We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“won't be returning”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Osoyoos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Del Mila Oro Resort
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Osoyoos
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“won't be returning”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We searched high a low for a condo with a boat slip. The advertising and conversations made it seem like this condo was on the lake. It was across the street. We stated we wanted a walkout to the lake with a boat flip and they assured us this is what we were getting.
As soon as we arrived we noticed it was not on the lake but assumed we were in a lake front condo. We were wrong. We were across the street, around the corner facing a field and on the second floor!
Condo was nice, pool was ok, but for $300 a night was not at all what we thought we were getting.
we left and moved to a hotel on the lake with a boat slip, view and walk out for $120 a night.
Will not be going back

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nataleebouman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda A, Manager at Casa Del Mila Oro Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are sorry if we did not meet your expectations. We try to make it clear to all our guests the type of accommodations they will be receiving when they book their units. As you pointed out the units and the resort itself are nice but not all units have a lake view. The 3 bedroom townhomes have spectacular view of the lake while the 2 bedroom condos are poolside and approximately 50 yards from the lake and dock. The condo you rented has a daily summer rate of $240/ night or $1400/week. We are very conscious of the prices of our units and that is why we check on a regular basis the prices of accommodations that are of similar quality. We have found that we tend to be of equal price if not lower than others with the same amenities. Once again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    9
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My husband and I and 2 other couples arrived on a very hot Monday for a week's stay in Unit #103. The A/C wasn't working and due to it being a holiday they were unable to fix it until Wednesday afternoon. On Tuesday temperatures reached 43 degrees - extremely hot!! Prior to arriving at the condo, we didn't realize that the 3rd bedroom didn't have any windows, no closet and no dressers. It did have a skylight, but it didn't open. That room was so hot that the unlucky couple staying in that room had to sleep on the sofa for 2 nights and it wasn't a pull out. They also had to share another bedroom's closet and dresser. In addition to this, the first day we arrived the fridge was too cold and freezing the food. We followed the directions on the fridge to turn it down, but then it seemed to stop working. Luckily we still had frozen ice packs and put all of our food back in our coolers overnight. The next day the fridge was working fine. We also had problem with the BBQ, no one could get it to start. Even if we had, the burner covers were disintegrated and in the drip tray so any attempt to BBQ would have flamed out.
These issues weren't a good start to our stay, but we can appreciate that things like this can happen. When we contacted the owner, she did deal with the A/C issue as quickly as she could. What we didn't like was that she didn't show any empathy, was not prepared to give us any rebate for the incoveniences we endured and was very accusatory, implying we didn't know what we were doing. I can assure you that we are all over age 50 and very responsible adults who treat other's properties with care and respect, so we didn't appreciate her tone.
The unit itself was comfortable once the A/C was working, but it should not be advertised as a 3 bedroom condo. It would better suit 2 couples with kids sharing the 3rd bedroom

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pegolog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This resort has gone to the dogs. Between myself, friends and family, we have left in excess of $20,000 dollars at this place over the years in condo rentals. We have ignored the fact that it's boat slips and piers are absolutely the worst on the lake because the suites are acceptable and the location on the lake is ideal. Management of this place has bounced at least three times over the years i have been staying there. Discontent and in-fighting seem to simmer there constantly in my opinion. Last year my mother (65 years old) paid these clowns approximately $1200 deposit to rent a two bedroom unit and had to cancel due to health. At the time she was offered a credit for a future stay in lieu of a refund. After several discussions and phone calls for documentation to support this credit the management indicates now that the money went into the bank account of some imaginary entity and they say they have no recourse....??????. They will not honor her credit nor return her money. How would you rate that? Never again.....

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Chad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda A, Manager at Casa Del Mila Oro Resort, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that the experience with your mother was not a favorable one. The former rental management company which you dealt with was dismissed by Casa Del Mila Oro because they did not reflect the standards we hope to uphold at our resort. The management we now have on site strive to be courteous and professional in all aspects of operating the resort. Our #1 policy is for 100% satisfaction from all our guests and we will do what we can to achieve this goal. Our policy for refunds are standard in the industry for individually owned condos and differ from past management. We offer refunds less $100.00 up to 30 days before arrival. After 30 days there is no refund given unless the unit is rented for the same dates then you will receive your refund minus the $100.00 operating fee. Again, we are sorry for your experience and would hope that you would try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We are still enjoying our trip to Osoyoos; rented a two bedroom condo at Casa Del Mila Oro Resort.

Easy to find, great, clean condo by the pool, bbq, laundry, two tv's, dishwasher, clean dishes, beautiful property!

We are having a great family vacation and would return soon.

I also just had an amazing facial at the spa here; worth the $80 it cost. Just fabulous! We have nothing bad to say about this place.

Room Tip: We enjoyed unit 131 which was not in the rental pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Stayed 5 nights at the end of September 2011. The resort was very quiet as was Osoyoos. We rented a privately managed unit on the main floor (2 bedroom). The kitchen dishes, utensils and cookware was dirty and we had to wash eveything before we used it. The small applicances were of very inexpensive quality but worked reasonably well (just expected better considering the price per night). The bed in the master was also poor and we did not really get good rest. A final compliant was the TV's. Both were old tube type and very small. I realize that one does not usually watch a lot of TV on vacation however being in our early 50s and dark by 7:30 or 8 pm, some decent entertainment was necessary. However we had a decent time and the unit is a good location for visiting wineries and other sites in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank wadeandjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Just back from a week at this resort. Had a lovely time. Unit was a bit dark from too few windows (they try to fit in as many as possible with a lake view so they are long and thin). The view from the master bedroom patio is spectacular and a great place to have your morning coffee. The traffic is not a big problem but the bigger trucks (or loud motorcycles) are noticeable. Was very peaceful until the last day when 3 families moved in with lots of kids with our unit right in the middle of them. Our peace and quiete promptly dissapeared. However one should recognize that it is a family resort. So you never know if you will have peace and quiete or a kinder garden. Bottom line:we enjoyed it so much we'll try it again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SwanieLethbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed in a Townhouse unit with a great view of the lake and loved it. The townhouse units are 3 bedrooms and two full bathrooms on the second floor. The buildings use Geothermal technology for cooling so you don't here the sound of an air conditioner. The lake is across the street and is usually calm in the morning before all of the boaters get out. The pool & hot tub is in the centre of the complex. The only drawback is a bit of traffic noise (minor) and the pool isn't open until 9 a.m.

Room Tip: Units are available through the rental pool and we found ours on VRBO.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank video99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osoyoos hotels
1.2 mi away
Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort
1.1 mi away
Watermark Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Coast Osoyoos Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Sunrise Inn
0.5 mi away
Walnut Beach Resort
Walnut Beach Resort
#5 of 26 in Osoyoos
1,188 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday inn Hotel & Suites Osoyoos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Del Mila Oro Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Mila Oro Resort

Property: Casa Del Mila Oro Resort
Address: 5401 Lakeshore Dr, Osoyoos, British Columbia V0H 1V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Osoyoos
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Osoyoos
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Osoyoos and enjoy a truly unique Canadian vacation on the shores of the warmest lake in Canada located in the most northern tip of the Sonoran desert! Casa Del Mila Oro Resort is under new management and offers an authentic vacation in generous, fully equipped, 3 bedroom townhouses and 2 bedroom condos on 300 feet of private beachfront. Enjoy the beach, relax next to pool, soak in the hot tub or indulge in a luxurious spa treatment, Casa Del Mila Oro Resort has it all on your doorstep. Year round Osoyoos has an array of appealing activities in store. Snowbirds come to escape the winter, while wine & food enthusiasts come to sample award winning wines pared with uniquely Okanagan food, outdoor adventurers come for that unique desert experience while Golfers come for the challenge of 5 exceptional local courses. Since 2006 the resort has been welcoming guests who often return each year for their annual family vacation creating memories that last a lifetime and building long lasting friendships within the resort community. We look forward to welcoming you to our Casa Del Mila Oro Resort community! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing