We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed microwaved prime rib” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonoma Grill - CLOSED

Sonoma Grill
Cuisines: Canadian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Douglas
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
93 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Disappointed microwaved prime rib”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012 via mobile

Well what more can I say? The prime rib special was obviously warmed up in the microwave. The service from this really old waiter was a joke. Forgot our drinks. Forgot my salad. Just disappointing

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rickheatherley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    2
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Seen better days”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

We held a corporate dinner here in the upstairs dining room. It was definitely a bonus to have the dedicated space and not have to share the restaurant with others.
Nice looking building and interior decor. It's a little dark (for an intimate ambiance?), but you can still detect that time has not been kind and high traffic areas are looking a bit shabby.
However, the menu offers a good selection, and everyone was happy with the choices of chicken, salmon or steak.
Servers were attentive, pleasant and professional.
Sonoma Grill is perhaps still a little above average for a mid-high end restaurant, but let's hope things aren't allowed to slide downhill.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank G H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Needs a Gordon Ramsey Overhaul”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

This restaurant would be perfect for a Kitchen Nightmare's renovation. The carpets are so stained and old...in desperate need of a facelift.

The food is average. The stuffed mushrooms were very good, the spinach dip was bland. The stuffed chicken was just ok. The schnitzle seems to be the most popular dish and was pretty good. The food just seems bland and processed...maybe made the day before. Just not FRESH.

They need to step up the quality for the price they are charging.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Canuckergirl1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible food!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

Please don't waste your time/money going to this restaurant in Langley. The building may look nice on the outside but on the inside there is nothing nice about it! We went for a birthday dinner earlier this month and were very disapointed. I think 2 people out of 12 were somewhat happy with their meals. The worst was the "sablefish" which was the poorest cut of fish possible(tons of bones, tail end) and very overcooked with a disgusting undercooked gritty sauce.. They also don't know how to cook salmon, steak mashed potatoes,you name it- it was all terrible. The servers didnt seem in the least bit surprised to have food sent back either..The only way that we will be going back to this restaurant is if they hire a new chef!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“60th Anniversary Dinner Party”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

We ate here last night to celebrate our friend's parents 60th wedding anniversary. Although it was probably the hottest day of the year, it wasn't unbearable in the upstairs private dining room. The rest of the restaurant was a little quiet, but with it being the long weekend, not unexpected. We had ceasar salad and fresh rolls, then a choice of prime rib, schnitzel, chicken or vegetarian pasta for the entree, with a choice of mousse or cheesecake(Both homemade on site, and delicious)The portions were generous, and the food cooked to perfection. Our servers went out of their way to be quick with everything, running up and down the stairs to accommodate our group. I would definitely recommend this place, I think that many people drive by and don't stop. They have really good specials during the week and their outdoor patio looks inviting. not many places have a nice place to eat outside. Give it a try, you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank coffeelady20936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sonoma Grill also viewed

 
Langley City, Langley
Langley City, Langley
 
Langley City, Langley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing