We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”

Osoyoos Desert Model Railroad
Ranked #1 of 48 things to do in Osoyoos
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: OPEN YEAR ROUND Monday to Saturday. A world Class Miniature Wonderland Experience. 4000 sq ft. of family fun with up to 45 computer controlled trains traveling on 2 km (1 1/4 miles) of tracks weaving through mountains and towns. Discover the 18000 + hand-painted little people and animals in scale 1:87 (HO) placed in humorous and funny situations and scenes. You'll be impressed with the devotion to details and the charm and humor of the presentation. Watch with delight, the unique operational car system running through towns, stopping for gas and traffic lights. So much more than just Trains.When driving from downtown Osoyoos, take Hwy 3 towards Vancouver (about 3 km.) Turn left at the SECOND enterance into the Buena Vista Industrial Park onto 115th Street. Look for the yellow warehouse with the big signs out front.
Reviewed 22 August 2014

It is lovely to see the craftsmanship that is on display at this model train museum! The entire exhibit is based on the HO model train scale. Everything from the miniature buildings to the hand painted figurines and the working mini street lamps is honestly something to be seen to be believed! This exhibit is a must.... Totally enjoyable.

Thank jwhyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UllaPedersen, Owner at Osoyoos Desert Model Railroad, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

We thank you for coming to visit our model railroad display and for your great appreciation of all that you experienced while you were here. We are so glad that you really enjoyed yourself and noticed the mini street lamps. When the lights are dimmed, you can really see all the magic all those little lights create.
We hope you will come again for a visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (478)
There are newer reviews for Osoyoos Desert Model Railroad
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

313 - 317 of 478 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

We were in awe of the creativity & the very detailed workmanship! We spent two hours here.
We were lucky to meet Poul who also pointed out details to us in this truly amazing 4000 sq ft display he & his family have created! Don't be rushed when you stop here…great viewing for adults & children!
Hats off to this family for their friendliness & patience creating this wonderful Miniature Wonderland, World Class!..It's a must see on your travels to Osoyoos!

Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UllaPedersen, Owner at Osoyoos Desert Model Railroad, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you very much for coming to visit us and for your rave review. Awesome that you had such a good time here and that you got to meet Poul my husband. He is still like a kid in a candy store, when he points out some of all the many details, which you might otherwise have missed.
We are so honoured you deem us a World Class Miniature Wonderland and for your very nice comments about our family as well.
We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

While driving to Osoyoos, we saw the sign for the Desert Model Railroad. We decided to take a look. When we found out it cost $7.50 each, my wife said "I don't want to pay to see a model railroad". After I convinced her to go, she was like a little kid at an amusement park. She kept finding fun little details and beckoning me over to look. After spending a couple of hours we departed, with every intention to return again. We have told all of our family and friends, that they should visit, especially if they have little ones.

Thank Glenn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UllaPedersen, Owner at Osoyoos Desert Model Railroad, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for coming to visit us after you saw our sign. Very often we hear the same argument, that the women don’t want to go see our display, as they don’t think they will get any enjoyment out of paying the entrance fee. Afterwards, most often they can’t praise it enough and as your wife experienced there are so many details and fun things to find, as our display is so much more than just trains. The fact that you recommended us to family and friends is very much appreciated.
We certainly look forward to seeing you and your wife again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

so many things to see in mini scale: my 4 yr. pointed out: look that little boy on the beach has the floating wings...and my 7 yr. old daughter spotted two wedding couple exiting the church. Excellent work, even the bus stopped on his stop.... Nice museum for big or small.

Thank E L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UllaPedersen, Owner at Osoyoos Desert Model Railroad, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you so much for coming to visit us at the model railroad.
It never seizes to amaze me what little gems the kids can find on our lay-out and most often even the adults don’t see them. We actually have 8 weddings taking place, so our fantasy world is a busy place. So next time you come look for all the weddings!
The bus is definitely a big hit with young and old and because there is a very thin wire embedded in the road and a magnet in the bus, it looks like the bus is driving without any guidance. Very cool!
We hope to see you and your family again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We are a mature couple who have visited other railroad model museums, but this one blew us away. So much detail, so many settings.. The work that has gone into this is mind boggling. For example, the 20000 human figures were all hand painted! I think you really have to be an adult to truly appreciate this place.

Thank mlee9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UllaPedersen, Owner at Osoyoos Desert Model Railroad, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

I am so glad that our model railroad could impress and blow you away, when you compare us to other places you have visited.
It is true that the kids maybe can’t grasp the intricate work, we have done, but they can absolutely have their creativity activated. We sell the little hand painted people in our showroom and for me it is so gratifying to hear about the little scenes they are going to go home and create and what materials they are going to use to achieve their vision.
We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osoyoos Desert Model Railroad also viewed

Osoyoos, Okanagan Valley
 
Osoyoos, Okanagan Valley
Osoyoos, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Osoyoos Desert Model Railroad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing