We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place with issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Abbotsford
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is a very nice facility that seems well-maintained, nicely appointed, clean and well-managed. The room I enjoyed--a king room on the third floor--was of generous size with an equally room bathroom (and featuring an auxiliary sink outside the bathroom). The furnishings and decor were tasteful, classy even. The staff were helpful and attentive. However, I ran into two rather significant problems, both related to the fact that I stayed in the hotel on a crowded weekend. First, the WIFI and hard-wired Internet access neither one worked well at all (I could access a web site or two and then it would stop working and I had to disconnect and reconnect to get any access). When I inquired, the staff admitted that their Internet access infrastructure is simply not able to keep up when the facility is quite full. This was a problem for me as I depend on dependable Internet access to do my work and to communicate with my family. Second, the breakfast room was small and very crowded. Breakfast was appropriately marketed as "continental" as there was no hot food (other than make-your-own waffles) or fresh fruit on offer. The problem was that I had to stand in a corner to consume what breakfast was available! So, I recommend the facility unless it's crowded, in which case it comes with some pretty significant drawbacks.

Room Tip: Avoid staying here during crowded times; Arrive early to breakfast due to the small, crowded breakfa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Double0Seven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Manager at Quality Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Hi Double0Seven,

Thank you for your feedback you provided about your recent stay with us.

While it is great to hear you enjoyed the room and amenities I am sorry to hear about the couple of issues you had.

The problems you addressed are in fact something we are in the process of looking into changing at the hotel for the continued comfort and convenience of our guests such as yourself.

I do hope we have the opportunity of welcome you back to the Ramada Plaza and Conference Centre in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Craig Simpson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

W stayed here for a wedding. The wedding and conference area is very nice. Our room was very clean. No issues there. We had a view out to a brick wall so in that category it's not that great so maybe ask for one that faces the road if you care about the view. Beds are comfy and clean. Decor is 80-90s a bit but in good shape. We also were able to go into the next room through ours if needed. For family visits. We stayed one night but it was very good! Staff is friendly and easy to talk too. White spot is also attached!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindskells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Manager at Quality Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Hi lindskells,

Thank you for your kind words about your stay with us at the Ramada Plaza and Conference Centre. We are very pleased you enjoyed yourselves and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Craig Simpson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Had not stayed here for a few years so I thought I'd try it again since we were visiting the adjacent Castle Fun Park (easily within walking distance). Location-wise you can simply park and walk to fast food, a grocery store, liquor store, etc. and it's easy access off the highway.

No problem parking, check-in was very quick and efficient and staff were friendly. The last time I stayed there were real problems with the air-conditioning so that is what I checked first thing this go around as it was a very hot day. The room was stifling hot upon arrival but within a half hour or so the temperature was very comfortable and it stayed that way throughout our stay. The room was clean, internet worked just fine and there were no 'issues'. I thought the beds were very comfortable, and even though we were on the 'highway side' of the building, noise was not an issue. We appreciated the complimentary shampoo, conditioner, etc. since I'd forgot to pack those.

Didn't use the pool or hot tub and got up too late for the 'free' breakfast so I can't comment on those items.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ydnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine L, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you so much for returning to the Ramada Plaza and taking a moment to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear your expectations were met regarding the location, cleanliness, and room temperature. Your comments truly reflect the experience we strive for with all of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back for a third visit when your travels bring you back to Abbotsford.

Sincerely,
The Ramada Plaza Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Even though we live nearby, we chose to stay at the Ramada Plaza (Abbotsford, BC) so we wouldn't have to drive home late at night after a wedding in the area. The rooms were clean and bright. The staff was friendly and willing to help in any and all ways. We also enjoyed the pool and hot tub. What a nice way to relax at the end of the day. The adjoining restaurant offered a good variety of breakfast foods and the service there was also exceptional.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DebbiDyck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine L, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

We truly appreciate the time you took to pass on your positive comments regarding your stay here at the Ramada Plaza. It is always nice to share encouraging feedback with our valued staff at the hotel and restaurant.

We hope to see you back in the near future!

Sincerely,
The Ramada Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Likely okay for a one night stay. We are down for a soccer tournament staying 4 nights. Seriously considering leaving a night early. Beds are doubles not queens and are not at all comfortable. Pillows are just as bad. My back is killing me. Our air conditioner is noisy and leaks water all over the floor. The continental breakfast has a very limited selection compared to other hotels.

The bed is the worst I have slept in and we travel lots. Won't recommend and won't return.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 71michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine L, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank-you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We’re sorry to hear your experience was less than pleasurable.

A comfortable sleep is of great importance for all of our guests and as a result we only use high quality Serta mattresses and Guest Supply pillows. We understand that not all mattresses and pillows will meet everyone’s expectations; however, we trust our supplier’s expert opinions and recommendations in serving our hotel guests with the best quality we can provide. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations in that regard; however, we can confidently say that we only offer Queen or King sized beds at the Ramada Plaza.

Additionally, we have spoken with our maintenance staff regarding the air conditioner in order to address the water concerns.

Finally, we apologize for the confusion with the continental breakfast. We have implemented the free breakfast as a light option that does not include protein. For a heartier breakfast we recommend the onsite restaurant where guests may order hot food and receive a 10% discount.

Again, we appreciate your feedback and hope to have you as a guest in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Ramada Plaza Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Couldn't believe that the bathroom light was burnt out and only source of light was a heat lamp and to make that even worse the air conditioner didn't work either. Tried calling front desk over and over again, only to get a busy signal. Finally resorting to call room service and having them call front desk to tell them about air conditioner. Finally 2 young girls are sent up to repair or who knows but by this time air started to blow so we thanked them and said we had it working...but 5 minutes later it stopped working again!! We decided it wasn't worth the effort to go through the whole process again, so we slept in a hot stuffy room and woke up early and left.We expected more from a Ramada.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobbi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine L, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We have addressed the lighting issue as well as the air conditioning unit with our maintenance department. Additionally, we have investigated the busy signal you encountered and spoken with the front desk personnel in order to avoid a repeat situation for our future guests.

Please accept our sincere apologies. We would be happy to discuss this further with you if needed and hope that you will consider visiting us again the next time you are in Abbotsford.

Sincerely,
The Ramada Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed one night to attend a wedding. Good location for travellers driving through or if you want to visit Wonderland next door. Other than a grocery store being a 10 minute walk away, everything else is far away.

We had a perfect location on 4th floor at the back. It was nice and quiet. Beds were comfortable and there was a safe and a couple of bottles of free water. Loved having an empty fridge to put in my own beverages. Nice make-up vanity but lighting was poor in both bathroom and above vanity. Poor for doing make-up anyhow.

Taxi service was atrocious. I guess because being away from town the taxi takes at least 10 minutes or in our case never showed up. The hotel has a shuttle van but not in use for customer service - at least not when we were there. Having a shuttle would certainly be an added bonus especially with distance and taxi service. An American practice that Canada should incorporated.

Continental breakfast came with the room. I know it is continental, but it would of been nice to have some protein morsel other than the peanut butter - try some hard boiled eggs please. All the bread items were lovely but again, no good for gluten-free types.

For the price we paid, I thought the Ramada fit the bill. I just wouldn't want to stay any length of time..

Room Tip: Try for even numbered rooms on 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hosta_La_Vista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine L, Manager at Quality Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

We are happy to hear that your stay with us was a comfortable one and we appreciate that you chose the Ramada Plaza!

We recently implemented a continental breakfast for our Hotel guests based on their feedback. This is meant to be a "lighter" breakfast as our Hotel guests do received 10% off at the on-site White Spot restaurant where they are able to get a more substantial breakfast, should they choose.

We will certainly forward your comments to the local taxi company, as everything is within a 10 minute drive in Abbotsford there is no excuse for them to take so long and we apologize that you experienced poor service from them.

We do hope to welcome you back when your travels bring you back to Abbotsford.

Regards,

Ramada Plaza & Conference Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abbotsford
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Regency Inn & Conference Centre
1.9 mi away
Super 8 Abbotsford BC
Super 8 Abbotsford BC
#6 of 13 in Abbotsford
685 reviews
1.9 mi away
Coast Abbotsford Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Best Western Bakerview Inn
Best Western Bakerview Inn
#9 of 13 in Abbotsford
234 reviews
13.1 mi away
Vedder River Inn
Vedder River Inn
#6 of 9 in Chilliwack
168 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sandman Hotel & Suites Abbotsford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 36035 North Parallel Rd, Abbotsford, British Columbia V3G 2C6, Canada (Formerly Ramada Plaza Abbotsford Hotel and Conference Centre)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Abbotsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Abbotsford
#3 Business Hotel in Abbotsford
Price Range: £54 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our location off Trans-Canada Highway 1 puts our pet-friendly Abbotsford hotel within walking distance to 2 shopping plazas with supermarkets, professional services, bistros and fast food restaurants. Invite your friends, family and colleagues to your next event in one of our 6 meeting rooms, which can accommodate up to 500 people for banquets and 300 for conferences. After your event, grab a meal in our White Spot restaurant and enjoy a 10 percent discount as a guest. Guest room amenities include desks, coffee makers, hair dryers, 32-inch flat-screen TVs and irons. Some rooms feature microwaves and refrigerators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Abbotsford
Abbotsford Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing