We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“trails to keep you busy for the rest of your life” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of William A. Switzer Provincial Park

William A. Switzer Provincial Park
Ranked #2 of 20 things to do in Hinton
Attraction details
Hinton, Canada
Level Contributor
161 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“trails to keep you busy for the rest of your life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

from 3 km north of the Athabasca river on hwy 40 to 5 km north of Gregg lake is riddled with trails , a half dozen lakes ,and a fantastic view of the mountains , come out to our country and enjoy part of the scenic route to alaska

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ALLENT7V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    17
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hinton, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experiences”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Switzer Provincial Park is on our doorstep. Having lived in this area for almost forty years, i've had the enjoyment of using this park. Our children loved to go camping by the lakes, and go fishing. There is so much for people to do in this park, for example, Jarvis Lake has a very nice sandy beach, and picnic are. You can choose to hike, cross country ski, see wildlife, swim, camp etc. At Kelly's bath tub, you are in for a treat. Especially during the summer where Forest Wardens put on demonstrations on various topics, and have an information board. Other than Jarvis Lake there are very few lakes that permit motor boats, so you can enjoy the peace and quiet. A beaver dam at Gregg Lake is an awesome sight to behold. Rock Lake is another attraction. You feel like you are right in the mountains, and there's an iceberg in the water. The water is ice cold, and I'm not adventurist enough to swim in it, but did a fair amount of canoeing.
Canoeing is a major event on these lakes. The bonus is for me, is seeing mountains at most points in Switer Provincial Park. There's a fair amount of group camping, for special events. We had a family reunion near Graveyard Lake, some years ago, and it was enjoyed by all. The only fee I noticed was a reasonable camping fee at most of the lakes.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Some of the nicest views in the province.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Stopped her with my family after leaving Jasper National Park. Had done some research for some 'easy' hikes that our family of 3 kids, ages 5, almost 3 and 16 months could do. Found Kelley's bathtub behind the Switzer Park visitor center and enjoyed this hike more than some areas Jasper Park. The park is clean, well kept and the hike down to where Kelley's bathtub meets Jarvis lake is beautiful. You are surrounded by gorgeous scenery breathing in fresh alpine air mixed with the scent of evergreens. This place is a paradise and I can't wait to go back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank TanyaHarpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinton, Canada
Level Contributor
161 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“the scenic route to alaska”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

There are many lakes along this stretch of park hiway and you are sure to see mountain peaks and many wild animals. I am lucky enough to travel this road every week day as I haul freight to Grande Cache that is 140 km up this road . The drive is never boring as I have sighted many grizzly bear , moose , deer , owls , eagles , cougar , marten and many kinds of birds and there is natural splendor over every hill . On the trip there is quite a bit of road that is over 5300 feet of altitude and the weather can be quite different than in the valleys ,bring a jacket and a camera .

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ALLENT7V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level Contributor
107 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Different to jasper park, not as many facilities so go prepared. Our first stop was Kelleys bathtub where a very friendly lady, Tanya, suggested a few things for us to do. Without her help we might have struggled to find the beavers in Hinton!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank guest2302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed William A. Switzer Provincial Park also viewed

Hinton, Canadian Rockies
Hinton, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to William A. Switzer Provincial Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing