We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beds as hard as rock, broken tv but clean and quiet with a decent breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge & Suites
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Hinton
Reviewed 11 December 2012 via mobile

My family stayed for a night at the Econolodge on our way to Jasper. We appreciated how clean the hotel was but the decor was bland and the floors were creaky.
Our low end out of date tv had several buttons missing and the remote had a sticky substance on it and it didn't work. We went back to the front desk a couple times to get new remotes but none of the replacements worked either.
I was going to get some ice but the ice bucket had a white powdery substance stuck in the corners instead the bucket.
We decided to just get some rest so we could have a good day of snowboarding in the morning but found it difficult because the beds were so unbelievably uncomfortable! I felt like I was sleeping on the ground and woke up stiff.
The breakfast room was a nice surprise with many options well stocked and a nice tv that worked ;)
We will not stay here again as there are several other options that we have frequented for the same price with a much more comfortable night.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pesssa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

130 - 136 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2012

My wife and I stayed one night Sept 30, we selected the king + hot tube..... Very nice room, clean, quite new, modern. The price of $110 was fine. The breakfast was basic, we instead went to McDonalds....... Bed was comfy, the TV, once we phoned front desk, was workable........ Did not try the WiFi, as front desk declared it patchy at best, albeit a new system was ensuing.

Room Tip: Avoid the Sushi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Riverviewpines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

This is a fairly basic hotel, but the rooms are large and comfortable, equipped with mini-fridges and microwaves for travellers and close to restaurants, 2 grocery stores and a mall. The room A/C could be adjusted easily and was comfortable. The free breakfast was average and fine, although we were not too keen on the continuous monitoring by staff that nothing leave the room as sometimes we like to eat in our room when it is crowded. I guess they have been subject to excessive use of the breakfast to fill lunch bags.

24 hour/day coffee in the lobby was appreciated,

One morning a wolf passed by the rear breakfast room window only 20 feet away.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Room is ok,clean. But wifi is bad, can't connect, tried so many times, if ever get connect, it's only for a few seconds, even tried early morning 5am,still not successful. Tv remote,even press so hard,can't change channel.
Wouldn't stay here again, this is our second stay at econolodge, seems like Econolodge everywhere about the same.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swancity88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

The facilities in this hotel are average, nothing to write home about, nothing much to complain about either except that the internet WiFi signal was so weak as to be unavailable the whole evening we spent there before sleeping. The continental breakfast is typically average: cold cereals, toasts, bagels, boiled eggs, yogurt, instant hot cereals, and fruits. The thing that is the breaker is management had instructed staff not to tear up or destroy the credit card imprint needed for damage deposit. Almost all places I know tear them up when I checked out. Here I am told they cannot do that as management wants to keep the imprint. Whatever for I do not know.
BE AWARE OF THIS WHEN YOU BOOK.
See also my review for Lakeview hotel in Hinton (Favourable). We visit Edmonton often from Richmond BC, and usually overnight in Jasper or Hinton.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soonyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Comfortable, clean beds - the bathroom and floors should have been cleaner - no wifi except in the lobby, tv remotes were difficult to use (and need to use 2 remotes). No hot-tub or swimming pool. Free continental breakfast was a nice bonus though - no waffles but there were packaged pre-made pancakes, bagels and cream cheese, cereal, muffins, apples/oranges, yogurt, hard-boiled eggs, toast, coffee and juice. Not a 5-star but good value for what we paid. Was a bit disappointed when we checked in at 1:45 pm and front-desk said our room might not be ready yet and check-in was 3:00. I just said "no, confirmation says check-in is 2:00." She said she would check and came back to say it was ready. How can front-desk not know check-in time or think visitors don't know?? Otherwise, staff were friendly.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

The hallways smelled of stale smoke.The bed was not made properly and the blanket had stains on it.It was not worth the money we paid for it. The curtains did not cover the light that was close by therefore we did not have a good sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hinton hotels
1.1 mi away
Ramada Hinton
Ramada Hinton
#4 of 17 in Hinton
190 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hinton
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hinton
Holiday Inn Hinton
#6 of 17 in Hinton
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 17 in Hinton
193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Twin Pine Motor Inn
Twin Pine Motor Inn
#3 of 17 in Hinton
124 reviews
0.8 mi away
White Wolf Inn
White Wolf Inn
#12 of 17 in Hinton
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge & Suites

Address: 571 Gregg Ave, Hinton, Alberta T7V 1N1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Hinton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Hinton
Price Range: £49 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Econo Lodge & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Black Bear Inn in Hinton, Alberta, we make it our job to ensure that you will wake up feeling refreshed when you stay in any of our 60 well-appointed rooms. We value the lifestyles that you are accustomed to and we have incorporated this in the design of our facilities. We are located in the foothills of the Rocky Mountains, just 15 minutes from Jasper National Park and 3 hours from Edmonton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel
Econo Lodge & Suites Hinton, Canada - Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing