We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay with some downsides too”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Osoyoos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay with some downsides too”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Overall, this is one of the best places to stay in the Southern Okanagan. From the restaurants to the pools, spa, golf course and winery, this place has something for everyone. If you are looking for a bit of peace and quiet though, look elsewhere; there are LOTS of families here, kids everywhere! The vineyard pool is your best bet - would have liked to see poolside service from the bar rather than having to walk up the stairs into the restaurant for a glass of wine to enjoy poolside. We stayed in a 2 bed, 2 bath and honestly, I could have lived in it. Wifi leaves a bit to be desired, ask for a high floor if possible as we were almost underground on the golf course (Lavendar 301 was our room). Prices are reasonable, beds were extremely comfortable, service at Talon needs some serious revamping and though a small thing, there are no towel hooks in the bathrooms to hang your wet towels after a shower.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cclay715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arthur W, General Manager at Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear cclay715,

What a marvelous compliment for Spirit Ridge Vineyard Resort & Spa to be labeled one of the best places to stay in the Southern Okanagan! Thank you for stating this and for taking the time to share with me the experience you had recently. For the months of July and August we do get our fair share of families especially with the vast amount of activities we have for children within the resort such as our pool with a waterslide, the cultural center, the private beach etc. We have as many if not more activities for adults with our spa, golf course, winery and of course our relaxation pool for those who love a quiet afternoon lazing in the sunshine by the pool. Admittedly, the average age of our guests at Spirit Ridge Vineyard Resort & Spa jumps dramatically when school is back in session and becomes an idyllic getaway for those couples who are able to take advantage of those shoulder months. I look forward to welcoming you back soon so that you can experience the difference!


Arthur Wong
Western Regional GM Lead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    767
    343
    105
    67
    31
See reviews for
411
492
29
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver, bc
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

A nice resort with a winery onsite, but missing a few important amenities. As an FYI, if you're arriving after 4, the market is closed (which doesn't have much really), but this means if you need something quick to eat after a long drive, you're out of luck. Your options include beachside cantina, which is a 12+ minute off road hike (not ideal for strollers) or driving to the gas station/some other place. Although we arrived at 3:30, the market was out of sandwiches, so we headed to the Cantina. The quesadillas were really good, but we punctured our stroller tire in the off road terrain, which meant it was not functional for the weekend, which was a big disappointment. We couldn't find any cold beverage vending machines that night in the Lavender building and had to wander the complex to eventually find pop (no juice) in the Desert building. The suite was spacious, the deck was nice, and the housekeeping good. The pool was great as well. However, for such a large and expensive resort, I would have expected more information when we checked-in about how we could use the facilities presented in a paper format. After travelling 7 hours, we were quite exhausted. Also I expected more amenities available, such as an ice machine on my floor, cold beverage machines with pop and juice selections, and a market stocked with more supplies open after 4pm (which is check-in time). Also as an FYI, while they advertise babysitting services, they were not able to successfully take either of our two requests for short babysitting (2-4 hours).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunChaser6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arthur W, General Manager at Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear SunChaser6,

Thank you for such an extensive review based on your recent stay with us at Spirit Ridge Vineyard Resort & Spa. It was great to read that you loved the quesadillas in our Cantina, our two pools with their distinct concepts, your suite with it's private deck and of course our housekeeping services. My apologies for us missing the mark with communicating the services we have throughout the resort as it seems as though my team missed on notifying you that we do serve a variety of light fare at our Talon's Restaurant throughout the day for those times when the Market is unavailable. We do have soda machines scattered conveniently throughout the resort but will absolutely work with our vendor on perhaps adding a selection of juices to these machines. I hope that these issues didn't detract from an otherwise lovely stay and definitely look forward to welcoming you back in the future. See you soon!


Arthur Wong
Western Regional GM Lead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

A true resort with attention to detail. Large 2 bedroom and 2 bathroom roomm beautifully furnished and clean. Everything you need for a family stay. Pool and waterside were amazing. It was so hot outside that we didnt see the winery or the museum but will next time. The only complaint is with some lack of communication given to guests. For example only when I checked out did I find out there was yoga offered and we had no idea when and what the kids club entailed until we walked to the elevator to check. The store changed hours and stopped food service with no notification as well. These things were small but could have been avoided. Well worth the money!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arthur W, General Manager at Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Cindy G,

It was excellent to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay with us at Spirit Ridge Vineyard Resort & Spa. Special thanks to you as well for your comment about the superb cleanliness of your suite as well as the attention to detail from my team. My apologies for the lack of communication with you about the many services we have to offer as well as changes throughout the resort. My team and I will definitely bear this in mind if and when we have other special offerings available. However, I'm glad that this didn't detract from an otherwise fantastic stay with us. I hope to see you back soon as I'm sure you didn't fully explore the Okanagan Valley this time. See you soon!



Arthur Wong
Western Regional GM lead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bothell, Washington
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We rode here on our motorcycles, touring through the Canadian Rockies. This was the only place that we stayed in for two nights, and it was great! We had a 2-bedroom suite, which was perfect for two couples, and it included a nice deck, although it didn't have much of a view. The setup of the suite is nice, with the bedrooms separated by the living room, and each room having a very nice bathroom. The building had a secure parking garage, which we appreciated with our bikes. The place seems very safe though. We ate at the restaurant for two breakfasts and one dinner, and the food was very good. Service varied depending on how busy they were, and on the first breakfast in particular they were a bit overwhelmed. Everyone was very nice, and the atmosphere on the deck was so lovely that we really didn't mind the wait at all. There is a nice pool and hot tub, but we didn't use either. The second pool also has a slide, but we didn't get to that pool at all.

It seemed that much of the staff at the front desk was new. They were all very friendly, but not necessarily knowledgeable. There was always someone else working that they could ask, though, so it wasn't a big deal.

We appreciated having a safe in one of the bedrooms. Again, the place feels very safe, but it's nice to have a place to put passports in particular.

We were supposed to have a bottle of wine in our room as part of the package we purchased, but it wasn't there when we arrived. When we inquired, it was delivered quickly.

A few very minor complaints: the wifi was very flaky, and while the furniture is nice, it's a little big for the space. For instance, there is a chair and ottoman in the living room that was placed so that it covered half of the doorway into one of the bedrooms. When you check in, you get pool towel keys, and if you don't turn them back in they charge $20 per key.

We most definitely would come back here, and could have stayed much longer!

I tried to put this in the section about their environmentally-friendly practices, but it wouldn't take it, so I'm adding it here:
We saw something here that I've never seen before. A placard says that they take all of the used soap, clean it, and send it to third world countries, where hand washing with soap could prevent nearly 1/3 of all illnesses. Also, many hotels we've stayed in have a notice that if you hang your towel, they won't replace it, but it seems that they always do it anyway. Here, they didn't, which I really respect because I believe that it's important to conserve water, and I certainly don't replace my towels at home daily!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb18560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arthur W, General Manager at Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Deb18560,

Thank you for sharing the wonderful experience you had on your recent visit to Spirit Ridge Vineyard Resort & Spa. It was great that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Special thanks as well for your compliment pertaining to our environmental practices such as our recycling of used soap and bottled amenities as well as our attempt at reducing pollution due to our use of laundry chemicals. By the way, my apologies for the wifi as well as our pool towel card system. Due to guest feedback we have already modified our pool towel system for our relaxation pool. We hope to continue seeing you back at Spirit Ridge Vineyard Resort & Spa on your next trip to Osoyoos.


Arthur Wong
Western Regional GM Lead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We had thought we had booked a queen room and were delighted to find our own little apartment complete with laundry facilities. Our suite overlooked the golf course and views to the desert, the apartment was very clean and comfortable and as it cooled down at night it was easy to get to sleep in the comfortable bed.
Included a full service delicious breakfast which we could have on the terrace, the staff were attentive and we felt most welcome.
They offered a range of evening meals at the Talons restaurant, all of which were good value. Overall a pleasant experience and if ever back in the area would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMotions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arthur W, General Manager at Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear TheMotions,

It was fantastic to read that you loved your stay with us at Spirit Ridge Vineyard Resort & Spa. Thank you for taking the time to share with me the experience you had and the complimentary comments you had pertaining to our cleanliness, service and the quality of our meals in our Talon's Restaurant. I look forward to welcoming you back to Spirit Ridge Vineyard Resort & Spa on your next trip to the Okanagan Valley, see you soon!


Arthur Wong
Western Regional GM Lead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

There were four of us and our furry friend who stayed in a two bedroom, two bathroom, pet-friendly suite with a full kitchen for one night in early August. I know I very much appreciate dog-friendly hotels and this seemed like the perfect place for our overnight visit to Osoyoos. If you are looking for a hotel in the downtown area near the 'action' in Osoyoos, this isn't the place for you but if you want an authentic desert experience and a good night's sleep, this is the place to go. Checking in was quick and easy and they even allowed us access to our room before check in time, which was great. Staff were friendly but we had two experiences that were a bit frustrating off the top. Their parking instructions were unclear as I registered the make, model and plate of our vehicle upon checking in. The front desk clerk directed us to a parking garage where unfortunately our vehicle wouldn't fit. I wasn't sure why they would ask you for the make and model if they had no intention of using it to direct parking. It also wasn't exactly clear if we could park in the adjacent lot as their signage gave us the impression it was parking for the golf course, so we went back to the front desk to verify before parking for the evening. Finding our building was a little tricky. The front desk clerk pointed as if it were further away but it wasn't. Neither the name or number of the building was visible from the street/check in area, so we had to walk around to the front door to see the number. They really could use better signage or consider having a host/hostess take people to their building, especially at dusk or at night. We noted they had two luggage carts at our building to help with taking our bags to our room, which we really appreciated. Despite our initial experience, we were happy with our suite located on the second floor. It was spacious, clean and the kitchen was outfitted for both cooking and eating. The suite also had a washer and dryer, which we used (it came with soap). The bedroom/baths were separated by a well-decorated living area with a TV, desk, phone and iPod player. The beds were really comfortable and the bathrooms had an adequate number towels. There were also two terry bath robes provided but we didn't use them as we found them too warm to wear even to the pool. The balcony had a table for four that featured a partial view of the lake. We were able to sit out and enjoy the warm desert breezes. The barbecue on the balcony was small, so we decided not to use it (we also thought the smell and smoke might bother neighbours). When we looked for information about their restaurants, we discovered there was no booklet or brochure, so we looked up their website on-line. Their wifi worked well for us and we had no trouble connecting. The website was helpful but it didn't entice us to stay on-site for dinner. We were looking for something casual but with a good menu selection at a mid-range price but the only place close was their beach bistro with a small menu selection of mostly tex-mex (you have to be taken by golf cart to the bistro). We ventured out to see what we could find in Osoyoos. We appreciated being able to leave the dog as you can't leave them in your vehicle and the dog was content to stay in the air conditioned room. They had a small off-leash area for dogs on site, which was located across the property. Each time I went to take my dog out to do her business, she ended up going before we got to the park because it too far for her to hold it. They had plenty of signs on the grass indicating that dogs were not allowed, which is understandable but it's hard to stop a dog from going. Perhaps people with pets could be housed in the buildings adjacent to the dog park and if possible, stay on a main floor near the dog park. We used the 'secondary' pool at night for a quick dip. It's located below the check-in/restaurant building (not the main pool in the centre of the property). The pool and hot tub closed at 10PM, which seemed a little early in the busy summer months. We figured it likely had something to do with the main pool. It was very well used and a little noisy at times. The next day before we checked out we decided to rent a pontoon boat for two hours, which turned out to be the highlight of our visit. The rentals staff were very accommodating as we didn't have a reservation and the boat itself was like new. One thing to note is that they shuttle you back and forth to the marina from the resort but we didn't wait long and it took only a few minutes to get back and forth. If you plan to rent a boat, you should be aware they don't permit pets and you should bring your boater's card to speed things up. After boating, we checked out a little late but the front desk staff didn't make a fuss. They even asked us about how our boat trip was. All in all we really enjoyed our stay and we would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShezzyMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arthur W, General Manager at Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear ShezzyMc,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such a comprehensive review of your recent stay with us at Spirit Ridge Vineyard Resort & Spa. It was great to read that you noticed the recent changes we have made at the resort which have positively impacted our guest room cleanliness. It's absolutely the biggest compliment we can receive when you state that you will definitely be back. Agreed, our location is fantastic to bring your furry family members as there is absolutely lots of space for them to stretch their legs. Unfortunately we have limitations which inhibit our ability to re-assign units as being pet friendly which ideally would be those suites closest to our dog park. To clarify our parking process, the main reason we ask for the make and model of your vehicle is so that if necessary we are able to locate the owner of any vehicle which is parked in any of our many parking lots throughout the resort. Unfortunately it does happen that a car alarm goes off or the lights are left on which since we have all of the vehicles registered we are able to notify the vehicle's owner sooner. I wished that you had the opportunity to try our Talon's restaurant as I'm sure you would have raved about our Executive Chef, Jamie Hertz's culinary creations. There you go, another reason to come back sooner than later! See you soon!



Arthur Wong
Western Regional GM Lead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peace River, Alberta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We were on our honeymoon and had three free days with nothing planned - we called spirit ridge on a whim to see if they had availability, fortunately they had a few rooms left. It was pure class and service from the moment that we arrived, we sat down at the front desk to a very friendly staff member named Coralyn, in passing we had informed her that it was our honeymoon and she very promptly upgraded us to a corner suite with a soccer tub. Once we were in our room, she personally delivered a bottle of wine with a very nice card, it was signed by all the staff (only 15minutes into our stay). We also got a follow up phone call to see if there was anything else that they could do to make our stay more enjoyable.

We only had the pleasure of staying one night but we will definitely be back to stay longer next time. Everything at the resort is amazing, the location (over looking Osoyoos and lake), the meticulously kept vineyard and resort, the wine, the restaurants, the staff and the room itself. There is not one thing that we can say to complain - we will be back and we definitely recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelwoBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arthur W, General Manager at Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear TravelwoBob,

Thank you for a perfect review of your recent visit to Spirit Ridge Vineyard Resort & Spa. It was great and truly appreciated to read that my team here on the Front Desk especially Coralyn made such a lasting impression on you and that many of the changes we've implemented have started to be noticed. As you said that one day was too short, I'm hoping that we'll see you again soon!



Arthur Wong
Western Regional GM Lead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osoyoos hotels
1.4 mi away
Watermark Beach Resort
1.3 mi away
Coast Osoyoos Beach Hotel
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Sunrise Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Osoyoos
Super 8 Osoyoos
#9 of 26 in Osoyoos
316 reviews
1.6 mi away
Walnut Beach Resort
Walnut Beach Resort
#5 of 26 in Osoyoos
1,110 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday inn Hotel & Suites Osoyoos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort

Property: Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort
Address: 1200 Rancher Creek Rd, Osoyoos, British Columbia V0H 1V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Osoyoos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Osoyoos
#2 Green Hotel in Osoyoos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Osoyoos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Osoyoos
#6 Family Hotel in Osoyoos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4.5-star Spirit Ridge at Nk'Mip Resort celebrates its natural desert cultural landscape.Our accommodation is a 226-condominium 1, 2 & 3-bedroom style hotel nestled between Anarchist Mountain and Lake Osoyoos. Situated on Osoyoos Indian Band land, we celebrate our resort partner's amenities and destination attractions. The Nk'Mip Desert Cultural Centre is a hub of information on the Okanagan people where you can immerse yourself in Aboriginal Events and cultural ceremonies. The Nk'Mip Cellars are an award-winning vineyard and winery, right on the Resort. They provide in depth tours and daily wine tastings. Just down the hill is the Nk'Mip RV Park and Campground, a year-round heated playground for an active Snowbird Community. In the summer, there is a Cantina on the Lake where you can take a water taxi across to town - or invite friends to you. The challenging 9-hole Sonora Dunes golf course has a clubhouse (opening year-round shortly) and Pro Shop. The view from the tee boxes envelop the backdrop of the rugged mountain, the Lake below and a beautiful scene of the Spirit Ridge adobe-style buildings dotted with wrought iron icons, native to the area. We have a full service spa on site Solterra Desert Spa who are open year-round, waiting to pamper locals and visitors alike. Our resort weddings are becoming legendary. Photo opportunities exist from every viewpoint with the spectacular vineyard stretching out like arms to the sun, up the hill. Meander between wild desert sage, catch a glimpse of a wild herd of horses, laze in one of our outdoor pools or hot tub and wonder, "why didn't I get here sooner". Experience Nk'Mip hospitality at it's best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spirit Ridge Vineyard Resort And Spa
Spirit Ridge Vineyard Hotel Osoyoos
Spirit Ridge Vineyard Osoyoos
Spirit Ridge Osoyoos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing