We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hinton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Entrance B 'n B Cabins & Teepees
Ranked #1 of 9 Hinton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed in the White cabin for 3 nights in early June - very comfortable especially when we fired up the log burning stove on a cold evening! Lovely riverside and woodland walks with views of the Rockies. If you've time book a horseride trail - it was amazing - well led by Mary. Never been on a horse before - fantastic! We took a day trip to Maligne Lake and saw a bear at the roadside as well as several eagles, deer, goats etc! The canyon was good too, later we went swimming at Miette while it was snowing! Really O E is a great centre!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank jonnigeeGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

I will be returning in August for the fourth visit...can hardly wait. When travelling through the Rockies this is a must see. The hosts are the kindest folks you will ever meet, eager to open their beautiful oasis up and share with their guests. We have met travellers from as far away as Belgium at the delicious breakfast served in their very own kitchen. The main house, the Teepee's the horses.....I could go on and on. The price is right the location perfect

Room Tip: The Teepee's have a comfy bed and lots of bedding
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We spent four days in the grey cabin. Lots of snow still on the ground when we arrived, although the melt started during the second day of our stay. The views of the mountains above the trees is spectacular… The cabin itself is roomy and very comfortable. If you want absolute peace and quiet and exceptionally comfortable accommodation - at a very reasonable price - there can't be many places better than Old Entrance.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lancebes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My fiance and I stayed here for one night in July 2013 during our trip. It was absolutely spectacular- heaven on earth!

We stayed in a teepee by the river: they are wonderfully appointed with a very comfortable Queen bed, down duvet and a stove. Breakfast in the morning was fantastic as well (I believe it was $8 extra?).

We went on a trail ride with Mary and really enjoyed the views- the horses were both wonderful and very well kept.

It's by far one of my most favourite places in the world- I cannot wait to go back for a longer stay!!

Thank you to the wonderful staff, you do a great job keeping this hidden gem special.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jess S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I would just totally agree with the previous guests. Upon arrival we were so happy to see a cozy room with the fire going and the place was clean as a whistle. They do a wonderful job keeping the place in great shape. My husband and I stayed for the weekend and we wish we had longer although the owner was so gracious to let us have a (very) late check out so we could have the whole Sunday to enjoy the cozy warmth of the Grey Cabin. One of our favourite things was waking up and looking out the front window - the view that was framed was just lovely with the sun and the white snow and the hills and then a mama deer and her fawn walked slowly across the front lawn. The hike/walk we took on Saturday afternoon, after a long leisurely morning, was spectacular. It was an easy hike and we took the long loop. Along the way the vistas both mountain and meadow were ever changing and incredible - twice we looked across the river and heard then saw the CN train come winding through the trees down the track with the mountains in the background and the river valley below we felt like we were walking in a postcard. Quinisential Canadianna! The owner's beautiful lab joined us for our walk and helped us find a trail home - he was a real nice addition to our country/mountain hike. The only bad thing about our weekend was that it wasn't near long enough. We have vowed to make this an annual February event but we also cant wait for the summer to take the kids there to ride horses and hike and hopefully stay in a teepee. I bet with the river flowing by and the green forest the place is even more grand.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

*Please note: We have provided this same review on Google.*

My partner and I stayed in the grey cabin at Old Entrance for two nights in November 2013. We loved the spot, and are hoping to go back again soon. The things we loved about it were:
-the coziness: the gas fireplace, wood-burning fireplace, and 2-person lounge chair set the perfect stage for two cozy winter nights.
-the location: it was nice to not have to pay national park fees to stay, but also nice to be less than an hour away from Jasper's townsite. Furthermore, since the highways were miserable that weekend, it was nice to only have to battle ~300 kms of highway on our way back to Edmonton, and not the ~400 kms it would have been from Jasper.
-the cleanliness: both inside and out, the whole place was well-kept, tidy, and clean.
-the kitchen supplies: we loved being able to bring our teas and groceries and cook our meals "at home" instead of having to head into town.
-the price: the owners provide a good deal on off-season, multiple-night stays.
-the solitude: it was pretty easy to imagine we had a cozy little cabin of our own in the woods, with no one else around for miles.
-the flexibility in booking: since we planned to stay mid-week but were afraid of what the weather might bring, we called about a week in advance and asked what the availability was for our selected nights. The owners informed us that weeknights generally don't get booked up, so we could save ourselves from the cancellation fee if we simply didn't make a booking, and they promised to call us back in the meantime if anyone else indicated interest in the nights we wanted to book. Thankfully, no one requested the grey cabin on those two nights, so we were able to confirm our booking just the morning before our first night, and the owners were super accommodating about getting us set up when we arrived without an official booking. The owners keep postings of relevant information on the wall in the kitchen, and one small bit of information that I hope they'll consider including is safety tips for chopping your own firewood. Thankfully, we were able to chop ours without incident, but with the spotty internet connection in the cabin, I would have appreciated having a few reminders to read on how to keep myself safe when chopping the firewood (which had been provided) into kindling. Actually, an improved internet connection would be great too - although there is one that sometimes works, a nice, fast, reliable internet connection in the cabins would allow us to bring work up from Edmonton - which would mean that we could afford the time and $ to stay at the cabins longer! We would definitely recommend the Old Entrance cabins to anyone looking for a cozy spot to stay in as a base for exploring the Rockies. If possible, try taking advantage of mid-week, off-peak-season rates. It's a great little place for Edmontonians to retreat to and cozy-up in once the weather starts getting miserably cold.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank CG_and_RJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed in the lodge over Christmas - 6 nights! It was great...only a few small suggestions:
it would have been very nice to have had coffee/tea packets available for early morning or late night cuppa's (breakfast is not included or offered in the winter time). It also would have been nice to have had our towels exchanged without our having to "ask" after 4 days. Several evenings and nights we were very aware of continuous thumps. Quite distracting!

Room Tip: make sure you take the outside key if you are in the lodge - it is locked at night; take your own co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carrie808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hinton hotels
7.7 mi away
McCracken Country Inn & Tea House
4.1 mi away
Ramada Hinton
Ramada Hinton
#4 of 17 in Hinton
191 reviews
7.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hinton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
White Wolf Inn
White Wolf Inn
#12 of 17 in Hinton
173 reviews
5.1 mi away
Econo Lodge & Suites
Econo Lodge & Suites
#5 of 17 in Hinton
181 reviews
4.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 17 in Hinton
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Entrance B 'n B Cabins & Teepees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Entrance B 'n B Cabins & Teepees

Address: 26118 Old Entrance Road | Yellowhead County, Hinton, Alberta T7V 1X4, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Hinton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Hinton
Price Range: £38 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country vacation cabins & guest room along beautiful Athabasca River near Jasper National Park. Open year round. Riverside teepee campsites and guided horseback trail rides May - October. 45 minutes to Jasper town-site & 10 minutes from Hinton's dining and shopping. Two night minimum stay. Toll-free in Canada. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Entrance Cabins And Teepees
Old Entrance Cabins & Teepees Hotel Hinton
Old Entrance B 'n B Cabins & Teepees Hinton, Canada - Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing