We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight”

The Beaver Boardwalk
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Hinton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Boardwalk with handicap access. We saw 2 beavers in actionat dusk. Well worth a visit. Ask a local for directions.
Hinton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highlight”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The Beaver Boardwalk is one of the highlights of a visit to the Town of Hinton. It leads you through a beautiful wetland, with birds, fish, and beavers. A great spot on a warm Summer evening.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank PNHayward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    77
    15
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jasper, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Bring your camera, but not if you're clumsy.”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The Beaver Boardwalk is a great way to experience the wildlife in the Hinton/Jasper area. However, if you have anyone in your group who has difficulty with mobility I would not recommend this experience as the walkway is over water, and much of it has no hand rails making it easy to fall in. On the other hand this kind of adds to the experience if your up for the challenge.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent family attraction”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The Beaver Boardwalk is just an excellent free family attraction. And yes, good chance to see Beavers early morning or evening. Narrow boardwalk that loops around Maxwell Lake for approx 3 or 4 km. There are also 2 elevated lookouts that even host the occassional music event. Real plus is that it connects to the Bike Park and vast network of all purpose trails thru the forest. Only downside is limited parking especially if you are not familiar with area.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank tmulvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just a walk in the Park”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The Beaver Boardwalk is a must see for nature lovers when visiting Hinton.. Spring through fall wildlife is very active in this area. Its also a very beautiful place to walk you dog on leash.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marple, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A lovely surprise in Hinton”
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

I'd briefly looked through reviews on here prior to visiting jasper but wasn't entirely sure what to expect, I definitely didn't realise it was a free walk through a natural area. We arrive around 6.30pm & immediately the beavers were active - we watched them go about their business until it became too dark, they are amazing! We also saw a couple of the more elusive musk rats there too. There are some lovely trails around this area not just the beaver boardwalk with lots of information boards to read. We had a lovely evening here. Tips would be to take binoculars & probably not to dine in Hinton itself!

Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Beaver Boardwalk also viewed

 

Been to The Beaver Boardwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing