We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Railroad display was well worth the stop” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Osoyoos Desert Model Railroad

Osoyoos Desert Model Railroad
Ranked #1 of 44 things to do in Osoyoos
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: OPEN YEAR ROUND Monday to Saturday. A world Class Miniature Wonderland Experience. 4000 sq ft. of family fun with up to 45 computer controlled trains traveling on 2 km (1 1/4 miles) of tracks weaving through mountains and towns. Discover the 18000 + hand-painted little people and animals in scale 1:87 (HO) placed in humorous and funny situations and scenes. You'll be impressed with the devotion to details and the charm and humor of the presentation. Watch with delight, the unique operational car system running through towns, stopping for gas and traffic lights. So much more than just Trains.When driving from downtown Osoyoos, take Hwy 3 towards Vancouver (about 3 km.) Turn left at the SECOND enterance into the Buena Vista Industrial Park onto 115th Street. Look for the yellow warehouse with the big signs out front.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Railroad display was well worth the stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Very detailed and interesting model railroad display was very pleased with the stop. Great for all ages.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank deemouse3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UllaPedersen, Owner at Osoyoos Desert Model Railroad, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thanks for visiting us here at the railroad and we are so happy that you stopped by and had a great time.
Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    59
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excessive narration”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

This was an excellent display, for all ages, and even for non-train enthusiasts. The only problem was the "tour guide" (second generation) who felt it neccesary to talk us through our whole visit. It would have been much more enjoyable if we had been able to view it without all the chit chat.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank kofienut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UllaPedersen, Owner at Osoyoos Desert Model Railroad, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for coming to visit us at the model railroad. We have now been open for 10 years and have learned over the years that it is impossible to please everybody no matter how hard we try. Some find some of our scenes offensive, while others find them very funny and some like the input from us and others don’t. I am sorry you didn’t appreciate the attention, but all you had to do was indicate to us, that you would rather be left alone.
We hope you will come back again for another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Osoyoos Desert Model Railroad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

This attraction was one of the highlights of our stay in Osoyoos. A marvelous layout, easy to see and enjoy and well priced.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank 2kiwis_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UllaPedersen, Owner at Osoyoos Desert Model Railroad, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
We are so very glad that you found your way to see us at the model railroad display and that your visit was one of the highlights of your vacation in Osoyoos. We try our very best to keep our admission fee affordable and the fact that we have many repeat visitors speaks to that.
We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lloydminster, Canada
Level Contributor
267 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“very interesting and alot to take in”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

this was a very interesting exhibit and a nice gift shop a lot of work has gone in to make this attraction ...I was a little disturbed that a burning house and an accident scene were included which I did not think was necessary and could be upsetting if you recently experienced these events ..they just did not fit in with the exhibit ?? I would definitely recommend seeing this and there is a person challenging you to find things which made it fun and is very knowledgeable..this could be hard to do if a lot of people looking at the same time

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank rlmptl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UllaPedersen, Owner at Osoyoos Desert Model Railroad, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you so much for coming to visit us at the model railroad. What we have tried to accomplice in our miniature wonder world is little snippets of the real world and that includes both the happy and sometimes the sad aspects. I am sorry if the two scenes you described was upsetting to you and I can inform you that we have had 2 fires in the past ourselves, so we know the effect of it.
I am glad that you had fun with my son-in-law challenging you to find some of all the hidden gems and sure in the slower season visitors get a much more personalized treatment for obvious reasons than in the busy summer months.
We hope to see you and your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing attention to detail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

We took my parents who were visiting from England along with our 2 children aged 4 & 6. We all had a wonderful time the models were incredible and there were so many things to see that we found ourselves going back again and again to the same area to uncover more hidden gems. The staff were friendly and overall gave the place a great family atmosphere. Good value for money an excellent choice especially on a rainy day.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank daydaysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UllaPedersen, Manager at Osoyoos Desert Model Railroad, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for bringing your family from England to visit us at the model railroad display. We get visitors from all over the world and this fall we have had many from both England and Australia. As you discovered you can spend a lot of time in just one small little area, as there are so many things to look for and we are glad that you uncovered some of all the hidden gems. I thank you for your kind comments about my family and that you found good value for your money.
We hope to see you and your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osoyoos Desert Model Railroad also viewed

Osoyoos, Okanagan Valley
 
Osoyoos, Okanagan Valley
Osoyoos, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Osoyoos Desert Model Railroad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing