condominium 1, 2 & 3-bedroom style hotel nestled between Anarchist Mountain and Lake Osoyoos. Situated on Osoyoos Indian Band land, we celebrate our resort partner's amenities and destination attractions. The Nk'Mip Desert Cultural Centre is a hub of information on the Okanagan people where you can immerse yourself in Aboriginal Events and cultural ceremonies. The Nk'Mip Cellars are an award-winning vineyard and winery, right on the Resort. They provide in depth tours and daily wine tastings. Just down the hill is the Nk'Mip RV Park and Campground, a year-round heated playground for an active Snowbird Community. In the summer, there is a Cantina on the Lake where you can take a water taxi across to town - or invite friends to you. The challenging 9-hole Sonora Dunes golf course has a clubhouse (opening year-round shortly) and Pro Shop. The view from the tee boxes envelop the backdrop of the rugged mountain, the Lake below and a beautiful scene of the Spirit Ridge adobe-style buildings dotted with wrought iron icons, native to the area. We have a full service spa on site Solterra Desert Spa who are open year-round, waiting to pamper locals and visitors alike. Our resort weddings are becoming legendary. Photo opportunities exist from every viewpoint with the spectacular vineyard stretching out like arms to the sun, up the hill. Meander between wild desert sage, catch a glimpse of a wild herd of horses, laze in one of our outdoor pools or hot tub and wonder, "why didn't I get here sooner". Experience Nk'Mip hospitality at it's best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spirit Ridge Vineyard Resort And Spa
Spirit Ridge Vineyard Hotel Osoyoos
Spirit Ridge Vineyard Osoyoos
Spirit Ridge Osoyoos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing