We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Embarassing establishment!”
Review of Tokyo Sushi

Tokyo Sushi
Ranked #23 of 41 Restaurants in Hinton
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Hinton, Canada
1 review
“Embarassing establishment!”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Service is very poor and unfriendly. Takes two hours to sit down for dinner and they forget items we ordered and tried to charge us for them. Very dirty in bathrooms and nobody else was in the restaurant and were surrounded by dirty tables the entire meal. Wouldnt go back ever.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2buggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    6
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Millbrook, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Long Wait”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

It took a long time for the food to arrive. My salad was nicely presented but was too small. It was priced a bit on the high side.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Boat Special is a Must”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This restaurant has great food and efficient, friendly staff. We had their boat special (a variety of sushi) and it was amazing. We also had the chicken and egg dish, which was also excellent. I highly recommend this restaurant. Even if you aren't a sushi fan there are many other delicious cooked dishes to try.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank P I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Staff were friendly. Ordered Ika tempura appetizer, spicy tuna roll, unagi roll, green tea.

Ika appetizer was good although sauce seemed more like a vinaigrette than the usual tempura sauce.

Spicy tuna roll was below average (chunks of tuna with spicy sauce rather than mashed)

Unagi roll was average, unagi was not warmed up prior to rolling.

Both rolls had more rice than I usually like, and the rice was quite cold, less flavourful than I expected.

Green tea had small bits of deep fried rice in it which I hadn't experienced before.

I think this is the only sushi place in Hinton.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LFlavum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
157 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Avoid like the plague!”
Reviewed 30 September 2012

.....My wife and I ate there Sept 29...... we where amivolent as to Sushi or KFC across the highway, Sushi won out due to it being connected to the hotel.... Had one beer, flat!..... bit of an ado to get another, my suspicions about this place intensified when given one napkin each.... Onwards, the sushi starters where basic ok................ We then opted for the stir fry, one beef, one chicken................. More evidence of abject cheepness, apart from the price, tiny, razor thin morsels of tasteless meat, (my wife swore her chicken was pork), precious little veggies, noodles, ..................... bland as can be, Edo in the food court knocks the socks of this... for half the price...
....... As I said to my wife, one leg of KFC would have been heaven compared to this poor excuse for Japanese food......
Our advice, avoid this place like the plague!!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Riverviewpines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tokyo Sushi also viewed

Hinton, Canadian Rockies
 
Hinton, Canadian Rockies
Hinton, Canadian Rockies
 
Hinton, Canadian Rockies
Hinton, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to Tokyo Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing