We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the stress and poorly managed”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Osoyoos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Del Mila Oro Resort
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Osoyoos
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This resort has gone to the dogs. Between myself, friends and family, we have left in excess of $20,000 dollars at this place over the years in condo rentals. We have ignored the fact that it's boat slips and piers are absolutely the worst on the lake because the suites are acceptable and the location on the lake is ideal. Management of this place has bounced at least three times over the years i have been staying there. Discontent and in-fighting seem to simmer there constantly in my opinion. Last year my mother (65 years old) paid these clowns approximately $1200 deposit to rent a two bedroom unit and had to cancel due to health. At the time she was offered a credit for a future stay in lieu of a refund. After several discussions and phone calls for documentation to support this credit the management indicates now that the money went into the bank account of some imaginary entity and they say they have no recourse....??????. They will not honor her credit nor return her money. How would you rate that? Never again.....

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Chad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda A, Manager at Casa Del Mila Oro Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that the experience with your mother was not a favorable one. The former rental management company which you dealt with was dismissed by Casa Del Mila Oro because they did not reflect the standards we hope to uphold at our resort. The management we now have on site strive to be courteous and professional in all aspects of operating the resort. Our #1 policy is for 100% satisfaction from all our guests and we will do what we can to achieve this goal. Our policy for refunds are standard in the industry for individually owned condos and differ from past management. We offer refunds less $100.00 up to 30 days before arrival. After 30 days there is no refund given unless the unit is rented for the same dates then you will receive your refund minus the $100.00 operating fee. Again, we are sorry for your experience and would hope that you would try us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2012

We are still enjoying our trip to Osoyoos; rented a two bedroom condo at Casa Del Mila Oro Resort.

Easy to find, great, clean condo by the pool, bbq, laundry, two tv's, dishwasher, clean dishes, beautiful property!

We are having a great family vacation and would return soon.

I also just had an amazing facial at the spa here; worth the $80 it cost. Just fabulous! We have nothing bad to say about this place.

Room Tip: We enjoyed unit 131 which was not in the rental pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Nicole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Stayed 5 nights at the end of September 2011. The resort was very quiet as was Osoyoos. We rented a privately managed unit on the main floor (2 bedroom). The kitchen dishes, utensils and cookware was dirty and we had to wash eveything before we used it. The small applicances were of very inexpensive quality but worked reasonably well (just expected better considering the price per night). The bed in the master was also poor and we did not really get good rest. A final compliant was the TV's. Both were old tube type and very small. I realize that one does not usually watch a lot of TV on vacation however being in our early 50s and dark by 7:30 or 8 pm, some decent entertainment was necessary. However we had a decent time and the unit is a good location for visiting wineries and other sites in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank wadeandjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Just back from a week at this resort. Had a lovely time. Unit was a bit dark from too few windows (they try to fit in as many as possible with a lake view so they are long and thin). The view from the master bedroom patio is spectacular and a great place to have your morning coffee. The traffic is not a big problem but the bigger trucks (or loud motorcycles) are noticeable. Was very peaceful until the last day when 3 families moved in with lots of kids with our unit right in the middle of them. Our peace and quiete promptly dissapeared. However one should recognize that it is a family resort. So you never know if you will have peace and quiete or a kinder garden. Bottom line:we enjoyed it so much we'll try it again.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SwanieLethbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed in a Townhouse unit with a great view of the lake and loved it. The townhouse units are 3 bedrooms and two full bathrooms on the second floor. The buildings use Geothermal technology for cooling so you don't here the sound of an air conditioner. The lake is across the street and is usually calm in the morning before all of the boaters get out. The pool & hot tub is in the centre of the complex. The only drawback is a bit of traffic noise (minor) and the pool isn't open until 9 a.m.

Room Tip: Units are available through the rental pool and we found ours on VRBO.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank video99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We just returned from a week-long stay with our in-laws and kids in one of the 3-room townhouses (we also stayed in 2009 - very large and comfortable for 7 people). The units are very nicely furnished (I wish I took pics because the units we've stayed in have been much nicer than those pictured), the kitchen is well outfitted for preparing meals and the pool & beach area is very nice. The townhomes face the lake and have a ground level and second level patios and each unit has a garage. Everything was very clean and well-maintained (including the pool). The manager of the rental pool, Arlene, is very friendly and responsive - a slow toilet in our unit was fixed the next morning. Lot's of families with kids but everyone we met was friendly and we never felt too crowded.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fionaYEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

We just returned from a 1 week vacation at Casa Del Mila Oro where we rented 2 condos in mid August.

The property is made up of 4 buildings with a swimming pool courtyard in the middle. 1 building is a row of 2 story townhouses that have a lake view, 2 buildings are made up of condos with ground floor or 2nd floor units that have a pool view and the 4th building houses a full service spa and conference center.

The property is located on the South East side of the lake. The town of Osoyoos splits the lake in half. The North side of the lake is larger as the South side has the large peninsula of Hayes Point Provincial Park in it.

The property is located on the lakefront; however, there is a fairly busy road that you must cross to get to the beach.

All the townhouses and one row of condos either face or back onto the road. In the condos, the master bedroom faces the road is with the other side of the condo facing the pool. The road noise outside your bedroom window can be disturbing at night. There are a lot of parking spots but they fill up fast. We never found ourselves without a parking space but we often got the last or 2nd last spot.

The beach is a large grass beach with a southern exposure. There are a few small alcoves in the grass with rocky sand for the kids to play in. When wading into the lake from the beach, the water gets deep quickly, and the bottom gets mucky. There is a private dock with moorage available and a ladder so that you can jump or dive off the dock and swim in deeper water. The water seemed to be about 7 feet deep off of the dock.

The pool area has a pool, hot tub and lounge chairs. The pool and hot tub were very clean. We witnessed maintenance checking the chemical and ph levels every morning. The pool is open from 8am – 11pm (quiet time is 11 pm – 8 am). The pool was used till 11pm every night. You would hear kids playing right till 11, and then at 11, all was quiet. I was never there when they closed the pool but I did notice that the whole place quieted right down at 11.

The condos are all privately owned so they are not all furnished alike. They have different rules and varying quality levels of appliances. Some are managed privately and some are in a rental pool and are managed by the resort. The condos came with most of the essentials. We had to buy a few things but for the most part both condos were well stocked. The A/C in both condos worked great. Osoyoos is very hot in summer; A/C is essential.

We had 2 condos. One was managed privately and one was in the rental pool. The layout of both condos was identical. Both had a master bedroom and a 2nd bedroom with bunk beds. They both had one bathroom with laundry, kitchen, breakfast nook and a living room. There are TV's in the living room and master bedroom. The living room also has a dvd player and a cd player. Our ground floor condo had a patio with a table, umbrella and seating for 4. The pool courtyard was just a short walk across some decorative rocks. Shoes were necessary to walk across the rocks as they were fairly sharp and rough. Our 2nd floor condo had a small balcony with 2 chairs and a small table that you could set a drink or book on. Both had a barbeque. One barbeque was large, nice and new and one was small and old with only 1 side that worked.

Neither condo had a dining area other than the nook with tall stools. Toddlers may have trouble sitting on the tall stools to eat.

Each condo had different furniture but the rest was pretty much the same. The property is fairly new, so everything was still in good shape. The units were both “no smoking” and one did not allow pets, so there were no odour or allergy concerns.

There were a few negatives:
- The mattresses on the beds were extremely firm. They took a few days to get used to.
- The 2nd bedroom has no closet to store clothes or luggage in.
- The shower head “screams” for a few minutes when you first turn it on; there must be air in the pipes or something. It is loud enough that you can hear the “scream” from other condos.
- The hallway, which extends most of the length of the condo has a tile floor, so when you are in a ground floor unit, you can hear a lot of noise from the unit above you. Adults walking sound like elephants and children running back and forth sound like a stampede. We found this very hard to ignore, especially when trying to sleep late.
- There were more light switches than I have ever seen. We never did figure out what some of them did.
- There were two doors to the bathroom, one in the hall and one in the master bedroom. Both doors were sliding doors which were very loud. There was no way to use the doors in the night without bothering someone.
- The property has no phones or wifi, so you are limited to cell phone use. So, no internet / email.

The bedding and towels in both units were very clean however there was a very noticeable difference in the level of overall cleanliness in the rest of the condo. The condo that was part of the rental pool was much cleaner than the condo that was privately managed.

The property is within walking distance to Rattlesnake Canyon , which is a small amusement park with rides, mini golf, go carts, arcade, temporary tattoos a concession and ice cream. The rides vary in price from around $5.00 - $15.00. The park is very clean and appears to be well maintained with a decent staff.

To get to anywhere else, like restaurants, banks or stores, you will probably need to drive.

Osoyoos is extremely busy during the summer months, so when driving you must be alert and patient. There are 2 large grocery stores, 2 drug stores, a home hardware and several clothing stores. There are many restaurants, lounges and gas stations on the west side of the city.

The water in the lake is very warm, probably the warmest freshwater lake in Canada. There are at least 3 places to rent boats and jet skis on the lake; Starlight Marina & Nk’Mip Campground on the North side of the lake and Safari Beach on the South side of the lake. The rentals at Nk’Mip Campground are actually through Safari Beach. If you rent from Starlight Marina, you have to stay on the North side of the lake. If you rent from Safari Beach, you have to stay on the South side of the lake. But, if you rent from Nk’Mip Campground, you can go on both sides of the lake. The reason for this is because Nk’Mip is on the North side but they want you to fill up gas at their home marina (Safari Beach) on the South side. It’s actually in your benefit to do this as the cost for fuel was significantly less at the Safari Beach marina.

We enjoyed our stay at Casa Del Mila Oro and will probably return. If we do return, we will rent a unit from the rental pool because it was so much cleaner than the condo that was privately managed.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BcDarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osoyoos hotels
1.1 mi away
Watermark Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
Spirit Ridge
Spirit Ridge
#3 of 26 in Osoyoos
1,494 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Sunrise Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Coast Osoyoos Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Walnut Beach Resort
Walnut Beach Resort
#5 of 26 in Osoyoos
1,264 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sandy Beach Motel
Sandy Beach Motel
#1 of 26 in Osoyoos
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Del Mila Oro Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Mila Oro Resort

Address: 5401 Lakeshore Dr, Osoyoos, British Columbia V0H 1V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Osoyoos
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Osoyoos
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Osoyoos and enjoy a truly unique Canadian vacation on the shores of the warmest lake in Canada located in the most northern tip of the Sonoran desert! Casa Del Mila Oro Resort offers an authentic vacation in generous, fully equipped, 3 bedroom townhouses and 2 bedroom condos on 300 feet of private beachfront. Enjoy the beach, relax next to pool, soak in the hot tub or indulge in a luxurious spa treatment, Casa Del Mila Oro Resort has it all on your doorstep. Year round Osoyoos has an array of appealing activities in store. Snowbirds come to escape the winter, while wine & food enthusiasts come to sample award winning wines pared with uniquely Okanagan food, outdoor adventurers come for that unique desert experience while Golfers come for the challenge of 5 exceptional local courses. Since 2006 the resort has been welcoming guests who often return each year for their annual family vacation creating memories that last a lifetime. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing