We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Choice”
Review of Hinton Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hinton Lodge
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Hinton
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We tried a couple of other places with decent ratings after 5 that were booked so wound up here. $130 plus tax for decent double queen room was okay. Room was comfortable and clean at price. We had a room at back and noise was no issue. Breakfast was very basic continental. We were told on entry that hot tub was out of operation. There are hotels at same price and rating level with working pools and hot tubs so that might be worth consideration if coming through again, but if I didn't care for a soak I'd stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

This is our second stay at the Hinton Lodge. The hotel was built within the last few years so it is modern and still very clean.
They offer everything that the chains offer, and at a lower price.
With our CAA discount, the room was under 120 dollars and it was a king suite.
It is conveniently located along highway 16 at the west end of town, near several other hotels.
The breakfast is very basic, similar to some of the other chains. I cant comment on the food as we do not usually use this offering.
The check on was painless and the desk staff were friendly and helpful.
The sound proofing is not up to standard and the active kids across the hall, as well as the seemingly uncaring parents got a bit tiresome, but everything settled down by bedtime.
The hot tub was closed for servicing, but we don't use them, there is no pool.
There is a coin operated laundry with detergent available at the front desk.
For a one or two night stay, this venue is worth a try.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor facing the rear to avoid traffic noise from Route 16, and for the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kermit403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I chose this Hotel , because of the pool & sauna , but when we got the room and wanted to go use it , we couldn't , the pool and sauna was out of order , I was upset and mad :o(
The rooms are clean and there is a fridge , microwave , some dishes .....if you want to have food in the rooms .....quiet, but next door there was some kids and they were pretty loud......
All the staff were friendly ....

Room Tip: where is the restaurant ????
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marlenegod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Rolled in yesterday without a reservation. Front desk staff was friendly and we were quickly checked in. Arriving at our room it seemed the A/C wasn't working properly. Again, front desk staff swung into action and after a quick check of the A/C, cheerfully moved us to a different room.
Beds were comfortable, road noise minimal, so we slept well.
Cleanliness was a missing a bit in the details but quite acceptable.
Good value so we didn't mind picking up breakfast elsewhere (we aren't cereal fans).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devonianrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We chose to stay in Hinton which is about an hours drive from Jasper as prices much more reasonable. Hotel was easy to find, reception OK. We ha "splashed out" on a room with Jacuzzi which worked well. The room had everything we needed including a microwave. There was some noise during the night from trains on the nearby railway. Breakfast served from 6am was very similar to "Days Inn".
More than most hotels. Hinton Lodge seemed to lack soul, for example there were no pictures on the walls of the corridors, reception didn't engage in conversation. On the plus side it was efficient, comfortable with easy parking.

Room Tip: If you have time and a love of nature visit nearby Beaver Boardwalk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul6111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Got the last room in Hinton on August long weekend, wasn't expecting much. Their mobile site had no pictures, and the price was about $100 less than some of the budget chains, so we were basically expecting to rough it for the night in some rundown motel. Very pleased to find a modern building with clean and spacious rooms, even had a kitchenette with a good size fridge and freezer.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadaBrittany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We were passing through Hinton on our way to BC and were looking for a place for the night. Hotels in Hinton seemed to be on the pricey side but the Hinton Lodge was reasonable. We had a very large, clean, and comfortable room. There was a basic breakfast included as well. All of the staff we dealt with were friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor facing the front of the building. We didn't have any highway n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hinton hotels
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hinton
0.6 mi away
Ramada Hinton
Ramada Hinton
#4 of 17 in Hinton
190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 17 in Hinton
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hinton
Holiday Inn Hinton
#6 of 17 in Hinton
290 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Wolf Inn
White Wolf Inn
#12 of 17 in Hinton
173 reviews
2.8 mi away
BCMInns - Hinton
BCMInns - Hinton
#2 of 17 in Hinton
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hinton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hinton Lodge

Address: 752 Carmichael Lane, Hinton, Alberta T7V 1T1, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Hinton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Hinton
Price Range: £62 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hinton Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hinton Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hinton Lodge Canada - Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing