We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Osoyoos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Observatory Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 17 Osoyoos B&B and Inns
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This was a great stay. The property and the rooms where amazing. Breakfast was top notch. I recommend this B&B anytime. Sun or rain our host and hostess were always great and they helped us by giving ideas on places to visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
48
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

First, I would like to thank both Jack & Alice for being such great hosts.
We spent one night at the Observatory in June 2014 and we will never forget it! The view is gorgeous and the friendly hummingbird visitor was a thrill for our children. The space decor matched the B&B perfectly. Beds were very comfy and the kids loved having their own space room they couldn't stop talking about it. We enjoyed the conversations with Jack & Alice and LOVED watching space through the telescope and we were able to view the sun the next morning - wow this was great. Alice made a wonderful breakfast for the family - thank you so much. Also, Jack and Alice gave both of our kids a special present - they kids loved it so much they bought the presents to show and tell when we got home. One day we will be back; our kids keep telling everyone about their great experience. Thank you again for sharing so many stories and your photographs.

Thank you Jack & Alice for an amazing experience with my children and their grand parents!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wildrosetwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Jack is a knowledgeable friendly host; accompanied by wonderful humours witty and kind Alice. They together create the perfect cozy and warm getaway….
We have been visiting them since 2006, loved it always….
Nasreen & Murray
Vancouver, B.C

Room Tip: Children and adult could enjoy that telescope and Jack's knowledge all together ;) Rooms all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nasreen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This is more than a B & B - Jack & Alice are great hosts and offer very comfortable accommodation with the added bonus of offering entertainment and being able to view the
night skies in their attached observatory. The humour at the breakfast table is also something
not to be missed.
Peter & Wyn Aldous,
Geraldine, New Zealand

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My business, an adventure travel company specializing in geology tours, has booked rooms at the Observatory for 15+ years. Our guests have never been disappointed. Jack does a fabulous job of introducing novices to astronomy, while serious star-gazers will delight in his detailed knowledge of the cosmos. State of the art photo equipment is available, so you can take home a wonderful keepsake of what you see thru the telescope.

The breakfasts Alice prepares are wonderful, as is the view from the breakfast room. Many of our guests say this was the highlight of their trip to British Columbia.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B0bR0cks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

-perched on the edge of the mountain over looking The town of Osoyoos and the Osoyoos lake, spectacular.
-a fabulous opportunity to view the stars through their telescope from their observatory, Jack gave us a wonderful presentation on astronomy (101), and to viewed an IMAX 3d movie on the Hubble telescope in their home theatre.
-Jack and Alice were very warm and welcoming.
-delicious breakfast in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Don A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
179 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I thought this place looked interesting when we were looking for a place to stay in Osoyoos. Though my husband and I don't know much about astronomy, we thought it would be an experience. It was so much more than that! Alice and Jack are so warm and welcoming. The room we had (the Saturn room) was amazing, with it's fossil sink and incredible view. It's a huge suite as well, and so very clean. It even has a kitchenette (though we didn't use it).

They have a book of restaurants for the area, and recommended an Italian restaurant for us to try, which was fabulous. But the best part was yet to come - at 8:30 we met with Jack in the living room, where he told us information about the cosmos, and then invited us up into the observatory. We spent about an hour and half viewing stars, planets and the very full moon. It was absolutely fascinating, even though we didn't know anything about astronomy before we arrived. I look at the sky in an entirely different way now.

Breakfast was wonderful, served in their living room/dining room that has the most amazing view you have ever seen. Wish we could have stayed longer for the morning visit to the observatory, but we had to move on. Hopefully we'll be able to return!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beaglemom22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osoyoos hotels
2.3 mi away
Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort
3.0 mi away
Watermark Beach Resort
3.8 mi away
The Spare Room Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Desert Oasis Bed and Breakfast
1.6 mi away
Walnut Beach Resort
Walnut Beach Resort
#5 of 26 in Osoyoos
1,108 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday inn Hotel & Suites Osoyoos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Observatory Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Observatory Bed & Breakfast

Property: Observatory Bed & Breakfast
Address: # 3 Observatory Road | 1270 Hwy 3 East, Osoyoos, British Columbia V0H 1V6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Osoyoos
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Osoyoos
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing