We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely recommend - even if you didn't know you liked astronomy!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Osoyoos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Observatory Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 17 Osoyoos B&B and Inns
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
179 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Definitely recommend - even if you didn't know you liked astronomy!”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I thought this place looked interesting when we were looking for a place to stay in Osoyoos. Though my husband and I don't know much about astronomy, we thought it would be an experience. It was so much more than that! Alice and Jack are so warm and welcoming. The room we had (the Saturn room) was amazing, with it's fossil sink and incredible view. It's a huge suite as well, and so very clean. It even has a kitchenette (though we didn't use it).

They have a book of restaurants for the area, and recommended an Italian restaurant for us to try, which was fabulous. But the best part was yet to come - at 8:30 we met with Jack in the living room, where he told us information about the cosmos, and then invited us up into the observatory. We spent about an hour and half viewing stars, planets and the very full moon. It was absolutely fascinating, even though we didn't know anything about astronomy before we arrived. I look at the sky in an entirely different way now.

Breakfast was wonderful, served in their living room/dining room that has the most amazing view you have ever seen. Wish we could have stayed longer for the morning visit to the observatory, but we had to move on. Hopefully we'll be able to return!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beaglemom22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
48
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Jack and Alice are wonderful hosts! Im not even sure where to begin really. The rooms are so comfortable with beautiful views of the Oosoyos valley. They even provide a grill for all the guests to use, so if you dont want to eat out you can dine with the best views in the area!

In the morning you go upstairs to join Jack and Alice for breakfast at their dinning room table with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the valley. Breakfast has been really delicious and Alice makes good use of the variety of fresh, local fruits. After breakfast there is some star gazing, and some sun viewing as well!

In the evening you go upstairs to listen and learn and to view the stars. Jack is wonderfully entertaining with all sorts of stories of various discoveries, and will give everyone the brief astronomy 101 course. You get to see so many galaxies and stars that it is unreal.

You really could not find a better experience and place to stay. We will be coming back and have already (in a span of 2 weeks) told everyone about this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlieaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

From the minute we walked in we felt home!!! Jack and Alice are super friendly and welcoming.
The rooms are great, the decoration fits the theme and the view is incredible!!
Jack's knowledge is huge!! His sky tours were so interesting and fun!
The breakfast took place in their living room with a fantastic view on the city.
Seriously it has been the best B&B we stayed at and we were really upset we could only stay one night.
You definitely need a car though to get up the hill.
Christiane and Christoph

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christianek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Million $ view, great suite, deer in the back yard(not guaranteed!), & wonderful hosts. Just to call this a b&b is misleading, it's more like astronomy boot camp. Jacks love of the cosmos is infectious & he shares his enthusiasm & his telescope to all comers in morning & evening viewings . We had hadn't even got in the door before he invited us up to the scope to see a major solar event happening as we arrived. We had the Saturn suite & it made the motel we stayed at the night before look like a dump. We brought a picnic lunch(with a bottle of wonderful Okanagan wine) & had a truly memorable picnic on their balcony looking at the Okanagan valley spread below us while thunder storms brewed in the distance. Alice provides the domestic touches & both are charming & gracious hosts. Did I mention breakfast on fine china & gold cutlery with the same view out the dining room window? My wife & I couldn't stay anywhere else when we come back to Osoyoos after staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clwyd J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

What a treat this stop was. The place is not easy to find (well it wasn't for us) but when you get there the trip is worth it. The house stands on top of a mountain overlooking Osoyoos and the Lake. We were there on Canada Day and sat on the terrace drinking wine and watching the fireworks down below in the valley. Hummingbirds feed from the dining room balcony. Our suite was very comfortable and homely with a living room as well as bedroom and bathroom. Everything was immaculate. Jack and Alice are special. Jack is incredibly famous in the field of astronomy and quite a wag and wit. Clearly extremely intellectual yet he makes the stars accessible for non-astronomers. After dark we went up into the observatory and he showed us various stars etc through his telescopes. You get to look! He also did a talk after breakfast back in the observatory. Non of this is obligatory but you would be a fool to miss it. Breakfast was eaten at a communal table with Jack and Alice and the other 6 guests (one family) and was fresh and delicious - all homemade and prepared by Alice who is a lovely lady.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kinglynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This review needs two parts. But both score the same... Excellent!

The B&B itself is lovely, we stayed in the largest Eclipse suite. It is a large two bedroom/one bath unit, with a kitchenette and living room. It was comfortable, and the beds were great. My teenaged kids had their own room with twin beds and everything was perfect. Alice and Jack were great hosts, and made us feel more than welcomed in their home. This was my families first B&B experience and it was great. On the drive back home my daughter described the experience, "like a really cool sleep over with grandma and grandpa"

On the Astronomy and Astrophotography side... well... what can I say. WOW. I have owned (and struggled with) telescopes since the early 80's. All I can say is I wish that I had spent the two hour astrophotography tutorial with Jack 30 years ago. Having Jack Newton show and explain how to take photo's through your telescope is on par with having Mario Andretti teach you how to drive. Jack made a process, one that I have struggled with for decades, so simple, so easy, and netted incredible results.

If you own a scope, even if you think you know what you are doing, you NEED to stay here and spend an evening with Jack.

I would also encourage people to book multiple nights. We booked three, while Osoyoos is a desert, that does not guarantee clear skies and we only got one clear night out of our three. But Jack has a plan for those evenings. Jack's home comes complete with a monster private theater where Jack either offers PowerPoint slides of some of the things he has done over the years, photos he has taken of the nights sky, or recent developments in the field of Astronomy; or he has a considerable collection of astronomy documentary movies, many in 3D IMAX.

This trip was for really for me. But even the non-geeks in the family loved it. My 12 year old son, described it as one of the best vacations he had ever had.

Room Tip: Families need to book the Eclipse Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MauiFam83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed for three nights at the Observatory B&B with hosts Jack and Alice Newton. Jack is a wealth of information, and Alice is an absolute delight. Our room was a pleasant surprise - a full suite including kitchen! We had a separate bedroom, livingroom and open kitchen area -- with a private patio overlooking the town of Osoyoos and the Lake right from our room up in the hills. The entire house was on a theme of the stars and had quite unique "finds". Even our bathroom sink was made from orthosarus, and the toilet paper had little gold stars. The bed was super comfy with soft cotton sheets, and there was an abundance of quail and hummingbirds every day. Although it was cloudy both day and night for all three days we were there, Jack did make an effort to show us the night sky in his observatory, and I got some great photos of the full moon with which he helped me. We also saw, through a break in the clouds - Saturn with it's rings! Amazing. This was quite a treat! Well worth the drive up the mountain to stay here with this lovely couple and learn SO much from their generous sharing of knowledge.

Room Tip: All of the rooms here are large, private suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swillshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osoyoos hotels
2.3 mi away
Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort
3.0 mi away
Watermark Beach Resort
3.8 mi away
The Spare Room Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Desert Oasis Bed and Breakfast
1.6 mi away
Walnut Beach Resort
Walnut Beach Resort
#5 of 26 in Osoyoos
1,108 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday inn Hotel & Suites Osoyoos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Observatory Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Observatory Bed & Breakfast

Property: Observatory Bed & Breakfast
Address: # 3 Observatory Road | 1270 Hwy 3 East, Osoyoos, British Columbia V0H 1V6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Osoyoos
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Osoyoos
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing